View Full Version : Raby Bay and Cleveland point 13/5
Why-ting
13-05-2006, 06:14 PM
Hit the water bout 10 this morning. Fished Cleveland point for bout 30-40 squire ranging from tiddlers to 41cm, 2 small grassys and a couple of moses perch. Started fishin 2 rods just had 1 dead sticking in the rod holder and it got too much with constant double hook ups so went back to 1 rod. Also got a nice bar tailed flathead 53cm. All good fun on 4lb gear but had enough and moved into Raby bay to chase some bream. Was a bit quiet at first but ended up getting into a few fish. 6 bream and 2 moses perch. bream were all legal but no big fish with the biggest going 27cm to the fork. While motering past 1 boat with the electric i saw a fish under it (it was soo clear today) thought it was a bream but as i got closer it came out a little more and i thought to myself thats a massive bream but turned out to b a jack bout 50cm. Tried thowing every thing at it but didnt take plastics or poppers. After lookin At him for10mins and not been able to hook him moved on. All in all good day on the water bugged now. Might head back in in the morning early and have a good go at the bream.
Cheers Whytey
Why-ting
13-05-2006, 06:15 PM
Well done on today. Being mothers day tomorrow it should keep a few fisho's at home, but with a report like that Its almost worth the floging I would get if I asked can I go for a quick fish in the morning. I will be back early [smiley=behead.gif]
13-05-2006, 07:23 PM
What a ripper catch!
Well done! :) :) :)
nabs12
13-05-2006, 10:27 PM
Hey
Thats a TOP session very well done.
Too bad about that jack, would have an awesome fight to get that thing in on the light gear.
mat_anderson04
14-05-2006, 01:04 PM
should take the plastic of the cork on ur dawia procaster rod it look's 8-) better ;D :D ;)
nice catch to good job
MulletMan
14-05-2006, 04:02 PM
Geez Why_ting, that was my pontoon you waz chucking lures under!
Legally that fish is mine - but you can have it anyway ;) ;)
There are some huge bream under the pontoons, moses perch and estuary cod.
And in my canal (like I am going to tell you! :P :P :P) there are good quality snappery squire up to three kilos. Not thick I will admit but from now on for a few months you can always bag half a dozen if you work real hard for them!
Mongrels as they are, heaps of big Black Trevally (Happy Moments) that aren't bad eating though a tad dry!
Why-ting
14-05-2006, 05:47 PM
Hey pink panther. I regulary get squire in Raby bay only upto 45cm which canal did u say these 3kg fish were hidding in? ;)
Louis
14-05-2006, 06:08 PM
G'day Whytey,
Shame you weren't able to get that Jack.
But a nice catch nevertheless.
Well done
Louis
White_Steenbras
15-05-2006, 11:54 AM
Top spot the canals down there, caught some good trevors, flattys and a little queenie there last year, must visit again sometime.
Thanks for the update.