View Full Version : mud loner
allniter
05-05-2006, 06:10 PM
left thursday arvo for a solo mission to mud for an overnighter, :)
tried to organise a deckie but it seems too many people have to work these days :P :P
anyway, headed out all by my lonesome - just me, .....and some drinkies ::) ::)
well, i tried spots a to z that have held fish before but spent more time topping up the scotch glass, rather than topping up the esky with fish. ;D
apart from a couple of grassies - it was very quiet indeed.
the good news was i managed some decent sleep, but by dawn the pressure was on to put something in the esky....... ;D
so it was time to change the fishing trip into a crabbing trip ::)
checked the pots , a couple of sandies - but bugger all really,
so after some serious thought, plan z was put into action.......
the last resort was off to the weed banks for some better sandies and some diver whiting. ;D
not an inspiring trip that one, but at least the kids will eat something tonight ;D
beeeewdiful weather ,
and a good time was had by all
over and out.
fishn-ads
05-05-2006, 06:22 PM
Well done champ just as wellyou went alone. you'd have too share that feast "YUM"
Ads
mat_anderson04
05-05-2006, 06:30 PM
very nice catch there mate
well done
chrees ando
richieboy
05-05-2006, 06:55 PM
Nicely done! There's a feed there. :)
Rich
ShaneJ
05-05-2006, 07:15 PM
Thats a good feed mate, nothing to complain about ;)
Where abouts are the weed banks mate? Is this a known spot?
aquarius
05-05-2006, 07:57 PM
G,Day Darren, Looks like a slow session but at least you managed a small feed.
The bay islands are fishing very slow at present.
Last weekend it was an effort to find bait on the sounder.
Tides are slow moving through the daylight hours this weekend so i guess i might target fish in the channels.
Cheers Brent :)
allniter
05-05-2006, 08:46 PM
shane,
the weed banks that have a few whiting and sandies on them are at the east end mouth of the boat passage.
rather than travel out towards moreton, or straddie, these banks were on the way back to the ramp
{bloody fuel prices}
hi Brent,
long time no hear mate, i hear what you're saying about tidal flow - tried out wider but still no go
couldn't catch a legal squire last night ........ friggin things
go on, i know you're gonna bag out this weekend.... just to rub it in and make me feel even more useless ;D
regards darren
05-05-2006, 08:52 PM
If ya did some bloody work for a change, and not all these midweek flirts we mite organize something ;D
You and your sandies ;)
Anywayu mate nice solo hall.
Time to hit Mud again me thinks.
DICER
05-05-2006, 09:14 PM
mate that is a quality feed for one!!
Fisher4life
05-05-2006, 09:40 PM
which bank did you pick all the wihiting up on, and how far away was it from mud??
TIM-DONSELAAR
05-05-2006, 10:54 PM
Well Done darren...good feed there with a bit of variety #[smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
cheers tim #:)
chief
06-05-2006, 04:52 AM
Looks like a seafood smorgass board to me and a good night for a few friends.
06-05-2006, 09:03 AM
Nice mixed bag....I''d be happy with that.
You can send a message around the world in 1/7 of a second; yet it may take several years to move a simple idea through a 1/4 inch of human skull.
06-05-2006, 05:03 PM
I'd be happy with that too. ;D
Well done. # :)
Canoedle
06-05-2006, 05:43 PM
Looks like a seafood smorgass board to me and a good night for a few friends.
My thoughts exactly, great mixed bag, and some quality bait(whiting) for the next trip. :D
Wyoming
06-05-2006, 07:12 PM
Well All Nighter, you did relatively well! I was out at sparrows this morning with the Foggy at Mud, Green an Secret Spot Alpha and we didn't have to clean the filleting board when we got home.
Went first-up to Mud where Graham got smashed with something serious on the first cast just as the sun was peeping over the horizon. It took his $20, fully imported Japanese, plastic wiggle thingy, and made off for the depths of Moreton Bay. Beauty, says I, we are in for a good day. HA! How wrong can one man be? You didn't miss mush (fishing) Brent.
Graham managed 2 x weenie cod, a couple of fine specimens of the common grinner and a pan sized ray. Sweet Fanny Adams was the nett result of my day's work, but as Foggy reminded me (on a couple of occasions) "the wost day's fishing is far better than the best day at work..."
I don't recon its worth fishing an hour each side of high or low tide, but it was better being there than pushing a mower. If you have to have a day where there was no action, today was it..... absolutely gorgeous on the water this morning.
KEV - do you lie awake at night creating your sign-off lines? They are always amazing!
Smailesy
06-05-2006, 08:01 PM
tasty
solwota
07-05-2006, 12:07 AM
i fished mud on friday morning and also found it quit. a small squire a few cod and a couple of small grassies. no run no fun i think.... sure was nice weather though
richard
blue-mako
09-05-2006, 09:01 PM
sounds like u were sum wot disapointed with ur catch??? :o i wudnt b...
troy