View Full Version : Still some good gts down the tweed

flickflack
17-05-2006, 11:44 AM
Hi All

Went for a quick run this morning up the Tweed to see if the Gts were still there. Yup they are and still pretty good size fish. We managed to get one out and a few flathead before heading up river to chase a few bream on topwaters. Unfortunately ran out of time and left the bream just as they were starting to come on with the change of tide. Back at work by 9:30 with the weather starting to look good. Might have to go again tomorrow .

Good fishing to you all
Rod

agnes_jack
17-05-2006, 12:27 PM
Nice way to start the day Rod!!
Nothing like an early morning on the river, and a few nice fish :D

Regards, Tony

Kai
17-05-2006, 01:24 PM
Great Catch! :o

novice23
17-05-2006, 03:09 PM
Hey Flickflack,
Yet again excellent catch. I am amazed by the consistency with which you pull great fish from the tweed river. Your knowledge of the system must be huge. I spent much of last winter land based on the rock walls near the mouth and caught what i considered to be impressive bream and trevally but nothing in your calibre. Having recently purchased a boat, i spent a whole weekend on the river during a holiday at cooli and explored from the mouth right up to tumbulgum. I only managed a few legal bream and flathead but learnt alot nevertheless. Once uni holidays kick in around late june i plan to do some more serious fishing / learning on the tweed. Any chance i could coax you into having a fish with me?

flickflack
17-05-2006, 03:16 PM
Novice

No worries mate, just give me a ring when you come down

Rod

Dogbream
17-05-2006, 04:04 PM
Hi Rod,

Nice fish, they go hard on the light gear.
What did you get the Gt on? and which depth water and stage of tide were you fishing?

Dogbream

flickflack
17-05-2006, 05:12 PM
dog

On a 3 inch atomic jerk bait , 20ft water

JustOneMore
17-05-2006, 05:27 PM
I just wish I could get a quick fish in before work. Jealous!!!

As already stated you consistently get great catches of quality fish. Good work.

nabs12
17-05-2006, 05:40 PM
Hey
Thats a very impressive GT, thats great!
The tweed really is a great system, i gotta fish it more often.
What did u get the bream on?

flickflack
17-05-2006, 06:35 PM
Nabs

Got them on surface walkers and hardbodies

Rod

White_Steenbras
17-05-2006, 06:48 PM
Hey Rod, great catch mate, will have to catch up for a few castles. Will send you a text with some Brissy fish, cheers Steve

Franco
17-05-2006, 11:56 PM
Still smooth as ever Big Man!

See you soon for a cast on that overhead outfit ... lets see if bream eat 85 gm raider's!!

aussiefool
18-05-2006, 08:03 AM
Well done yet again Rod [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Is it true you can catch fish in a rain barrel?? ;D
Aussiefool

flickflack
18-05-2006, 09:25 AM

I think when I was small I caught some tadpoles in one ;)

Just kidding mate.
We must still hook up for a fish sometime .

Cheers Rod

Canoedle
18-05-2006, 09:58 AM
Nice little GT Rod, you must get invites to go fishing every day.

Dogbream
18-05-2006, 10:32 AM
Hey Rod, great catch mate, will have to catch up for a few castles. Will send you a text with some Brissy fish, cheers Steve

Castle LAGER, you guys are AFRIKANS ;D
Theres a 'Japie' invasion ;D

Do you either of you follow the super 14 rugby? good to sea some strong competition from you guys. The Pretoria Bulls, sneaking into the last top 4 semi final spot

Dogbream

White_Steenbras
18-05-2006, 01:48 PM
No mate me speaka da ENGLISH. Are you a Jarpie or a Dogbream?????

Baie snaaks.

flickflack
18-05-2006, 01:52 PM
Yup , but they are still not up to the Aussie and Kiwi standards of club rugby yet. Maybe next year or have I been saying that for the last few years. Still a good contest to watch.

Cheers Rod

richieboy
18-05-2006, 02:39 PM
Great catch mate. You're continuosly posting consistent catches of top fish. Well done and keep all the picks coming.

Rich ;)

Dogbream
18-05-2006, 03:09 PM
Are you a Jarpie or a Dogbream?????

Baie snaaks.

White Steenbras,
I'm not a Japie mate, I'm a New Zealander living in Australia.

Where are you guys from in South Africa?

On the Rugby side of things....don't think us Kiwis havent forgotten that rivalry against the Springboks. The name Francois Pienaar..............15-12.... a day every kiwi won't forget

By the way a 'dogbream' is another term for a Mangrove Jack ;)

Also, what does 'Baie snaaks' mean?....your only allowed to speak Afrikanns in the lineouts ;D ;D

Dogbream

White_Steenbras
18-05-2006, 03:56 PM
Yeah I agree with Rod there on the rugby front, maybe next year.

I remember that drop kick from Joel Stransky, he used to play rugby at my home school in C.Town. Well Dogbream baie snaaks means very clever, just like the old MJ.

Cheers Mate.

nabs12
18-05-2006, 05:24 PM
Hey
Its great to see so many fellow South Africans on this site!
Thanks flick, i think i'll have to get a few surface hardbodies soon..

jim_bream
18-05-2006, 09:28 PM
Did somebody mention sinking a few cold castles...? ;D

White_Steenbras
18-05-2006, 11:16 PM
I did, but Rod seems to like the Red Heart Rum. I sink some Castles or Windhoek.

flickflack
19-05-2006, 11:02 AM
We have got them both at Mikes Kitchen in Coolangatta, They taste NIIICCCEE after work ;)

Dogbream
19-05-2006, 04:57 PM
Mikes Kitchen! I've been there, it was a Hell of a feed, Top Marks.

Hurricanes match about to start.

jim_bream
19-05-2006, 06:49 PM
HANG ON HANG HANG ONNNN!!! :o
Are we talking about THE Mike's Kitchen from SA, as in red, black and white checkered tableclothes and steaks to die for???? :P
In brisbane you can get Castles at The Liquor Barn next to Good Guys in Lutwyche. Springbok Meats down at the Gold Coast do all the SA faves like boerie, sosaties etc etc There's also a general store in Ferny Hills that sells Castle and Klipdrift (I shudder just typing it), can't remember th name tho....
I reckon a Saffa BBQ is the go before it gets too cold.......

jim_bream
19-05-2006, 06:56 PM
I used to go to boarding school in Cape Town with the Managing Director's son of Namibian Breweries.... as a result can't touch the stuff anymore. :(
(Too many Freebies on a Friday night while the Housemaster was watching TV
he he he he he) ;D
Herschelle Gibbs used to cheat off me in Maths. We both failed.... >:(

gullyroot
19-05-2006, 08:24 PM
Herschelle Gibbs used to cheat off me in Maths. We both failed.... >:(

LOL ;D
poor old herschelle, lucky he's a bloody good batsmen ;D

White_Steenbras
20-05-2006, 12:41 AM
Looks like we might have met in a Rondebosch/Bishops classic, I remember ol Herschelle, played some cricket against him in High School, he could have been a Springbok Flyhalf, nice one Jim.

Hey Rod, those after works drinks do sound good, will probably see you for a steak and beer before a fish, cheers mate.