View Full Version : Busted off yesterday, hooked up today

White_Steenbras
26-05-2006, 08:14 PM
Hi Ozfishers,

Was down the CB bridge yesterday, tide pumping and heaps of baitfish leaping out of the water. Before I even had my first cast saw a big Jew hit mullet 2 feet off the rocks in front of me. I started shaking while trying to rig a plakky up, cast, cast cast, nothing, my eyes were looking in every direction for signs of this big fish I had just seen. About 10 casts later decide to move to my usual spot where I have suddenly noticed some good looking surface action. Forgeting that I have the spin stick with a 8lb bream leader I cast to where the swirls were coming from, 3 seconds and i'm on for another 3, then bang! F*$K, new it would snap and felt like a good fish, now I'm shaking more while looking for some more solid leader, nothing, heaviest is 8lb, so I do a twisted leader with the 8lb, tie it on while constantly in the background I can hear scared fish hitting the surface, leader looks good, cast out. Nothing, a couple more casts and bang a good run for a about 15 seconds, running along rocks quickly is dangerous, thinking here we go, then bang, snapped on the fireline/mono knot..shit! Decided that I had to look for some heavier line on the rocks and I found some about 1m in length 60lb guesstimate. Tied it on and within a couple twitches was on to a nice fish, ran me along the rocks while all knots were holding, heart is pumping so quick, 10 mins later after more runs in the current I had a solid looking Jewie at my feet with the spinstick bucked over and this found leader holding on for dear life until snap, right in front of me it broke and the fish swam free, don't know how I would have got it out the water anyway! These guys on the other side were going ape while I was fiddling around trying to workout where to land it, anyway its a good lesson in being under prepared with my silly light leaders.

So I went back today with the overhead, some big divers and rapalas the 30lb etc and the spinstick as I didn't even have a bream fish in the end yesterday. Well noooooo action with the right gear for about an hour so changed to the bream gear with 20lb leader to be safe, picked up 2 small bream way undersize, changed leader to 8lb and got 5 bream in about as many casts, didn't measure but looked between 22-27cm. Also picked up 2 flattys 36 and 42 which I kept for a small curry, also an E Cod undersize. Well no jewies today but if I pickup some squid tomorrow I will be chucking one out at the CB that night fresh and tasty, the rest I will eat.

Need a warm up Jewie capture before I hit my home beaches in Southe Africa in Jul/Aug, thats the end of my long story.

Cheers Barnesy ;D

nabs12
26-05-2006, 09:08 PM
Hey
Very nice report Barnesy, thats amazing fishing there..
You been doing very well lately, Pity about loosing the Jew rite at your feet aye..
anyway well done, i havent been fishing for ages :'( this just makes me so eager to get out there!

solwota
26-05-2006, 10:09 PM
i'm gonna have to check out this cb bridge it's featuring in alot of posts latley........could it be the secret salmon spot

Fletty
27-05-2006, 10:27 AM
Hey fellas,
Im new to posting on this site but already feel i know most of the people on here as a have read so many of your previous posts, I was just wondering where is this bridge exactly im new to the Goldy from Noosa and am trying to scout down some quality land based fishing spots so any info would be great. What size are the jew you have been tangleing with? what else are you likley to catch at this bridge?
Anyway mates ounds like your not to far off getting some quality jewies (which is everyones dream) so good luck with it and have a good one. Thanks matt

richieboy
27-05-2006, 11:40 AM
Hey Barnsey! Top report mate. Was salivating at the mouth just reading it. Gets me all ramped up for Sunday morning. Lovin' all the posts mate, but you'd better invest in a digital soon so we can see some of these fish in living colour. Take it ezy and keep the reports coming mate.

Rich #;)
PS: You might already have one, but do you ever use it?? ;D ;D

Craigus
27-05-2006, 02:53 PM
Great report Barnsey. That must has been amazing yet frustrating seeing all the action and loosing those solid fish.

The CB bridge seems to be an awesome spot, just keep the great reports coming mate.
Got to agree with Rich there on the digi camera, would be great to see #some pics of your catches one day. ::)

White_Steenbras
27-05-2006, 05:16 PM
All pics are on the mobile, can send you a couple if you like, mms message. Need to buy the connection to upload on computer, my girl has a digi which has boring old squid photo's,.........will be buying digi for S.Afr trip in S.Afr.

Mozza
28-05-2006, 10:58 AM
Barnesy,

There's nothing like scrounging in amongst all the cr@p looking for leader!!

I'm sure we've all been there.

They'll be saying we're in league with all these amazing fishing stories coming in with no pictorial evidence. ;)

Just happened to be logged on to Ausfish at work Friday when one of my non-fishing workmates came past, had a look and walked off saying "Whats that a brag site?" I'm thinking 'they just don't understand' then..... 'well actually, they're right'....

So here's to you Ausfish - you're a great brag site!!!

BTW Barnesy you'd better get a digital before you go o/s.

Mozza

Jack_Hunter
28-05-2006, 06:45 PM
Nice report mate. hopefully there is some sweet action like that when i go there tomorrow morning. What size plastics were you using to hook up on the jew. Cheers Mate.
Mitch

rando
28-05-2006, 08:06 PM
Hats of for innovation.
You may not know it being from Sewth Efrikaa :) But Australia has a tradition of blokes "making do" with what was at hand, Dad used to say there was "nothing he couldnt fix "with a bit of fencing wire and a six inch nail .
Great report , love to see some pics when you can.
rando

White_Steenbras
28-05-2006, 09:53 PM
Hey Richie, good to meet up, I will send you those pics you saw on my phone maybe you could post some for me, sounds like evidence is what the Ozfishers want. Thats what they will get. After you left the rockwall picked up 8 squid Rich, next weekend mate. ps, took photos of squid at home on girls Digi, need my password though so can post them from her computer, can someone from ausfish send me my password please.

Cheers steve

Steve_Monckton
29-05-2006, 12:27 PM
G'day White steenbras, They are good fun on light gear but they go hard and normally break things. There are jewfish in Sth Africa??? I have seen documentaries on the sardine migrations and they show a mulloway equivalent along with big things with sharp teeth swimming after the sardines. I went out off the rocks here on saturday night and donated 2 lures to fish that beat me to the reef, A good heart starter though, Cheers.

T1
31-05-2006, 03:45 PM
Hey Barnesy!

I'll vouch for your awesome fish as i've seen your piccies on your mobile! ;D Can't wait to get out with you again for a chinwag man!!!!

Take Care T

mjc85
31-05-2006, 06:11 PM
Where is the CB bridge ? ;)