View Full Version : WHAT WAS IN MANLY HARBOUR
SNAFU
30-04-2006, 03:20 PM
hi all,
was going out about 6-30 am on sat from manly harbour when we saw schools of bait fish getting hammerd out of coast guard jetty in harbour.
i think bait fish were hardie heads but dont know what was chasing them, but it was bigish and fast :o and there was several of them .
i tried slugging for them but no luck.did anyone see what they were. the shags were having a good time there on sunday about lunch time filling up on the bait fish.
snafu
Captian_Zero
30-04-2006, 04:59 PM
I caught some small school mackerel to about 45cm from the William Gunn Jetty in Manly Boat harbour mid last year so that could be a possibility.
Maria
30-04-2006, 05:26 PM
Yeah I'd put money on schoolies. Quite commonly caught down there.
TheSSminnow
30-04-2006, 06:56 PM
yeah id say schoolies too mate, but then again, ive seen tailor and trevally in there so could be a number of schooling fish in there.
youngfisho
30-04-2006, 07:06 PM
never mind the tailor or trevally, i was fishing the rock wall some years back and noticed a school of LT's all around the 9-10kg bracket leaping from the water chasing a school of bait fish. they were only there for around 15 minutes but they would have been a struggle to tame in such tight waters.
it may have been a longtail. but you never know, until you catch em
andrew
nabs12
30-04-2006, 08:27 PM
Hey Guys
I reckon it was probably those schoolies aswell... I know i have caught a few of the jetty there and im sure it would be them taking those baitfish...
chief
01-05-2006, 01:00 AM
Yeh, I'll throw my two bobs worth in, have caught schoolies there but it was always around september. there are some pretty big tailor floating around at the moment.
rando
01-05-2006, 01:49 PM
I have a couple of mates with boats on moorings at RQYS everytime I go out to one of their moorings I see monster jacks lurking under the pontoons (Breaks my heart,,, no fishing in the marina).
Ive also see pods of dolphins in there feeding and a school of tailer flogging a bait school trapped in the angle where two pontoons meet, so bait busting up could be any number of things.
Certainly shows there is variety .
But I would not eat anything from there, all those years of Lead anti- foul, and Tributyl-tin, you could end up growing appendages you dont want or need :)
Dylan_Rylatt
01-05-2006, 09:02 PM
i have caught squire, bream ,Scoolie macs good tailor,trevs, sweetlip, good cod, jacks..... i dont believe the lt sighting as have lived in the ares for year and i call the harbour just about my home....
my guess is with With Ben (maria) most likely scoolie macs or evan a decent school of pike...
if anyone catches the mysterios chopping fish would be keen to hear about it
Dylan
DaneCross
01-05-2006, 09:20 PM
hi all,
was going out about 6-30 am on sat from manly harbour when we saw schools of bait fish getting hammerd out of coast guard jetty in harbour.
i think bait fish were hardie heads but dont know what was chasing them, but it was bigish and fast :o and there was several of them .
i tried slugging for them but no luck.did anyone see what they were. the shags were having a good time there on sunday about lunch time filling up on the bait fish.
snafu
SNAFU we must've launched at the same time. Were you in the open tinnie throwing a slug around? We tried until we hooked an old crab pot lol... My guess would be a shark.
i saw the same sort've activity at the southern wall of the mouth of the brissie river, i never got to see the fish but they were also into a big school of hardyheads i was thinking big tailor, mackeral or longtails as they had been caught on the western side of mud
richieboy
02-05-2006, 10:07 AM
Hey fellas. Was down there this morning around 630am to have a flick with SP's. After hearing all the reports I just had to investigate. Being a local lad myself it's only 5minutes down the road. Not as much surface action as what was reported but there was a bit of chop on the surface. Baitfish are hardy heads (I jagged one). As for the fish doing the chasing I landed some nice chopper tailor. Didn't take long for them to move on though as the sun was up but the baitfish were still hanging around. I spoke to another bloke who said that the 2 days before he'd seen another bloke pull in a decent scool mac.
Hope that answers a few questions.
Rich ;)
chief
03-05-2006, 06:12 PM
Az those big tailor out at the wall are not there yet but not far away caught 3 decent tailor on the weekend on slugs and a mate told me he picked up a reasonable mac not far from the wall.
SNAFU
05-05-2006, 02:55 PM
DC,i was in the fisher c/c with 2 others slugging for mystery packages. one or two others were giving it a go also.i also have heard about BIG jacks in harbour as well,this being from a diver who cleans hulls in water. says they can be quite aggresive at times.
SNAFU.
Dylan_Rylatt
05-05-2006, 07:12 PM
fished down there during the week pulling a 40cm tailor off the gunn jetty.......
Hooked a scoolie mac round 70 cm never seen anything like it.. done on 6 pd
great session ended up with 11 tailor..... all on slugs....
Dylan