View Full Version : 30Hour Bay Trip

30-04-2006, 05:34 PM
Left Vicky pt early Sat for a extended trip from Goat to the Rous.
Wx was perfect with glazed seas and very little traffice around.
Started north and gradually worked our way south over the period.
Picking up the odd species here and there, with the Jackals again being dynamite with bait not far behind.
Our balloon floaters drifting Rainbow were demolished, with tailor the culprits, keeping one the other turned to bait.
Lizards again played the game.
Our Tuskies excursion with 3 spots turned into a non-event.
By mid arvo the northerlies picked up and picked up, so sort shelter for the night.
The wind blew 20kts or round about most of the night.
The sunset to high at 11pm turned into a squire a thon, with bream and moses perch, but in amongst where some good legal squire, plus one big grunter and a nice bay snapper.
Back up the Rainbow this morning for another Tuskie bash, but wind and current where a big problem, so it was back to drifting.
By lunch the northerlies were picking up so head back across the bay, again with very little traffic around.
Colin with the best tailor kept.

30-04-2006, 05:38 PM
A Bay Snapper

30-04-2006, 05:43 PM
The eskies final results

Darryl
30-04-2006, 05:56 PM
Gidday Brian, went out myself and saw you in the Rainbow, my radio's crapped themselves so didn't come over because of your floaters. Didn't stay long in the Rainbow as we were side onto the chop and was uncomfortable. Saw you dissapear into the horizon and decided to seek shelter myself and ended up fishing the next green down from you. Didn't do any good other than a feed of tailor and about 50 34cm squire.

Nice bay snappa, christ i would be happy with that. :o

Next time mate.
Darryl

kingcobe
30-04-2006, 06:55 PM
Top stuff. Awesome snappa. I bet your gonna have a feed for a few days ;D

Jay Jay

youngfisho
30-04-2006, 07:28 PM
wow, never mind the snapper, that grunter is a nice size. bit of an odd catch for the bay. although i have heard of people catching them in the brissy river. how big and what bait did you catch that one on webby.

would love to fish the rous and rainbow stretch. best spot in the bay i reckon. there are lots of different species to target all within coo ee of eachother. but since im in england thats gonna be a little difficult

nice fish webby

andrew

2DKnBJ
30-04-2006, 08:39 PM
Nice going there Webby.Couldn't find a keeper at mud with the wind on Sat night.

Cheers Dazza

aquarius
30-04-2006, 08:57 PM
Nice catch there Brian & Colin.
You guys sure know how to put a feed together.
What did the snapper take? livie?
Did you catch any of the squire on the jackals?
I've been using a lure similiar in design and caught a nice tailor last weekend.
30hrs i bet your tired now.
Cheers Brent :)

obsession
30-04-2006, 08:58 PM
Top stuff Webby! nice mixed bag,and 30 hours well done boys

tezza :o

TIM-DONSELAAR
30-04-2006, 10:59 PM
nice mixed bag there webby and colin...Well Done [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

cheers tim :D

rakinray
01-05-2006, 08:41 AM
G/ day Brian i didnt think the woman would let you off the leads long enough for a session or two thats why i went south for a fish, you must of done some serious butt kissin for a thirty hour trip ! Oh by the way damm nice feed and those bay knobbies are lookin real GOOD !

CHEERS RAY :)

NeilD
01-05-2006, 09:11 AM
You have done it again Brian. A great catch from the Bay with Mr Red a highlight.
How long do the Tusky's be worth chasing? I have only caught them in summer.

01-05-2006, 09:38 AM
Darryl you should have drop over, the place we anchored for the night, has a good variation of rubble and ledge grounds, and we only landed 3 grinners for the night ;D, plus there was plently of Bundy on board ;D.
Tim, Mate thats the first Grunter i've caught down through this area, but of late there seems to be a lot more of them entering the bay or lotiering around.
Ray, the camping trip was cancelled, so Colin and i had the w/end to ourselves, except for the bloody Northerilies.
Brent, Mate we landed 5 fish on the Jackals, 2 lizards, 2 squire and the moses.
Most of the remainder came on fresh squid and tailor caught in rainbow, the snap took a fillet of fresh tuna and my symetre 4000 had some work bringing him to the boat.
Neil, their prtty quite this time of year, but still around, i find from mid to later winter thru to after chrissy the better times, plus i was trying some 3 spot crabs this timeand not sandies, maybe they had never seen them before ;D.
We sat around that area i told you about, and their were shit loads of fish hanging around, even with my d.r. it was hard to hold bottom, and the wind kept twisting us in all directions, which ended up in some all mighty messes of line down below.
Oh by the way, we got some nice squid of the weed bed in that same area and plenty of pike up near the oyster lease in the anchorage.
We had intended to chase a jew sat' night the reason for the squid and pike, but with those 20knotters blowin it would have been inpossible to fish that area that night.

Commodore
01-05-2006, 11:31 AM
Hi Webby ,
Nice feed for you and Colin. Sorry we didn’t make it out but with Friday night’s performance at Mud :( and the wind forecast, ::) our enthusiasm well got side tracked by a few Bundy’s on land :), but I did have a drink for you as I watched the tree tops sway ;D. Sounds like you had a pretty good trip over all, where did you park for the night??
Catch you soon.
Chong

Darryl
01-05-2006, 12:26 PM
Yeah should have motored over Brian but was to busy catching 4 pound grinners as well, christ the squire love fresh caught grinner fillets too. ;D

Darryl.