View Full Version : Woody Point Jetty 13/05/2006

DanMacX2
15-05-2006, 09:06 AM
Hi Guys,
Decided that sitting at home was far too boring on saturday afternoon and headed upto the woody point jetty at around 3:00pm.
Upon arrival I decided to get a few whitebait (just for fun). Threw around soft a few 4" gulp glow for quite a few decent hits and only 1 hookup which took a screaming run but dropped the hook :o anyway decided to throw a white bait around with 2 small split shots for a bit of extra weight, and WHAM off it goes to get a nice 38cm Tailor (released) picked up 5 from 5 casts. Then it all went dead, but had alot of weight on the line on every cast. Decided to throw out the squid jig and brought in 8 rather nice squid (all released). Funny thing is the squid jig was getting hit by allot of larger fish when casting and retrieving at a nice steady pace. Wish I had my Prawn star with me, but hey, This was a great little spot, a very different woody point to the usual no hits in 5 hours. By the way, is there any stopping these arrogant people fishing with their boat rods and reels throwing out huge chunks of bait in the interest of catching sharks??? Spoke with 1 guy that was doing it and said that he often gets 4 - 5 foot bull sharks and the odd 7 foot tiger or Hammer head >:( . when asked what he does with it he replies I either chuck it in the big bin at the end of the pier or grind it up for dog food, they are a man eating pest :o. With that I replied you are attracting the sharks to shore with those big off bits of bait and chumming the waters, but hey its sport right??? I then packed my things told him to have a good one and left. The stupid F&*@er catches them to throw in a BIN!!! This makes my Blood Boil. If I see anyone do this, I will be more than happy to help attract the sharks with the remnants of your large and small intestines and then throw them in the bin.. GROW UP, and Dont destroy what is such an awesome creature in the name of fun.

Hope I dont make anyone mad, but this is a forum where we can all share our thoughts and stories. Take it easy guys and "TIGHT LINES" ;D

Louis
15-05-2006, 09:34 AM
Throwing shark away is a waste of nice tasteing fillets.

Louis

White_Steenbras
15-05-2006, 11:47 AM
I agree mate, I'm getting sick of people taking undersize fish, seen it happen again all weekend! Bream that are about 10cm-15cm, just crazy the lack of respect some IDIOTS have for the environment, then there's the rubbish issue of plastic bags, stubbies, cans, etc...............!

What I do now is explain to the thick ones, how wrong it is to litter, take undersize fish etc, eventually I hope the message gets across, its an education thing Bro. This is a definite TOPIC that needs adressing.

Cheers Barnesy ;D

DanMacX2
15-05-2006, 12:16 PM
Hi Barnesy,

I agree mate, I think Ken Brown sums it up best "Dont Destroy What You Came To Enjoy". I certainly donot. Whilst at woody point the other day an asian bloke lost his bait wrapper in the water and fished it out and put it back in his bucket, now that was great, if only more people coud do that.

people need to understand that UNDERSIZED FISH - DONT MAKE GOOD EATING. Lets think about the future, we all like fish and is a large part of my diet, I certainly dont want the only thing left to catch being Vermin.... MMMMM maybe should catch and give them China man fish and say it is red emperor and are great eating, maybe then they will never touch fish again.

Daniel ;D

blue-mako
15-05-2006, 02:37 PM
reuse it for chum... only gets more sharks :)

troy

fishn-ads
15-05-2006, 03:07 PM
Good to see tailor and squid are coming on at Reddy good catch.

You kept 5 tailor and threw 8 squid back?

Ads

BrandonH
15-05-2006, 03:15 PM
I wanted to do some squiding on woody point on saturday night!! but when i got there the place was absolutly packed and i don't like fishing shoulder to shoulder unless the taylor are on at Frasier ;).

anyways i ended up at the redcliffe pier and managed to catch an octapus on my squid jig!! only thing i got on them though >:( gave the jigs away after 3/4 hour and fished for bream. got lots of little ones and one 33cm job that i gave to my mate. Weight was 1 3/4 pounds!! Dam fat little fish :D

Brandon...

Jim_Byrne
15-05-2006, 08:53 PM
The shark plays an important role in the food chain and must be respected for this.

White_Steenbras
15-05-2006, 09:28 PM
Wish more Asian blokes like that guy fished down the Brissy River, most I've seen take undersize fish along with Aussies who leave there stubbies and cans behind. People sould be fined on the spot for this, its the environment that we live in. Maybe most of them are the ones who you see on A.Affair who collect heaps of shit in their yards, therefore dont have the space at home to take it with them.

Just sick of it......and who cares about the undersize fish anyway, I've called fishwatch twice now, both times the response has been negative, they say that foreign Aussies argue that its their culture to take everything and therefore it gets thrown out of court, this is what I have heard, anyone heard similar?????

Cheers mate and on ya for releasing some fish.

land_based
16-05-2006, 01:49 AM
I fish for sharks off woddy point jetty sometimes, any one that thows them in the bin must have rocks in their head cos' they are great on the chew!!

falcon01
16-05-2006, 09:06 AM
Just a quick question upto what size shark would you keep

FishMarket
16-05-2006, 09:34 AM
Nice Catch and I'll have to get up there at some point. Not had too much luck there in the past though.