longtail
01-05-2006, 02:46 PM
g'day all , #spent the weekend down at jacobs well in the caravan park by the ramp . #arrived at the park 130pm friday set up camp , took the kids over to the beach for a play and swim #:o
3pm saw us putting the boat in for a run up to the pin bar for a look for some tailor , got up there and motored around for about 20mins #, saw no signs of bait , birds or tailor . It was low tide by now so decision was then made to do some bait gathering . cruised over to a sandbank and got the yabbie pump out , about 1/4 hour later were getting back in the boat with around 100 yabbies #;) bloody good bank that one #;) . Got back to the ramp and was putting the boat back on the trailer and ran into Pinhead (greg) , again nice to meet ya mate #;)
saturday saw us launching the boat around 4am for another run up to the bar , again after much searching again no tailor in the boat #:-? . #we then decided to do some drifts down the channel towards tipplers , after a couple hours of getting tossed from one side of the boat to the other we had 7 keeper whiting ( biggest went 34cms) and 50 odd throw backs.
from there we went around towards walley's gutter for some more drifting , but after about 1/2 hour boat traffic got the better of us and we decided to head in and have some lunch.
couple hours later at 4pm saw us launching again (with both the kids onboard this time) for a quick trip to replenish our yabbie supply , had a laugh watching the kids trying to pick up yabbies and chasing the soldier crabs around #;D ;D.
Sunday morning saw a change of tactics and we headed down to the Pimpama river , long story short we ended up with 6 bream and another 4 whiting but these whiting were monsters (biggest went 38cms ) #jeez they give a good fight on light line was using my sp rig with no weight and a yabbie for bait #;) . #we returned to the ramp for a early lunch , then headed back up to the bar to find it flat as #:o #and finally we found some surface action with choppers into the bait balls , however they soon dissappeared when 3 bloody jetskiers turned up and decided it was fun to drive straight through the schools #>:( #we did manage to get 1 chopper in the boat but at 28cm was too small and released.
Monday morning saw us just go out to collect the pots , over the weekend only got 2 muddies and 1 sandy , then back in to pack up and head home. #We all had a great weekend and can't wait to do it again.
jason
esky shot ;)
3pm saw us putting the boat in for a run up to the pin bar for a look for some tailor , got up there and motored around for about 20mins #, saw no signs of bait , birds or tailor . It was low tide by now so decision was then made to do some bait gathering . cruised over to a sandbank and got the yabbie pump out , about 1/4 hour later were getting back in the boat with around 100 yabbies #;) bloody good bank that one #;) . Got back to the ramp and was putting the boat back on the trailer and ran into Pinhead (greg) , again nice to meet ya mate #;)
saturday saw us launching the boat around 4am for another run up to the bar , again after much searching again no tailor in the boat #:-? . #we then decided to do some drifts down the channel towards tipplers , after a couple hours of getting tossed from one side of the boat to the other we had 7 keeper whiting ( biggest went 34cms) and 50 odd throw backs.
from there we went around towards walley's gutter for some more drifting , but after about 1/2 hour boat traffic got the better of us and we decided to head in and have some lunch.
couple hours later at 4pm saw us launching again (with both the kids onboard this time) for a quick trip to replenish our yabbie supply , had a laugh watching the kids trying to pick up yabbies and chasing the soldier crabs around #;D ;D.
Sunday morning saw a change of tactics and we headed down to the Pimpama river , long story short we ended up with 6 bream and another 4 whiting but these whiting were monsters (biggest went 38cms ) #jeez they give a good fight on light line was using my sp rig with no weight and a yabbie for bait #;) . #we returned to the ramp for a early lunch , then headed back up to the bar to find it flat as #:o #and finally we found some surface action with choppers into the bait balls , however they soon dissappeared when 3 bloody jetskiers turned up and decided it was fun to drive straight through the schools #>:( #we did manage to get 1 chopper in the boat but at 28cm was too small and released.
Monday morning saw us just go out to collect the pots , over the weekend only got 2 muddies and 1 sandy , then back in to pack up and head home. #We all had a great weekend and can't wait to do it again.
jason
esky shot ;)