View Full Version : Redcliffe Shallows - Squire on SPs from Kayak
chanquetas
23-12-2005, 12:12 AM
Finally got out on the water today, and nice and early before it got too hot. Back to our favourite little reefs off Redcliffe.
Well, we flicked and trolled for 2 hours with nothing, not even a bite, then when the tide started to turn we headed back for the ramp. Trolling a stick bait real slow I had just about given up hope when I had a huge bite, then nothing....I slackened off and let the plastic sink to the bottom, then gave it a quick but light twitch....WHAM....ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzt.
Woohooo! the characteristic head shakes and very small runs gave it away as a feisty squire, which soon found its way into the esky at 42cm.
About 20 minutes later threw an Eco EyeBall next to a little reef that I dont normally bother with and it was immediately smashed by a rampant beast that wasnt too keen about my idea of having it for dinner. He too finally made it into the esky, a little bent but he fit at 49cm, my PB Squire.
Great fun and great fights.
Caught a wee cod a bit later. My missus had something HUUUUGE take her stickbait, and it bit her 12lb leader clean off, probably a shark from the sound of it.
Anyway, we had a great day on the Bay, even though I broke her rod by slamming the car door on it....lucky for me there was another one at Mossops today so I could replace it.
Also there were 2 w@nkers in a little tinnie that would scream up to the reef do a few donuts looking over the side then go away. Not conducive to stealth fishing in a kayak! I gave them a dirty look and they went away :)
Until next time.....
Jake
chanquetas
23-12-2005, 12:12 AM
Heres the nice 49cm Squire.
chanquetas
23-12-2005, 12:14 AM
Small Cod.
chanquetas
23-12-2005, 12:14 AM
The 2 Kayaks.
flickflack
23-12-2005, 01:36 AM
Sounds like a good day out there mate, looks like terrible weather ;)
Lone_Wolf
23-12-2005, 01:44 AM
great report chanquetas, almost felt like i was there with the report and the pics, hmmm "w@nkers in tinnies" ... the silly season is upon us again!
Jay_S
23-12-2005, 01:59 AM
Nice work mate :o :o :o It sounds like you had lots of fun ;D
WELL DONE!!!!!
Cheers Jay 8-)
cuzzamundi
23-12-2005, 03:00 AM
great report mate, and some beaut fish! well done.
cuzza
foggy
23-12-2005, 03:08 AM
Are you fishing the small reefs around garnets? We have caught squire to 70cms in 4m of water just inside the rock. Well done. Might give it a bash tomorrow morning.
rajawolf
23-12-2005, 04:24 PM
Top report Jake.... nice fish should be happy with that catch.
land_based
23-12-2005, 11:18 PM
Great report mate, there great pan size reddies. I hope santa brings me a hobie yak for xmas!
MidgieFood
27-12-2005, 08:06 AM
Could you post a picture of the dirty look you gave the tossers in the tinny that made them go away. I have been trying to perfect one with jet skis to no avail. ;D
nabs12
03-01-2006, 08:45 PM
do u guys know if you can catch any squire from the shore? iam landbased and would love to catch some.
pillyjuice
04-01-2006, 08:19 AM
Could you post a picture of the dirty look you gave the tossers in the tinny that made them go away. I have been trying to perfect one with jet skis to no avail. ;D
LOL
Louis
04-01-2006, 02:00 PM
Well done.
Louis
chanquetas
05-01-2006, 10:57 PM
nabs12, sorry cant help with the shorebased squire, but these were pretty close. Are you any good with a beach rod and an Alvey?
Otherwise get yourself a cheap little kayak mate. It only takes ten minutes to paddle out.
Happy fishin!
adam_ngakiri
01-06-2006, 07:54 PM
Are you a member of AKFF.NET Chanqutas?
Wyoming
01-06-2006, 09:23 PM
Jake,
Don't let Foggy nor Aquarius anywhere near your spot. These two toads will clear a whole area of decent fish in one, single morning, then they will return, just to make sure!!
johnlikes2fish
02-06-2006, 06:24 AM
hi i am thinking of buying a kayak for some fishing mainly creeks and close in as you appear to do i would appreciate a picture or two of yours and any advice on set up etc and brands where was purchased. thanks
Canoedle
02-06-2006, 09:51 AM
try here mate, all the pics and advice you could hope for. ;)
http://www.akff.net/forum/index.php?sid=108fa80d2d7568d2bb403659cfe755c1
johnlikes2fish
02-06-2006, 11:53 AM
wow didnt that muddy the waters. i thought there would be one specialist kayak and a couple you could rig to do the job. so now the search begins I am going to start looking at the viking tempo and then head over to goodtime and see what they have. It took me ages to decide on a new reel god knows how long this is going to take but i guess its better to get the right one first time, thanks for your help any more info or reviews of kayaks would be greatly appreciated especially from big blokes as i weigh 95kg and and 6'1" and comfort is going to be factor as well as speed through the water.
Canoedle
02-06-2006, 08:41 PM
I'm not far off your size at all John and the viking esprit has no dramas with me and all my gear, the tempo is a bigger boat and will easily carry you, probly ya missus/friend/one of the kids with ease. I'm interested to know why you chose the tempo though, are you planning on motorising it?
cuzzamundi
02-06-2006, 11:56 PM
great stuff mate. pity about the w*nkers. what weather - wish i was there!
cuzza
johnlikes2fish
03-06-2006, 06:31 AM
Hi Canoedle well I looked at the Tempo primarily as it is set up for fishing, the motor idea hadnt even occured to me till then but then i thought less paddling now that cant be a bad thing so i had a look at the motor set up they had for $940 and it seemed steep for a fresh water 28lb minn kota set up so i had a look around and found i could get a 40lb rip tide set up for a little less, I then had a look at the ocean kayak prowler 15 could've been the 13 the quality and attention to detail is a lot higher than the Tempo but so is the price and the motor doesnt seem an option on the prowler. So where to now I am having a paddle on the prowler next week but i cant get one on the viking without going to the sunny coast it seems. I am off to Good Times this morning to see what they have and continue the search.
Any thoughts on the motor and the comparitive paddling qualities of these two would be appreciated.
Canoedle
03-06-2006, 01:48 PM
I would recommend asking these questions on akff as there are plenty of blokes who own these kayak and have modified them to their needs, $940 sounds very steep for the motor package, I'm sure you could find something cheaper that than. Also, I reckon you could rig something up to mount a lekky on just about any kayak that will take the weight. Having said that, I wouldnt even consider it for myself. I love the paddling, it's all the exercise I get. Have covered over 8Kms in one session and not even been tired afterwards. Paddling = good trolling speed, some guys reckon they get more fish on the way to their fav spots then actually fishing there. DO SOME MORE READING ON AKFF. <<this is my best advice ever
johnlikes2fish
04-06-2006, 04:57 PM
Wow what a great site AKFF is, I have ditched the motor idea expensive complicated heavy etc as I am fit and have enjoyed rowing in the past I'll go with that. The tempo looks like falling by the wayside as once it is fitted out to the level of the Prowler 15 the cost is almost identical and I think the build quality isnt as good. I will be test paddling the prowler 13 and 15 on tuesday and hope to make a decision shortly, I have joined AKFF and hope to post some of my experiences there. the 13 seems a little more versatile and when I cn post messgaes on AKFF I'll ask some of the [paddlers there thanks to everyone who responded.
Canoedle
06-06-2006, 10:32 PM
No dramas m8, welcome to the darkside 8-)
Dodge41
06-06-2006, 10:53 PM
Canoedle so another one has seen the light on the darkside ;)
johnlikes2fish you are making a smart move with the kayak, I was hooked last September and now have 2 of them .. its addictive
Canoedle
07-06-2006, 10:10 PM
My work here is done 8-)
Dodge41
08-06-2006, 02:50 PM
My work here is done 8-)
Maybe your user name should be 'The Messiah" mate
chanquetas
23-12-2006, 09:13 PM
Foggy, not sure where Garnets is mate. We just look for the reef at low tide and head out there.
But yeah, we are only fishing in a few metres of water.