View Full Version : MAIN BEACH TAILOR WED 03/05

T1
06-05-2006, 06:44 PM
Hi All

Sorry for the late report but have been under the pump all week!!

Headed down to Main Beach (Gold Coast) on Wed night with a mate Smally to iron out the kinks in the winter surf gear ready for the annual major onslaught. Had a quietish year by my standards for Tailor last year and keen to make amends this year! Left Brissie a bit late due to work commitments for both of us but weren't concerned as this was a shakedown trip. Arrived at Main Beach just after 6ish to pristine conditions. Unfortunately, the Tailor weren't thick and fast, just ones and two's. We chatted to a fellow fisher who'd been fishing the area for a few weeks and he said they were hot and cold - some nights great, some nights not! Anyway, the end result was 3 Tailor for me and one for Smally and a good shakedown of our gear. I also hooked something mammoth but have a feeling it was a giant ray as there wasn't a lot of head movement until it got to the shallows and decided the opposite direction was the safest bet and threw the hooks in the process... A nice night nonetheless and i look forward to another trip down one night this week.

Take Care T

PS: Hey TINN, bought those waders yet?!

mat_anderson04
06-05-2006, 07:02 PM
hay mate nice feed there

i cant wait till i head over to get nice nice taylor over at mortan island

nabs12
06-05-2006, 07:55 PM
Hey
Nice pics there, sounds like a decent session must have been good fun
What did you get em on?

Smailesy
06-05-2006, 07:59 PM
nice fish and tasty 2

manchild
06-05-2006, 08:20 PM
good on ya mate ,nice feed ,ill think i give it a go myself tomorrow arvo if they in there already ,

George

Craigus
06-05-2006, 08:59 PM
Great stuff there T1.
Only a sign of things to come. :)
What did you catch them on?

TIM-DONSELAAR
06-05-2006, 10:04 PM
nice tailor there T1 [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

cheers tim ;)

aussiefool
07-05-2006, 03:29 AM
Quote: "Had a quietish year by my standards for Tailor last year and keen to make amends this year"
M8 your not the only one, got a few my self on Tues, but dropped about 20 just not hitting the hooks :(

chief
07-05-2006, 05:51 AM
Mate, get every fishing chance in you can before you start changing those nappies ;D

spindles
07-05-2006, 08:02 AM
I Don't know what it is, but after reading this thread I am starting to get the shakes and also breaking out into a sweat and getting hot and cold shiver.
Spindles

White_Steenbras
07-05-2006, 08:52 AM
Nice effort there mate.

cheers Steve

T1
07-05-2006, 11:28 AM
Thanks Guys!

The old faithful Pillies did the job - rarely use anything else when fishing for Tailor (unless its a hot session and out of bait then the slugs come out...)...

CHIEF: Under control my friend, it's only the 1st not 5th! Anyway, us Lebo's don't get told what to do too often...

SPINDLES: Totally understand! If not for the Footy this arvo (Lions), the waders would be in the car waiting... So, until Wednesday, the shakes continue!

Take Care T

Tri-Kun
07-05-2006, 02:11 PM
hello, im curious where at main beach, is it landbase area, cause im also keen to catch some tailor fish, also are there other places to catch tailor also landbase would be recoomend

thanks tri

Tinn
09-05-2006, 11:29 AM
Well done T nice tailor there buddy. Still haven't bought waders yet I am saving to buy a big net to net your fish for you. ;) :) :)