View Full Version : RICHMOND RIVER

corby1
17-05-2006, 07:16 PM
Took the young fella out fishing this arvo for a quick one on the river.
the young fella is only 9 but loves fishing with plastics but untill today he had never hooked a fish on them.
well did'nt he make up for it today he landed at least 20 fish in the 90 mins we were there best was a 36cm bream and a 48cm lizzard.
i could only manage abt 10 and best was a lizzard at 50 cm.
But the highlight of the session was to see the smile on his dial the whole time we were out there, he had a ball.

White_Steenbras
17-05-2006, 07:28 PM
Great fun for the Kid mate, sure he's loving it, hooked well and truely now.

Top stuff and hope you took some pics.

Cheers WS

Canoedle
17-05-2006, 09:36 PM
Yeah Mick, where's the pics m8? >:(
Sounds like you had a lot of fun, and even your son can catch more than you! :P

Archer
17-05-2006, 10:06 PM
Nice mick tops stuff mate. ;)
Sounds like there were a few around. Be ducking down there as soon as i get a spare few hours. :o

Steve_Monckton
21-05-2006, 07:32 PM
G'day, I took my young bloke out on the Richmond a couple of years back and we fished with double tailed mister twister rubber lures. Decided to troll out of Mobbs bay. Had caught a couple of flathead (smaller size) up to that point, When my son thought he had hooked something big. As an 8 year old he laid it into this big "fish", But I noticed the line was not moving at all. Went back over where it was snagged and pulled on the line but it was solid on the bottom. Got the paddle and tried to dislodge it and felt something hard with the paddle and thought it was a rock. Decided to break it off and gave the line a good pull and it seemed to suck out of the bottom with a lot of weight on the line. My son was watching the line come up out of the water and there was a very large mud crab attached to the other end, my son took one look at it and screamed and would have run off the front of the boat if there had not been so much water around us. Geez it's fun taking kids fishing!!