View Full Version : Mud Is/Brissie River 15/04

T1
15-04-2006, 09:01 PM
Got to Territory X off Mud at daybreak with Hogey. 1st cast on SP and boated a 36cm Squire. Thought this was going to be the start of a 'hot' day. Not to be! Quite a few undersize with a good number nudging 35 but not quite. We moved around the island exploring new ground while the Tuna seemed to be everywhere - just couldn't get close enough to them without spooking them off. Sent out a slab of Grinner on a set of gangies and slam, zzzzzzzz. after a good 10 minute fight, we finally got it to the boat. It soon became apparent that what we thought was a shark wasn't - it was one of the biggest catties we had ever seen with Hogey estimating its weight around the 10kg mark! While getting the camera for a quick snap (so people would believe us), it managed to wriggle itself off the gaff and back in the drink! Bugger...

We then decided to motor around to the carpark on the western side of Mud where we ran into Brent (Aquarius). Pulled up and said g'day and introduced my ugly mug (good to put a face to the name Brent).

After little activity, we shot back into the river and headed for our favourite spot Territory Z where i managed to top up the lone Squire with another at 38cm and a 33cm Bream. While not a huge quantity of keepers, a beautiful day on the water nonetheless!

There are certainly some great spots out in the bay and around Mud and can't wait to get out there when the boating traffic dies down, as i'm certain this has an effect on the better quality fish.

Take Care T

TIM-DONSELAAR
15-04-2006, 09:14 PM
nice snapper and bream there T1...Well Done ;)

cheers tim 8-)

White_Steenbras
16-04-2006, 01:41 AM
Nice to have a boat mate, shows in the results.

Slient
16-04-2006, 07:18 AM
Good report T1 8-)
Nice squire & brim... hope you'll get better result when cool months starts

Silent

aquarius
16-04-2006, 09:10 AM
G,Day T1, Was good of you to stop yesterday and introduce yourself mate.
Like you said nice to meet up with fellow ausfishers on the water.
Yeah it was tough fishing with all the boat traffic but we managed a few keeper squire with best going 41 cms.
Mud was dead with not even 1 fish coming on board so we didn't stay long and headed back in the direction of green and Wello.
Glorious 2 days on the water with mates makes for a perfect Easter break.
Cheers Brent :)

Tinn
16-04-2006, 02:08 PM
Good on you t good to see you caught a fish for once. HeHeHe

16-04-2006, 06:51 PM
Similar result for us. We did an overnighter on Friday night for very little result. What was surprising was that on Friday night there were only a couple of boats, so cannot even blame the boat traffic for the lack of interest.

SURLY
16-04-2006, 07:49 PM
Hi T1,

Good to see you managed a feed.

Had a mate fish daybreak at mud yesterday (whilst we were at wello)as well and had similar results as you with a sole legal squire being one of their first fish caught that morning then only small stuff after that.

I agree with you re the boat traffic and that was why i was so suprised that we managed to catch 5 legal squire around mud at lunch time on friday when there was quite a few boats around. In the past the best days i have had fishing mud have been overcast and raining.

I was also out with a mate a week before at mud and caught numerous catfish although no where near the size of the one you caught. They sure do smell.

craig

chief
17-04-2006, 07:30 AM
Caught one of those catfish a couple of weeks ago ,couldn't believe the size of it, an old uncle of mine tells me they are different from your normal river catfish . He said look at the mouth and there is a few other pionts, he reckons there sea catfish. To me there just catfish but boy they go hard and mine took me ages to land on 3 kg.

T1
17-04-2006, 08:57 PM
Hey Guys

I don't feel so bad given the other reports for the day, in fact it appears that i probably landed more than most!

CHIEF, i bet it took a while on 3lb, i was using 15lb on that particular rod and it took 10mins. Was fun but as i couldn't feel any head shakes, i gathered it was vermin. He'll be swimming around with a nice hole in his gut from the gaff... Still disappointed about the missed photo shoot though!

Take Care T