View Full Version : Sunken Walls?

New_fisher
01-01-2006, 04:15 PM
Hey guys,
I have heard a bit of talk about some sunken walls, somewhere in the Brisbane River, I am new to fishing and am looking for somewhere to catch a few fish in the river, could you please let me konw where the sunken walls are and if there are any other 'top spots' in the brissy river - i heard sharks are around but I dont konw what bait to use for them? Thanks guys, Ray

land_based
01-01-2006, 08:14 PM
Hey mate, I know the sunken wall is at pinkenba but im not too sure on the exact location, im sure someone on here can tell you. For sharks try floating a ballon around 1.5 - 2m above your bait, make sure you use nylon coated wire and chemically sharpenned hooks. For bait buy fresh mullet fillets and marinate them in tuna oil!

New_fisher
01-01-2006, 08:32 PM
Thanks Rob, I plan to try for sharks near where the Bremer river meetes the Brissy river. Thanks for the rig setup, will do, I heard that the sunken walls are a great spot for bream? Anyway if anyone knows their exact location it would be greatly appreciated, Cheers, Ray

aquarius
01-01-2006, 09:03 PM
Mate if you launch your boat at Whyte Island and head out through the boat passage till you meet the brisbane river the sunken walls are on the other side of the river accross from the tug wharves.
You can clearly see the walls at low tide.........very popular night time Bream spot.
Cheers Brent

25_ponies
01-01-2006, 11:59 PM
This should point you in the right direction

25_ponies
02-01-2006, 12:00 AM
Here's what it looks like in real life...

ssab1
02-01-2006, 10:28 AM
take plenty of hooks and fish light and close ;D

Remo
02-01-2006, 11:58 AM
25_ponies

I thought sunken wall was near luggage point, attached is the area I thought it was. The dot just off the bank is the green beacon that sits on the wall.

http://maps.google.ca/maps?ll=-27.379265,153.160475&spn=0.004118,0.006870&t=k&hl=en.

But the area shown by you I would consider a better fishing area, near the light house the better.

Have i got this right?

Ray

New_fisher
02-01-2006, 12:18 PM
Where is the boat ramp arpund these areas guys? Sounds like a plan to get down there but I don't know where the ramp to launch from is - and its a long ride from jindalee if I put it in there... Cheers Ray

Remo
02-01-2006, 01:25 PM
Hurlz,
I would put in at whyte island or pinkenba boat ramps both would be a good choice and close to where you need to go.

If you follow where 25_ponies indicated and follow the rock wall to the end where it heads back to the light house on the point there is a gap between the rocks this opens into a lagoon, there is a white post that marks the end of the rock wall. Fish the river side of this wall a you should do well. Watch the squire there, they will bust you up if you let them.

Hope this helps

Ray

ShaneJ
02-01-2006, 06:23 PM
Where is the light house located?

Seahorse
02-01-2006, 09:25 PM
saw all these boats anchored up beside row of mangroves in bris river today and guessed it was the sunken wall. oppossite whyte island entry to river. what is best time to fish that wall . would have been 8 boats all hooked up there about 11 today.

greg

Remo
02-01-2006, 09:29 PM
Shane,

The light house is situtated on the southeastern corner of bulwer Island. It only stands 3 meters high and made of corrogated iron with a domed roof.

It is now fenced off and has a lot of modern nav. Stuff on it.

I have attached a pic of the area, If you look carefully you can see the beacon marking the submerged rock the other white post that I was referring to is to small to see as it is only 50mm thick.

http://maps.google.ca/maps?ll=-27.395022,153.150498&spn=0.004117,0.006870&t=k&hl=en

Ray

ShaneJ
02-01-2006, 09:40 PM
Thanks mate, very helpful :D

25_ponies
03-01-2006, 04:50 PM
Ray, you could be right. I've always assumed that the one that extends from Pinkenba is "the sunken wall", but the one you posted might be another one. Next time I'm over that way I'll sound around it and see what it looks like.

Every time I look at that spot with Google Earth I think of what the natural course of the river would have been 50 or 100 years ago and what the fishing would have been like.

Hurlz - it's a bit of a hike from Jindalee. According to my log book, from the Jindalee ramp to the city is around 30Km, and probably that again to the mouth of the river. As Ray said, Whyte Isl or Pinkenba would be better. If you want something closer to town try Brekky Ck or Colmslie.

Alan.

dynamicspot
03-01-2006, 06:31 PM
try prawns at night on a high tide for bream there is some monsters there dont use a sinker just drift your bait over the wall you dont have to be in deep water to get them

cuzzamundi
03-01-2006, 06:33 PM
gday ray,

also try fishing the bottom with a fresh section of pike eel. there are plenty in the river. cut em close to the head and use the head section as bait. they love em! let em run for a while before hurting em too mate - let em swallow it. make sure you use cable ties and that the hooks are well exposed. let us know how you go. night time better for bullies. cheers,

cuzza

Louis
04-01-2006, 02:15 PM
For bull sharks I think the upper reaches of the Brisbane River are a far better option.

Try around the junction of where the Bremer and Brisbane rivers connect.

Down from Colleges Crossing is also a good option as is The Kookaburra Park area.

Louis

New_fisher
05-01-2006, 08:07 AM
Beautiful guys, thankd for your help, lots of great help here, much appreciated. So night time for the Bull sharks is better, any tide? And what should I be using, I heard that Mullet strips are good, but there is no bait shop near me at Jindalee (I dont think.. please correct me if I am wrong) any thing else to use? Cheers boys Ray

frazzel72
05-01-2006, 09:24 PM
I've seen plenty of them above Colleges Crossing up to Mt Crosby weir. It's quite disturbing to stand high on the hill at CC with polaroid sunnies and see how close the bullies come to Mum and the kids having a dip at high tide. It's only a matter of time before one of them has another chew.

stu68
07-01-2006, 07:23 AM
Hurlz,
There is a tackle shop at redbank which is about 10 min from you.
go wacol station Rd turn right at wacol station it"s at the end of kerwick st Redbank .

New_fisher
07-01-2006, 06:51 PM
Stu68, do you happen to know the name of it? Cheers Ray (its not charlons fishing shop is it)?

gunnabuild1
29-04-2006, 03:14 PM
It is Charltons shop mate friendly fella's always found them happy to answer aquestion or two