View Full Version : Peel Island 10-5-2006
Another early start this morning for an assault on Peel. Also had a trip last Friday for zilch that I didn't report on, so I thought I would need to even things out today.
Started off with plastics in the shallows and quickly the old man was onto a big 64cm squire smudging 3kg. PB for us and damn him for outfishing the captain. He then proceeded to land another 4 good squire going 40-45cm before I finally nailed a keeper at 40cm. Oh well, at least fish were coming aboard.
It all shut down at about 10:30 so we decided to try some bait fishing in the deeper channels. Cut up a pike we caught earlier and also used some whole frozen poddy mullet. My baitrunner was the first to go off landing a small shark over 1m. The old man decided to outdo me again and landed another 3 before I got one more.
Esky was totally full so we decided to leave the sharks alone and head back.
I'm going to miss all this fishing when I move to london in 2 weeks... :(
nickc506
10-05-2006, 11:07 PM
what do you use the sharks for?
10-05-2006, 11:42 PM
You should tell your Dad to join Ausfish so we can get the good reports from Peel ;) HA HA HA HA!!! You know it's cold over there don't ya?
Some very nice meals there mate. Congrats on the catch. I'll have to do a little deal with you before you go too ;) (Swap ya some spots)
land_based
11-05-2006, 12:15 AM
Those sharks will cook up to be some nice fish and chips mate! Well Done!!!
Forgot to mention I also had a big bust off from (my call) a big squire at least as big as the old man's ;). Fought it for a few minutes with some awesome runs before I was broken off on the reef, second time its happened now.
I use the standard pump and wind technique to bring the fish in and hold the rod up to put pressure on the fish when it runs. But I seemed to be no match for the bigger ones. I must start to try the old man's 'constant winding and random lifting of the rod' technique - he has never lost one yet!
The sharks make excellent boneless fillets with very little waste. And these were perfect eating size.
I have found that when you catch a shark, like those ones, which you want to eat, the best practice is to immediately kill it, gut it (to get rid of the liver) cut the head and tail off , then wash it over the side of the boat to bleed it out. Then put it straight in an ice slury (mixture of ice and sea water in your esky). That way you get rid of the strong amonia taste and retain the best eating quality.
GES
grant6336
11-05-2006, 08:54 AM
Great feed there mate [smiley=thumbsup.gif]. Yes the sharks are good eating but I found the same thing you need to bleed them and keep them fresh. And you get a great boneless fillet. Just superb in the batter and deep fried.....yum.
BrandonH
11-05-2006, 09:23 AM
Great catch mate!! I was talking to my dad about doing a peel trip one of these days!! looks like there are some good snapper there!! well done ;)
I went out yesterday arvo for a snapper session but only managed 2 under sized 2 bream and 2 sharks :( one of them i thought was a snapper but turned out to be a gummy shark (i think) nearly 4 foot long!! i didn't tussle with him, cut trace and went home to bed :(
Brandon...
thepartyisover
14-05-2006, 04:46 PM
great catch mate!! that 64cm squire is a ripper
FishMarket
15-05-2006, 03:58 PM
What a catch there 8-)
I'm having flake for tea too ;)
bloody peel island. i've only been a few times in the bay but so far has been a big zip for fish. and only 1 shark caught by my bro inlaw. I cant seem to crack the code.
one day
I have found that when you catch a shark, like those ones, which you want to eat, the best practice is to immediately kill it, gut it (to get rid of the liver) #cut the head and tail off , then wash it over the side of the boat to bleed it out. #Then put it straight in an ice slury (mixture of ice and sea water in your esky). That way you get rid of the strong amonia taste and retain the best eating quality.
GES
yeh agree with this method also, the shark fisherman I know have taught me the same way, certainly a lot nicer to handle
JoeT - ripper bag mate, should take the oldman with you more often :P
Thanks for the tips on prep of the sharks, will do next time.
Had another trip out yesterday to peel (mother's day). Not a single car at the ramp when I arrived, I had to double check that it was the weekend :D
Very quiet both boat traffic and fishing wise. Landed 3 squire ~38cm all released. Mate landed a large wobbygong? also released. Good day on the water all the same without anyone else on the water.
Old man with PB snapper. Couldn't wipe the bloody smile off his face ;D