View Full Version : bribie horses
manchild
23-04-2006, 07:35 PM
g day all went out to bribie surfside on sat mornin and what a magnificent mornin it was :) we caught about 20 dart horses without hookin up to a small one.the biggest one went 42 cm.not much else caught but what a heartpumpin fish were this small gamefishes as i call em:)then sunday mornin family day on the beach caught another 2 big dart and a huge ray which nearly broke my rod.anyway the day wont be complete without a cast or 2 on the passage side ,this 1.6 kilo bream went 43 cm and a result of the second cast on ganged pillies.all in all a beatiful weekend the kids enjoyed chasin down seagulls the missus got sunbaked reading a lovestory in the deckchair and i got some of the biggest thrill on light gear as i was fishing with 4 kilo line can it get any better ? i dont think so
george
manchild
23-04-2006, 07:41 PM
and some of the darts aint the biggest ones but was too exited ,had no times for pictures:)
manchild
23-04-2006, 07:42 PM
and another one
23-04-2006, 07:51 PM
good day george by the sound of it,,, i've placed a couple of reports in saltwater chat re the bream that are about at the moment,,, had a great morning today in the ningi creek with some thumpa's coming on the chew,,, good to see ya enjoyed the day
young_mind
23-04-2006, 08:23 PM
Bravo 8-) good one yeah I caught at bribie last year 26 darts all up 12 kg good timer now and will go in may for fishing comp :) :)
land_based
23-04-2006, 08:28 PM
Looks like you had a great weekend mate. Dart on light gear in the surf is always good fun.
straddie
24-04-2006, 09:26 AM
Well done Manchild a good bream and some nice dart there that get me itching for another session or ten in the surf :D I assume up there you probably got them on worms rather than pippis?
TIM-DONSELAAR
24-04-2006, 01:47 PM
nice bream and dart there George...Well Done [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
cheers tim :)
fish2eat
24-04-2006, 01:53 PM
G'day George
nice haul of dart and a great bream...The dart in the pic aren't bled. I don't know whether you bled them on capture but they taste even better when you do this.
Craigus
24-04-2006, 05:40 PM
Sounds like it was a great day for all there manchild 8-)
Great catch of dart and a ripper of a bream.
Cheers Craigus
manchild
24-04-2006, 06:14 PM
yes fish2eat i bleed them i just dont like my pics messy:)they went down a threat for last night dinner and the bream i just finished together with some whiting from last week
george
markpeta
24-04-2006, 06:27 PM
Some of the biggest dart getting pulled off the beach at Bribie that I have ever seen in 9 year of being on the Island. Think it has something to do with the big swell latley some nice gutters forming.
manchild
24-04-2006, 08:06 PM
you not wrong there markpeta ,it is the first time my mate can read that beach ,usually if you dont have any local knowledge you have a very hard time to get a feed. i had guys laugh at me that is no gutter there where i was fishing ,well its worth to talk to the guys at the rsl i had 40 years of knowledge past on to me at 1 boozie night there .and some arial photos helped as well ,but now is the time to fish that beach if you just droppin in .
george