View Full Version : Threadfin Salmon.
AngiG
13-05-2006, 12:07 PM
Caught a Threadfin Salmon and a few other fish in teh Brisbane river last night.
It was awesome.
Most of the action was in between the tides.
Loads of prawns around as well.
Troy managed to land this sucker.
For more pic of the evening and all teh other fish caught check out http://www.brisbaneriverclassic.com/component/option,com_joomlaboard/Itemid,42/func,view/id,257/catid,10/
All in all it was a very successful night. My first time fishing in the style as well.
AngiG
13-05-2006, 12:08 PM
And another
nabs12
13-05-2006, 05:32 PM
Hey guys
Well done there,
Theres heaps of those things about at the moment, must be good fun catching em..
What did you get it on?
congrats guys, another one on the board
fishn-ads
13-05-2006, 06:44 PM
Well done lads you sure have a nack of Threadies down pat.
Ads
mat_anderson04
14-05-2006, 12:56 PM
:( chouldent come down :'( oh well look like a good night well done angus
MulletMan
14-05-2006, 04:03 PM
Really nice fish to eat though yours look a bit brown and muddy?
Brisbane River colour maybe....?
robdiep
14-05-2006, 06:10 PM
where abouts did you land them? more towards brekkie creek or more towards the mouth?
cuzzamundi
14-05-2006, 07:28 PM
you blokes just keep reeling em in, and for that a huge congrats!! awesome fish.
cuzza
chief
14-05-2006, 07:34 PM
Good on ya fellas , haven't had the pleasure of one of these suckers in the river yet, were you blokes livebaiting or what?
DICER
15-05-2006, 07:29 AM
More threadfins - and they look great as well. How far up the river do they go?
Nice.
Slient
15-05-2006, 07:51 AM
Gee.. you're so good those threadfin salmon catching... 8-)
Well done M8
Silent
AngiG
15-05-2006, 08:40 AM
I think there has been some confusion with who made this post!
This was my first time fishing for them.
But yes i was accompanied by the young veterans whose advice was certainly invaluable.
Cheers all.
Angus Gorrie.
www.brisbaneriverclassic.com
Louis
15-05-2006, 09:38 AM
Well done fellows.
I have got to have a crack at this myself one day.
Do you often hook up on other species such as Bull sharks and the occasionaly jew from time to time also?
Louis
Louis
15-05-2006, 09:43 AM
I wonder why there are so many of these fish in the river at the moment?
Louis
Top stuff guys! They certainly are fun to get...
Take Care T
White_Steenbras
15-05-2006, 11:29 AM
Nice catch, whats the eating stakes like????
Top catch guys keep those salmon coming
blue-mako
15-05-2006, 02:15 PM
yeh it was one of the best nights ive fished so far... so many fish so little time
troy
i know of a bloke that caught 1 around 6 months ago and a mate of mine caught 1 last week as far up as the gateway. I don't think i would even contemplate eating anything out of the river.
Tri-Kun
15-05-2006, 05:17 PM
also where abouts you catch them...eager farm, kangaroo point, hamliton or further towards the mouth
KID, that is an old wifes tale! The river is the cleanest i have ever seen it and we've had quite a few meals of Squire out of there in the past few months and they don't taste any different to the Squire caught out in the bay... Mind you, i've only fished from the Tug Terminal out to the mouth though...
Take Care T
mat_anderson04
15-05-2006, 07:29 PM
where not saying any more about where we catch them and what we use, becouse every one is taking our spot
mat_anderson04
15-05-2006, 07:31 PM
sorry
White_Steenbras
15-05-2006, 10:03 PM
Mate I dont think anyone can call a spot theirs unless you own the land.
I certainly wouldn't call any of the spots I fish and share with others mine, because most of them have F#*King shit and rubbish that careless and useless fisherman leave behind all the time!!!!! My spot would be pristine and looked after but that is really a dream I'm working towards. I know what you mean though about people taking over when you've found a great place, used to happen on the pier in Mel everytime you caught a squid, was like space invaders, everyone moved in on you or your "spot".
Good on ya for catching great fish in the Brissy River though, Cheers. ;D
mat_anderson04
15-05-2006, 10:19 PM
yeah i no what u mean mate, its not your sport but we treat it like we own it never leave anytihng behind always stay clean
now every ne is fishing for salmon and come down and see if we got anytihng lol
White_Steenbras
16-05-2006, 10:36 AM
Good to hear you keep it clean Mat, try scaring the people away, get a mate to act a little crazy with a big gaff in his hand waving it in the air and all over the place.........mmmmmm might work.
Anyway mate, good luck.
AngiG
16-05-2006, 10:37 AM
Well i do always carry my Machete?
White_Steenbras
16-05-2006, 02:17 PM
Carry 5 from now on.
mat_anderson04
16-05-2006, 03:43 PM
hahahah angus it might work