View Full Version : When Jacks attack Part 2

devocean
14-05-2006, 03:44 PM
This is the sequel to when Jacks attack part 1. In the last episode I took the father in law fishing got smoked heaps of times on 40lb stren (abu 6500) and landed some nice jacks. Well this time I went back with 50lb tuff line on the same rod and reel with much better results.

The tide was perfect about 2.9 m (average tide in my parts of the woods 2.4) one night before the full moon (even better) and a high tide about 9.30pm ;D Pretty much perfect conditions for jack fishing. Loaded up on fresh mullet bait that afternoon in a different creek (too hard to catch in the creek where I fish) and off we went this time in the father in laws boat. We knew we were in for a good time.

Copped plenty when I put the rod back in the boat with sneers of - put that thing away havnt you learned your lessons yet. But I was determined and after speaking to a few other guys I was confident the tuff line would stand up.

Anyway with a few tooheys gold in us we were off back to my favourite jack spot. First hour of the tide saw only black bream from 20cm to 34cm hit the boat. Some of the bigger ones had us fooled for jacks but I was patient. Then the father in laws handline gets smashed and the fish is in the snags, trees errupting splashing, it was on. After holing up we moved in and tried to get him out to no avail and the nylon trace he swears by snapped (dont use nylon trace to catch jacks).

Anyway we decided to move the boat into a position to have a better chance of getting them away from the mangroves. Anyway out went the baits and all was quiet. Then suddenly the rod goes berko Im onto something with good power and the jack call is made and the rod didnt let me down. First jack hit the esky at 39cm not a thumpa but a start.

More blackies and tooheys gold followed when the old man gets smokd again this time on 40lb handline right at the boat when pulling in a mullet bait. Thirty seconds later and the rod is going berko again this fish was really going but after locking up the drag and turning him away a good 45cm jack hit the deck. ;D

By this time the tide had reached its peak and the fish went off the bite. With a total of 15 nice bream all over 30cm (our legal size) and 2 nice jacks we went back to the hut for a few bourbons and ports and some nice t bones for dinner.

Got up the next day went to a different spot and was able to land 4 nice cod and one morelegal jack. Overall a pretty good trip ans cant wait for 2 weeks when the tides are the same again.

Heres a few pics

devocean
14-05-2006, 03:45 PM
another

devocean
14-05-2006, 03:47 PM
day jack

devocean
14-05-2006, 03:48 PM
cod

devocean
14-05-2006, 03:49 PM
last cod

devocean
14-05-2006, 03:55 PM
The last jack was actually undersized that is a typo but stll fought well. I found mullet to be best bait though one jack lwas landed on prawn bait. I found that using extra long leader gave the braid help with landeding jacks and that is what I attribute to being snbapped of last time. You need a little bit of stretch for that initial hit I found 1.5 m of snieder did the trick. Once again tru turn hooks did the job and was using pretty big size I think 5 0s but cant remeber.

manangatang
14-05-2006, 04:52 PM
pretty photos devo,cheers.

elephrez1
14-05-2006, 06:15 PM
well done

cuzzamundi
14-05-2006, 07:20 PM
awesome devo, just awesome!! crikes i wish i was there jacking in may!!! well done.

cuzza

15-05-2006, 09:44 AM
Well done Mr Devo. What is this rod and reel crap? U turning into a pretty boy or something? Next thing you will be using sounders and GPS and other modern day devices..., c'mon man, thats not what we are about... :)
Oh, 30cm for bream? Have you dropped the size limit?

Az
15-05-2006, 11:01 AM
nice jacks mate

LURE4ME
15-05-2006, 11:14 AM
Hey devocean,

Where are you fishing mate for those beautys.......sounds like a place that i used to inhabit in North Queensland.......Just a general area will be fine like name of town that is closest, no need pin point locations.....

Aaron

White_Steenbras
15-05-2006, 11:32 AM
Great effort mate, well done.

blue-mako
15-05-2006, 02:54 PM
50lb line....???? :o :o for those little jacks and cod???

troy

manangatang
15-05-2006, 03:54 PM
what mako you recon he should be usen 130 lb min !

devocean
15-05-2006, 05:14 PM
Yeah I know Mick getting soft in my old age.

Blue Mako, I know 50lb sounds a bit much but I was dusted 6 times last weekend on 40lb. I am fishing in a creek about 2 metres wide with mangrove everywhere trust me even with 50lb u are really giving them a chance. We lose about 2 jacks to everyone we catch

gullyroot
16-05-2006, 04:14 PM
lock your drag up and skull the pricks out ;)

Hardrigger
16-05-2006, 05:24 PM
Very nice Jacks mate sounds like it was a good session

devocean
17-05-2006, 05:09 PM
lock your drag up and skull the pricks out ;)

Tried that last week even got the pliers out, resulted in three bust off on 40lb braid. Cant wait to get back next friday night

White_Steenbras
17-05-2006, 07:50 PM
Yeah I think Mako wants him to up it to 130lb or down it???????? NIce stressed out fish full of lactic acid, yummy. :'(