View Full Version : Jacks are still around
keen_as_mustard
22-12-2005, 01:59 PM
Another nice Jack Rod.
I had no luck in the Coomera the other day after speaking to you. Went out with Andrew (gogecko) but we only managed a cod, flattie and trevor. Pity because the conditions were great with no wind and warm weather - but we think the low tide meant the Jacks weren't working the rock walls as hard? Even the trevors weren't hitting the baitfish as hard they have done in the past.
Marty
flickflack
22-12-2005, 05:13 PM
After a good day out wide on Monday I thought I might see if my luck held out for a quick Jack fish after work. It did and I got this one towing a mad mullet. I also dropped one on a softie but conditions were tough with a stiff north easter so we decided to head home. The mossies were even attacking us in the wind man they are everywhere. The one Jack made the tired day at work today worth it.
Cheers Rod
flickflack
22-12-2005, 05:15 PM
a close up
cuzzamundi
22-12-2005, 05:17 PM
gday rod,
bloody fantastic mate! i'll let you know how i go at cuzza's tonight chasing that boy's brother. i feel for you around this time when the restaurant must be bustling. ah well, it's all money i guess. have a good one.
cuzza
Scott15
22-12-2005, 05:41 PM
nice one Rod
flickflack
22-12-2005, 05:42 PM
Thanks mate, yup we were flatout last night and had heaps of catchup today, BUT the jacks were calling :D
DaneCross
22-12-2005, 06:04 PM
Nice fish Rod. Going by your title, 'Jacks are still around' suggests you're expecting them to 'bail' some time soon? How long are they usually in season for?
flickflack
22-12-2005, 06:07 PM
DC
They will be around for a few months still mate . We got them right up till the end of April so there is still lots of time to chase them.
Rod
Jay_S
22-12-2005, 06:12 PM
Nice work mate :o :o :o That is a great jack you caught ;D
WELL DONE!!!!!
Cheers Jay 8-)
Great fish mate. What river did u fish for it?
Kid
chanquetas
22-12-2005, 09:03 PM
Yep, thats a healthy looking Jack alright. You seem to catch them quite regularly Rod. He didnt end up in the "restaurant" did he?
Toppy
22-12-2005, 09:09 PM
NICE RED FISH RODS!
I THOUGHT EMIGRATION STOPPED PUTTING TRACKING DEVICES ON DETAINEES. OH! THAT A TORCH AROUND YOUR NECK! MY MISTAKE.
CHEERS BIG EARS
TOPPY ;D
Franco
23-12-2005, 12:18 AM
Rod you're gettin out on the water far too often these days.
Come up to the GC Emergency Dept and we'll give you a real job with decent hours to keep you off the water you bastard !!
All hail the Jack Queen!! Hee Hee Hee. [smiley=gorgeous.gif] [smiley=gorgeous.gif] [smiley=kiss.gif] [smiley=kiss.gif] [smiley=vrolijk_26.gif] [smiley=vrolijk_26.gif] [smiley=grin.gif] [smiley=grin.gif]
Well done again buddy!
dorado
23-12-2005, 12:29 AM
Real nice Jack there mate. Well done! One day I'll manage to catch & land one of those brutes...one day *sigh*
MagicRik
21-06-2006, 04:47 PM
Thats a nice fish Rod
i might land one one day :-/
john_steward
22-06-2006, 05:36 PM
great jack rod!
Dogbream
22-06-2006, 06:07 PM
this report is from last year........
by the way the jacks are asleep right now....
flickflack
22-06-2006, 09:03 PM
Yup i recon that most of them are. Not sure how it got back to the top. :-?
fishingnottake
23-06-2006, 09:24 AM
just to popular mate everyone wants to relive your catches
gogecko
23-06-2006, 11:16 AM
Gee rik, was it you who bumped this thread? Got me all excited until I read the date by the 10th reply.
BTW, a jack was caught in Currumbin Ck last week. Theres a report here a few threads back.
MagicRik
23-06-2006, 12:57 PM
:-[ errrrr hmmmmmmmmmm yeah ok sorry it might have been me, I just seen it in there never looked at the data sorry :-[
*hides*
Rik
flickflack
23-06-2006, 03:19 PM
Yup , one or two others that I know of as well. Might be cold but they still have to eat ;)
flickflack
23-12-2006, 09:20 AM
Marty
Yeah that was the only hit that I had as well, no bust ups at all the river was pretty quiet. I fished a few spots with poppers and bombers trying to get out of the wind but no joy.
Kid
The Tweed.
Toppy
No comments please otherwise Ile tell your missus you were naughty while she was away and you wont get any. ;) ;)
Bonesy
23-12-2006, 09:43 AM
nice fish :D :D looks like a bit of fun ;D ;D ;D
Bonesy [smiley=thumbsup.gif]