View Full Version : luggage point bogie creek, 8 flathead, 25/4

blue-mako
26-04-2006, 06:30 PM
hey guys...

got up at around 630 and got down to luggage point at pinkenba at around 730... the tide was the bigest id ever seen it down ther and was rushing extremely fast and ther was not sheltered areas from the current... me and my mate matt were to sure if there wud be anyfish around and didnt liek out chances... no other fisho's had caught anything either.

though it only took about 10 minutes of fishing and one spot change before i got my first hit on a 4" pink lemonade power minnow... i wasn't quite ready for it and wasnt expecting it and had my drag far too loose so insted of setting the hook i gave it line giving it enough time to throw the hook.. even though i didnt get onto it, it got my hopes up knowing the fish were on the bite and that there was fish there...

after about another 20 mins and 2 spot changes im onto a healthy 35cm, 500 gram flattie meaning im beating matt 1 nil... we moved down about 200 meteres down the bank constantly casting in diferent spots with about 3 or 4 hits from smaller fish... we got down to where the bank is only a long shallow drop sand bank insted of a vertical drop off like where we had previously been fishing... its rite next to a foot bridge leading out to the piplines going across the river and looked liek a prime flathead bank.

after about 30 mins of casting i got another hit at the very end of my retreive and about 4 meters from my feet in knee deep water... i saw a patch of sand that had been stired and a split second after my plastic was 10 meters away and my reel was buzzing faster then it had ever been... after a nervous 2 minute fight thinking my 6lb leader would give way but also the best fight ive ever had on sp a very healthy 1.4kg 60-61cm flathead was pulled to the bank... a quick pic and back to the water she went...

matt was using a pink lemonade aswel but in 3" and they seemed to want a bigger feed of my 4"... goes to show big plastic in some cases means biger fish ;D another 20 minutes later and im onto another 35cm flathead around 500 grams... all i can remember after ive sed "im on" is matts whining voice saying "awwww what!? again??" haha... we got a few smaller touches but didnt hook up for about another hr and a half... we walked rite back up to the mouth of bogie creek and wadded out about 40 meters or so in knee deep water where the bottom had a small bit of weed covering it but not enough so our lures were catching onto it every single cast... finally matt hooks onto his first fish a 35cm flattie and 600 grams...

about another 20 minutes later im onto a healthy 30cm flattie about 500 grams... we called it a day after that as the wind had picked up quite a bit and it wasnt getting any warmer....

cheers, troy

the 61cm 1.4kg flattie... my bigest fish on sp to date

blue-mako
26-04-2006, 06:33 PM
the first flattie of the day around 35cms.. sori the pic is kinda dark...

blue-mako
26-04-2006, 06:36 PM
the second flattie of the day around 35-40cms

blue-mako
26-04-2006, 06:38 PM
matt with his first and only flattie 600 grams

blue-mako
26-04-2006, 06:39 PM
my final flattie the smallest for the day

mattooty
26-04-2006, 07:43 PM
Some great flatties there. Good to see em all swimming free.
Lovely sized PB

nabs12
26-04-2006, 07:50 PM
Hey
Nice work again there.
You seem to have perfected the plastics with the flathead ;)
How close were you to the rocks and stuff at luggage point?

blue-mako
26-04-2006, 07:51 PM
thanks mate :) will b going back ther as many times as possible! yeh catch and realease is the way esspecially when its a lure caught fish it deserves to go back... as does anything when its taken from its home

cheers, troy

blue-mako
26-04-2006, 07:53 PM
hey nabs i was about 100- 150 meters from the rock wall point at luggage point on a sandflat tahts only covered at high tide... that was for my first 2 fish anway... the rest were further towards teh mouth of bogie creek

cheers, troy

TIM-DONSELAAR
27-04-2006, 11:27 AM
nice flatties there Troy...Well Done [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

cheers tim :)

Louis
27-04-2006, 01:38 PM
Nice fish

Well done

Louis

fish2eat
27-04-2006, 01:49 PM
you deserve a feed of flathead after wading thru all that mud! Good to see the under 40cm ones released though. I believe flathead stocks in SEQ to be quite healthy

shabss
27-04-2006, 02:26 PM
hey blue mako where is this point on the ubd please and off what road
do we have access to luggage point

chief
27-04-2006, 03:14 PM
good stuff fellas, another case of the brissie river fishing well

fishn-ads
27-04-2006, 08:08 PM
Nice lizards a few good fish from an age old spot. Good job shows where they come to feed on the tide hay no need for a big cast.

hellmannnn
28-04-2006, 12:05 AM
Great stuff guys!!!

blue-mako
28-04-2006, 12:32 PM
hey chubby..... ubd??? ill get the co-ordinates out of the reffadex later when i get home... im at school now wasting away my business lesson on the computer.... and ill give you the road names and all for you...

cheers, troy

shabss
28-04-2006, 03:32 PM
thanks troy
did you get there by boat or what

blue-mako
30-04-2006, 07:09 PM
nar we got ther by car and foot

fishn-ads
30-04-2006, 07:44 PM
Chubby,
Follow Kingsford Smith Drv all the way to the end, just before you get to the sewage works(Luggage Point) turn right up the dirt road. straight ahead u'll see the gas pipe Blue Mako is talking about or Follow it to the end watch as it'll be pretty wet with the high tides(4wd no worries). If it's wet follow the fence and drainage pit as far as you can drive theres a track there that will take you to a jetty have fun!

shabss
02-05-2006, 03:45 PM
THANKS FISH N ADS WILL DO

mat_anderson04
02-05-2006, 07:00 PM
thanks for rubbing it in troy haha 8-)

chrees ando