View Full Version : What Shoey missed out on! Deep Water Bend

Canoedle
21-04-2006, 02:08 PM
Well, seeing as Shoey (AKFF) wasnt gonna make it to deep water bend this morning, I dawdled a bit and got to the water about 6, rigged and under way about 6.15. The water was like glass, just a whisp of fog on the wetlands to suggest it would be a warm clear day, just as lovely as Shoey predicted. Had a quick g'day to a few fishos on the ramp, wished them well, and paddled across to the far bank trolling SPs from two rods.
It's about 1.5Kms to my favourite flattie spot, but took a zig zag path up and down a few drop offs slowly working my way to the spot. Saw some big rays take off in the shallows and got a few strikes, but no hook ups. Arived at my spot to see a stink boat parked right where I normally do, think he was retreiving a crab pot as he soon took off and I was left to my little run off form the mangroves, a rapidly falling tide, rather murky water a few bait fish and prawns flicking the surface, and not a sniff of breeze. Dropped the anchor casting distance from the run off and pulled in both troll lines. The cheapy grub was still intact, but the gulp minnow grub was slaughtered by something.
Cast the cheepy at the run off a few times, not a touch.
On with a fresh gulp, 3" minnow grub in pumpkinseed. First cast landed right up near the bank and I immediately felt pressure on the lure, cursed my inaccuracy thinking I had hooked a snag, then felt a shake of the head, wooohooo, the lure hadn't even hit the bottom and I was on. After a few short runs it was at the kayak and my new net was deployed for the first time, smooth as a babies, and here it is, 45cm dusky.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/NakedGun/Flattie006.jpg
This sort of action went on for about an hour, at least six casts resulted in hook ups before the lure made bottom, 3 different gulps, the pumkinseed as mentioned, 4" swim mullet water melon and 4" minnow in smelt. Unfortunately most of the hook ups were dropped before I saw the fish, but managed to boat one more a few cms shorter than the first. Very little action on the way back, dropped one more fish. All up a very enjoyable session. And soon to be a very nice feed. :D
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/NakedGun/Flattie004.jpg

TIM-DONSELAAR
21-04-2006, 02:26 PM
nice flatties there Canoedle...Well Done [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

cheers tim :)

Archer
21-04-2006, 02:38 PM
Nice Karl a lovely feed....Will have to pop us in a few weeks and take a spin in the pine with ya. ;)

Canoedle
21-04-2006, 03:02 PM
Sounds great m8, sure we can find a few other places to wet a line while you're up here too. :D

blue-mako
21-04-2006, 09:02 PM
last time i went to deep water bend i was stil fishing bait over sp but ive changed since then... at the pontoon i caught 3 estuary cod rite on dusk in the space of about 10 mins on live herring but i havent had a chance to use sp ther yet... hope i can change all that sum time soon

cheers, troy

22-04-2006, 08:37 AM
Nice goin' matel. Love those mornings when the mist is still hanging. Were the trawlers still working? They've been there the last 4 trips I've made.

A leading authority is anyone who has guessed right more than once.

mickstar001
22-04-2006, 09:35 AM
Nice work Canoedle looked like fun buddy!

mickstar001
22-04-2006, 09:46 AM
Nice work Canoedle looked like fun buddy!

Samand
22-04-2006, 10:28 AM
Great work that must be heaps of fun fishing in a kayak?

Samand

Samand
22-04-2006, 10:30 AM
Sorry forgot to ask, where is the deep water bend and can you access it by foot?

Canoedle
22-04-2006, 10:57 AM
Kev, there was only one trawler working yesterday, and don't think he was doing too well.
Mick and Samand, it was a heap of fun, I'll remember that session for a long time.
Samand, get a kayak, it's the only way I fish now, I couldnt have got to the spot I was fishing on foot, trust me, I've tried. However you can fish not far from where I was. If you look at your UBD and find the pine river, head upstream from hornibrook bridge, you will see tinchi tamba wetlands and the deep water bend boat ramp, there's plent of area to fish on foot from there.

22-04-2006, 11:02 AM
Sorry forgot to ask, where is the deep water bend and can you access it by foot?

UBD Page 100 A16 mate. The bend and downstream can be busy with jet skiers particularly at weekend so walk seaward. Try UBD page 99 J17 or around there. Lot quieter. Good breambo in winter.

All men make mistakes but married men find out about them sooner.

22-04-2006, 11:05 AM
Kev, there was only one trawler working yesterday, and don't think he was doing too well.

No bloody wonder if all of 'em are working it 4 days a week. One thing's for sure.........I didn't take his prawns..............not last trip anyway ;D

All of us could take a lesson from the weather. It pays no attention to criticism.

chief
22-04-2006, 12:18 PM
Good story mate enjoyed it and a couple of nice fish.

Canoedle
22-04-2006, 12:32 PM
cheers :)
I reckon there's still a fair few prawns down there, not as many as a few weeks ago tho.

HBK
23-04-2006, 05:21 PM
Hi Canoedle - How long you had your kayak? and where did you pick it up from? Do they have a small anchor? The Pine and Hays are great early morn, and i am considering a kayak myself, but wanted to know where to check one out. Nice pair BTW! HBK

Canoedle
23-04-2006, 05:28 PM
GDay, I've had the Esprit for a few months now, love it, cheap way to get out amongst em. I got mine second hand from this very forum. If you want more info on kayak fishing I recommend you visit this site and sign up for the forum or just read away, heaps of good info, all the answers you could ever want. http://www.akff.net/forum/index.php
I'm gonna have to put that link in my signature, seems I post it twice a week lately.
The kayak didnt come with an anchor so I bought a small grapnell hook fold up one from BIAS for $12, works a treat.

HBK
23-04-2006, 05:40 PM
Great. Thanks for the link. i will check it out!

Jay_S
23-04-2006, 06:31 PM
Great work mate [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] Nice fish :o
WELL DONE!!!

Jay 8-)