View Full Version : Green / Wello Report 29/4/06
aquarius
29-04-2006, 06:13 PM
Howdy Ausfishers & Guests, I took two of my work mates out for a first time plastic session this morning around the bay islands.
Met up with Steven 78 before sun up and he said that some monster almost spooled him before dawn so we though this sounds like a good area to try for a snapper or 3.
Started off slow with only 34cm fish being released.
I was about to make a move to another location when Steven hooked up big time.
We could hear the line screaming off his reel so we waited to see what lurked beneath.
10 minutes later he pulls up this monster 7 kilo cattie.
Boy do those things stink !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Next stop South Green and into some action the moment the plastics hit the water..double and tripple hook ups and cheers from the crew as they played there first fish on a plastic.
Andrew managed a nice snapper at 45cms and Emma just could not get passed the 34.5 cm mark.
She was having fun so thats all that matters i guess.
I managed the biggest for the morning at 50cms and that fish really pulled out some serious line in 10 seconds flat.
Caught in just 4 .5 metres they sure go hard.
A great time was had by all and the crew took home 3 snapper for dinner.
Perfect conditions in the morning and a gentle N/E breeze started as we headed for home at noon.
Few pics to follow.
Cheers Brent :)
aquarius
29-04-2006, 06:17 PM
pic2
aquarius
29-04-2006, 06:19 PM
PIC 3
Aussie_Angler
29-04-2006, 06:26 PM
Sounds like ya had a nice morning on the water. nice pics, isn't it dissapointing when your rod goes of and you bring in a cattie but ya get that plus there great crab bait.
Im gonna try and head out for Monday morning.
Aussie_Angler
Steven78
29-04-2006, 06:35 PM
Brent good to see that your Friends enjoyed them selfs and even got to take home a feed. I win the prize today for funny photos.
I was holding the fish over the side as it had more blood then from the movie Blade. I have never smelt something that bad before. As Brent said i had two very good runs today I only managed 1x 38cm Squire and a 40cm Flatehead which was released and my fair share of 30-35cm Squire.
Fun had by all. The Binmytop is coming off as it was a pain in the ass today.
TIM-DONSELAAR
29-04-2006, 07:15 PM
nice snapper there Brent and crew...Well Done [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
(Steven78) i bet kingtin's mouth is watering over that cattie ;D ;D
cheers tim :)
29-04-2006, 07:57 PM
Hi Brent,
I was out this morning too but spent another 40 Litres of fuel out to Mud, then Harries( can't help myself, I should find some spots around green). Put a mate onto his 1st SP caught Snapper @ 43cm, but once the sun got up proper the bites shut down. What time apprx did you guys catch the fish? Congrats on your 50cm, if you caught that in shallow after 8.00am you deserve a medal!! ;)
29-04-2006, 08:38 PM
Nice report Brent...........the smelly thing would be the best chewin' ;) ;D
Menstruation, menopause, mental breakdowns... Ever notice how all womens probIems begin with men?
aquarius
29-04-2006, 09:11 PM
G,Day Brian, That 50cm fish was caught around 10am just before top of the tide.
No medals just some bigger fish will do...lol
Our other keepers came aboard mid morning.
Bite was hot and cold and we did a few drifts at Wello on the way home for not even one bite.
By the Wello reports for today it must have fired at first light.
Cheers Brent.
29-04-2006, 09:37 PM
Brent,
I was THIS CLOSE to fishing where you were, I was on the water at 4.30am and usually fly up the western side of green and St Helena when I lost my bearings in the pitch black. Dang GPS lost the last trail which I would have followed from the last time I was at Mud. :(
So I stuffed around the back of green until I could see enough, but that was the time I should have been fishing!!!
Try,. try again.... It was a great day anyhow. It's time I went to Green too, once the sun is up at Mud that's where they must go I reckon.
Brian
SNAFU
30-04-2006, 03:02 PM
hi all,
aquarius that was me and mate (now boatless :'() and better half that went past you at saint on sat morn in the fisher c/c who waved.
did not know weather to stop and say hi or not. did not want to butt in on your plastics session. we anchored up where we were to try for mackies. only got a couple of throw backs today. it was SO slow there on sat , never seen it that quiet.(except for those huge catties, and yes they DO stink).
went to harries for turn of tide and counted 36 boats :o :o :o. stayed for 1/2 hour and left, not even anything for dolfins :-/.
saw some old salts pulling spoons up and down shallows there but dont know how they went.
snafu
aquarius
30-04-2006, 04:16 PM
Snafu yes it was slow fishing Saturday but my mates were happy just to catch some fish.
They havn't had much luck landbased so i offered to take them out.
There's some good structure around Saint but i am yet to pull a good fish from this area.
Green has produced for us this last month so might as well stay where luck is on our side.
What happened to your boat?
Sorry i missed seeing you waving.
Cheers Brent
SNAFU
30-04-2006, 04:23 PM
aquarius,
i still have mine , it is old mate who is boatless (going to get a pursuit 550 ) sold his last w/end. saint can produce the goods at times and is not crouded. top spot for mackies at right time of year. some quality other sorts also. have not tried on north tip of island yet but it looks like good ground.
hope to see you out there some time.
snafu
Hi Brent
Well done! Couldn't buy a Squire in the bay on Fri night and still can't nail a decent Squire at Wello! Will have to persist with Wello/Green some more as i've no doubt they are there - i probably just haven't got the right spots yet...
Take Care T
Seaduction
01-05-2006, 07:23 PM
Aquarius,
Great report and pics. Well done on your catch especially the 50cm squire. Have to agree in the shallows they put up a great fight and especially on the light gear.
Again well done.
Touchy - R.I.P.
02-05-2006, 12:19 PM
G'Day Brent, Mate same old story ya should of been the Friday ::), Bait fished Green with Mrs Touchy before daylight till approx 08:00am, fish nearly every cast but not one in the esky, I couldn't hold out any longer & we switched to frangers, could of got our bag lilmit easy but I dont really need that many fish(10), we hadda ball & Mrs T was stoked being able to ice some legal pink bream, went back to Wello on the way home for 4 casts & the three best fish from 40 to 45 cm at 011:00am when the tide stopped & it glassed out, twice now I have got my best fish at this time(when the bite goes off) you would think that very unlikely eh!, I must be doing something right ;), top morning was had by all. Cheers Touchy.><>