jollyman
20-06-2006, 10:05 PM
7 of us, most of who work together, made our annual pilgrimage to a sand island last week. We had a pathfinder, a forester and a grand vitara in convoy.
We Brisbane left on Saturday morning in showery conditions. Myself and Steve (chisel) met up with Slider on the way up to collect some sliders. Nice to meet you Lindsay! We ended up at our camp near Ocean Lake, just north of Orchid Beach, in the early afternoon. The tracks up were in great condition and no worries for any of the cars. We got the camp set up in the rain, and it just kept coming. We managed to get some worms that afternoon and wet a line, but didn't manage any fish in wet and windy conditions.
It proceded to piss down until 6am the next morning. Sandy Cape reported 182mm for the 24 hours to 9am Sunday!!! But it pretty much just turned off then. We fished some decent looking water for a couple of just legal whiting in the morning. Weather was pretty still all day. We got stuck into some more worms during the day (there were lots to be had) and that afternoon hit a great gutter full of very good dart. Dart might not be everyone's cup of tea but when there are not tailor around they're hard to go past :-) These ones were good size and a superb fight on light gear. I think we ended up with 20 odd, and they cooked up brilliantly for dinner.
Monday morning was probably the best morning of all... weather wise at least. The swell had dropped right off but there wasn't a scale to be had. During the day the wind really got up. A planned trip up to Sandy Cape came to an end after watching a car get bogged at Ngkala rocks, so we ended up driving most of the island to show the Fraser virgins some sights, which was a lot more driving than we thought it was.
Tuesday morning once again netted nothing. Wind was really starting to get up, and even though we were a bit protected from the SW and S north of Waddy, we still felt the SE. Got stuck into even more worms during the day, with a couple of lads losing their worming virginity. Fished that arvo for an avg haul of legal dart, whiting and bream/tarwhine. Steve caught what we think was a milkfish at maybe 27cm long which was returned.
Wednesday morning again was pretty much fishless. We fished long and hard, but came up empy handed so packed up camp for the journey home. Despite a pretty disappointing trip fishing wise, it was still great fun and heaps better than working! :-)
So fish tally was a heap of dart, a few bream/whiting. NO TAILOR! :-( and our new shiny sliders went untouched, despite much casting. They cast like a dream though, much further than a raider of the same weight.
Sorry about the essay.
Pic: dart
We Brisbane left on Saturday morning in showery conditions. Myself and Steve (chisel) met up with Slider on the way up to collect some sliders. Nice to meet you Lindsay! We ended up at our camp near Ocean Lake, just north of Orchid Beach, in the early afternoon. The tracks up were in great condition and no worries for any of the cars. We got the camp set up in the rain, and it just kept coming. We managed to get some worms that afternoon and wet a line, but didn't manage any fish in wet and windy conditions.
It proceded to piss down until 6am the next morning. Sandy Cape reported 182mm for the 24 hours to 9am Sunday!!! But it pretty much just turned off then. We fished some decent looking water for a couple of just legal whiting in the morning. Weather was pretty still all day. We got stuck into some more worms during the day (there were lots to be had) and that afternoon hit a great gutter full of very good dart. Dart might not be everyone's cup of tea but when there are not tailor around they're hard to go past :-) These ones were good size and a superb fight on light gear. I think we ended up with 20 odd, and they cooked up brilliantly for dinner.
Monday morning was probably the best morning of all... weather wise at least. The swell had dropped right off but there wasn't a scale to be had. During the day the wind really got up. A planned trip up to Sandy Cape came to an end after watching a car get bogged at Ngkala rocks, so we ended up driving most of the island to show the Fraser virgins some sights, which was a lot more driving than we thought it was.
Tuesday morning once again netted nothing. Wind was really starting to get up, and even though we were a bit protected from the SW and S north of Waddy, we still felt the SE. Got stuck into even more worms during the day, with a couple of lads losing their worming virginity. Fished that arvo for an avg haul of legal dart, whiting and bream/tarwhine. Steve caught what we think was a milkfish at maybe 27cm long which was returned.
Wednesday morning again was pretty much fishless. We fished long and hard, but came up empy handed so packed up camp for the journey home. Despite a pretty disappointing trip fishing wise, it was still great fun and heaps better than working! :-)
So fish tally was a heap of dart, a few bream/whiting. NO TAILOR! :-( and our new shiny sliders went untouched, despite much casting. They cast like a dream though, much further than a raider of the same weight.
Sorry about the essay.
Pic: dart