View Full Version : Surface lure action and tailor down the Tweed.

flickflack
19-05-2006, 05:41 PM
Hi All

Hit the Tweed this morning for another quickie, the weather actually looked pretty good and was for about 2 hours. The idea was to chase a few bream but they wernt co-operating so decided on a quick change of the game plan. Bagged a few edible fish straight up including a few flatties and a chopper tailor and then got stuck into the queenies on surface lures. Not very big fish but good fun and heaps of them. It was a good morning on the water with some great conditions.Here are a few pics

Cheers Rod

flickflack
19-05-2006, 05:42 PM
Conditions

flickflack
19-05-2006, 05:43 PM
Queenie

flickflack
19-05-2006, 05:46 PM
Pre dawn

shadow
19-05-2006, 05:50 PM
Magic mate

jim_bream
19-05-2006, 06:29 PM
Gidday mate!
First off, well done- coupla nice ones and what a beaut morning!
I'm heading down to your neck of the woods on Sunday morning with my son (leaving Bris about 4am) in the hope of bagging a few tailor and anything else that presents itself. As we all know, local knowledge is tops, so it would be much apreciated if you might divulge a few 'hotspots' so as me a the boy don't go home empty handed. Was thinking of trying Fingal Head or maybe somewhere near Cabarita Beach/ Pottsville in the surf. Waddya reckon?
Any suggestions gratefuly received.
:-?

kingcobe
19-05-2006, 06:46 PM
Nice tailor you got there

manangatang
19-05-2006, 06:46 PM
nice photos rod.

flickflack
19-05-2006, 07:01 PM

Both the spots you mentioned fish best in low light conditions for tailor. I havnt had a go at the beach and headland fishing this season yet your best bet would be to gary at Anglers a ring or Aaron and ask them what the local boys have been getting.
Hope That helps mate.

Rod

jim_bream
19-05-2006, 07:12 PM
Cheers Broo!
Thanks for the info, if you see a guy wandering around (with a wheelbarrow full of tailor) and a Zimbabwean cricket shirt on, come over and say hi.
(The small lure you used looks like a baby toadfish.. eeeuurghh!)

White_Steenbras
20-05-2006, 12:35 AM
Nice session there Rod, see you liking the surface action lately, need to get me some of those suckers for these bream in New Farm.

Cheers Steve