View Full Version : Do tailor like sp

young_mind
15-05-2006, 09:44 PM
:)Gidday Just want know if tailor like sp and what sort of sp they like ? :) #

White_Steenbras
16-05-2006, 10:39 AM
Yes mate they do, all minnow profiles up to 5 inch's, do a twisted main leader with 10lb, thats heaps to have fun with. Be prepared for plenty chewed up and sliced plakkys though.

Hope this helps

BrandonH
16-05-2006, 10:46 AM
get yourself some snapbacks if you wanta chase taylor with palstics! I have caught heaps on 3" minows flicking for Bream and flathead and they do chew them up quick >:( but if you get some 4" even 5" snapbacks and run them with a small amount of lead you will get some and not have to replace the plastic every time you get a bite!!

Brandon..

LCC
16-05-2006, 12:36 PM
They certainly do, I landed three very good tailor in the brissy river on friday night,
Hooked 8 fish only landed 3, they were on the 5"gulp in the sardine and are exellent fighters on 4lb line.

Stephen

Slient
16-05-2006, 04:44 PM
Hey Harry,

You wanted change a tune fishing with SP... ;D
Hope your luck will turn out soon... ;)

Silent

young_mind
16-05-2006, 05:45 PM
Thanks mate I got 5" snapback white with 5/0 17g weight so will try next week compitition ;)

manchild
16-05-2006, 08:03 PM
I dunno about sp-s but certainly like hard bodies and big poppers up to 65 gramms as long as they have some gold in them.I fund the latter is great fun as they jump out when they smash it ,anyway great way if ya bored with slugs and pillies
George

aquarius
16-05-2006, 10:55 PM
You risk losing heaps of jigheads if fishing with plastics for Tailor unless you tie a short peice of tiger wire onto the leader.
You will catch some in the corner of the mouth but most fish just bite you off.
Cast out and then jerk the plastic back fast and repeat till back at the boat or shore.
Cheers Brent :)

solwota
17-05-2006, 12:36 AM
i've found sp's to be highly attractive to tailor but the way i usually know they are about is by getting a strike and retrieving a neatly cut leader.....time to change to a hardbody or metal slug or move. having said that i have landed some nice choppers including a 70cm model in the burrum at easter. i guess sometimes you just get lucky

richieboy
17-05-2006, 08:20 AM
Yes, but be prepared to go shopping at BCF again after you sesh. Or wherever you buy your tackle. :-[

Rich

White_Steenbras
17-05-2006, 08:10 PM
Twisted leader will solve the money problem with losing jigheads, I do it with 10lb, problem is, that I usually lose one jighead first then realise that I need to change. Never no when I'll hook into a Tailor, lately its been often though.

17-05-2006, 09:06 PM
Young Mind

Two weeks ago my deckie for the day was pretty chuffed with the two he is holding in the left hand. But he has huge farmers hands so they are actually bigger than they look.. Caught on Electric Chicken 4" snapbacks as a bye catch to snapper around Mud island.

young_mind
18-05-2006, 08:14 PM
:)great info
Will give a go all different sp,slug,w.a pilly but will use sp and metal slug during late arvo and morning then rest night w.a pilly #;) on surf.
If darts,bream take pilly will have to change to bonito or prawns 8-)

18-05-2006, 10:29 PM
Hooked up to a few bigguns off Redcliffe with the Zoom Super Flukes (4 1/4") plastics. Just cast them into the school, and twitched them out at a pretty quick pace.

Flash
18-05-2006, 10:51 PM
I've wondered whether tailor would have a go at a gang and sinker with the foil from a chip packet hanging over it.

I suppose there would be times when they'd chomp on a bare hook and other times when they wouldn't even take a livey.

Slider
19-05-2006, 07:40 AM
Jeez flash, I can't imagine any tailor turning their nose up at a livey. They will certainly take bare hooks. When we fished with baits, we'd instantly retrieve quickly on strikes and most of the time we'd pick up fish at some stage on the way in. Often you could feel strikes from choppers for a while before hook up which when using pilchards means they are striking at bare hooks. And we did the experiment with casting the bare hooks for reasonable results but didn't dick around like this for long as is far better to throw a slug on.
Tailor will take sp's every day of the week and snapbacks are definitely the way to go. Speed of the prey is what excites a tailor to feed and as such you would use a plastic in precisely the same way as you would a slug. Check 'spinning for tailor' post.
Be nice sometimes if tuna were as aggressive as tailor in their feeding habits.

Lindsay

Flash
19-05-2006, 08:25 PM
I really want to try the chip packet idea but the beach would have to be deserted.

What's a snapback? Sounds like a retrieve method.

Or a rubber leader.

young_mind
19-05-2006, 08:31 PM
I really want to try the chip packet idea but the beach would have to be deserted.

What's a snapback? Sounds like a retrieve method.

Or a rubber leader.
snapback is the SP and it is more like electic rubber or silicon

Flash
19-05-2006, 10:20 PM
Gotcha, I know what you mean. Thanks.