View Full Version : quiet saturday
manchild
06-05-2006, 07:16 PM
G'day all.Went out to bribie surfbeach as usually on sat mornin ,arrived on sunrise and a site looked very promising.Huge schools of macks and longtails feeding out there virtually you can see them for miles and miles ,the water was boiling ,so i tought gonna have a good day.NOT SO .
None of this fished responded to any offering ,tried casting slugs trough the school -over the school -side of the school in every imaginable colour to no avaible.They also not responded to ganged pillies ,even intensive burleying didnt got them interested ,they only wanted to eat hardiheads which were plentyful .Some of the schools even came as close as 15-20 meters .There i was absolutely clueless what to do .Another strange thing was that didnt get a single bite in a 5 hour session,yes i konow it was blowin ne and runout tide but still this place did produced before every conditions let alone with thousand of fish feeding well inside casting distance .anyone got any suggestions what else i could have tried?
George
fishn-ads
06-05-2006, 08:08 PM
After the posts you've putting up lately maybe the fish are just scared? Maybe you should try a Rex Hunt mask he always catches fish doesn't he ;D Sound to me like you just had one of those days. You'll get em tomorrow.
Ads
Smailesy
06-05-2006, 08:21 PM
hey george you didnt hold your tounge to the left . Mate i was in my boat last week chased tuna all day close to the beach had long tail 10 m away didnt get a touch .I tryd evry thing small to large slugs had enough stoped fishing had a feed my mate put out a dead livey it got smashed 10 to 15kilo longtail beside the boat it looked and smiled as it swam away
06-05-2006, 08:47 PM
NET???????
wetnwild11
06-05-2006, 09:01 PM
;D ;D ;D dynamite!!!!!!
Eric
manchild
06-05-2006, 09:25 PM
fish poisoning with herbs and crushed roots:)
Grunter71
06-05-2006, 10:27 PM
If they are only 15 - 20 metres offshore, cast net a few hardiheads, pin one through the nose and lob it in to the frenzy and hang on.
chief
07-05-2006, 06:45 AM
Couldn't help thinking about a few years back when a friend and I came across a school of mahi mahi inside the bay ,only juveniles. they were held up under a navigational beacon.we could see them we cast every thing at them out the tackle box(mate made lures and we had every thing),they were lit up and chasing but wouldn't hit anything we could offer.After about an hour I was down to hook directly to light mainline and a carefully prepared pillie and floating it back unweighted with tongue to the left and legs crossed and i got nailed Yahoo. mate dived to use similar rig with pillie to have fish come out from the beacon and push his bait around with their forehead and mill around. I grabbed a gar same steps as last time, tongue to the left and right leg over left and bang on again .Mate now grabbing gar to try his luck to have same behaviour as before.Looked in esky and thought one last choice squid which being a good mate said frank , you try this and within 2 seconds he was hammered. never caught another fish, we had them puhing baits around like a kids soccer game. I'll never forget how fickel fishing can be and frustrating.
Flash
07-05-2006, 08:24 AM
When they push the bait around like that, try annoying them a bit, they might lash out and take a snap at it.
I caught my PB luderick that way on a hook way too big by bonking him on the head with it.
Jim_Byrne
07-05-2006, 08:48 AM
Manchild have you thrown a plastic out amongst the longtails before? Have found this works sometimes when slugs and livies wont!
manchild
07-05-2006, 01:32 PM
yeahh mate i tried 4 poddys that didnt work