View Full Version : Bay 1st Jul 06 (late)

richieboy
02-07-2006, 01:17 PM
Hey fellas. Well the trip was planned last week and prayers to the weather gods were answered with perfect conditions greeting us at Manly boat ramp.
Got a fairly early start to a spot that my mate wnted to try. Didn't take long for him to land a nice little squire going 45cm.
Picked up a school of livies on the sounder and dropped the jigs. Plenty of yakkas and the odd slimy came aboard before being attatched to a 5/0 and sent swimming back down. Soon after I picked up a little squire myself for the esky. Whacked on anpther livey and down it swam. No lead was used and technique used was to float bait and gradually feed line. Suddenly my rod was ahcked and line started to peel.
Quickly snapped the bail arm over but line kept going. a Quick adjustment of the drag pulled whatever it was a up short slightly giving myself 1/2 a chance to see colour. Slowly gained some line back before a couple more runs and then the inevitable happened....................line went slack...........no weight.........I'd had the hook pulled!! :'(
That basically set the tone for the rest of the morning as we missed a few more and picked up only pickers. My mates managed 2 small, just legal parrots (which were kept) around the ledges off Moreton.
All in all a great day was had. Even though the fish didn't play the game too much gee was that weather good. The beers tasted that much better at Tangalooma. ;)

Rich

richieboy
02-07-2006, 01:18 PM
The weather was great tho. Calm seas all the way and great to be on the water.
Rich :)

dan88
02-07-2006, 01:44 PM
sounds like you had a good day, although a bit unlucky.
good stuff
daniel

Dylan_Rylatt
02-07-2006, 03:55 PM
great report and resonable fish. at least you got in amounsts them... beat being at work looking outside seeing the trees no evan moving

Dylan

White_Steenbras
02-07-2006, 06:38 PM
I reckon it was a giant Squid mate!!!!!! ::)

You've got the Squid fever and they are out for revenge........good to catch up today mate, will have to do a couple SH nights around the lights if you know what i mean.

Cheers Barnesy.

richieboy
02-07-2006, 08:32 PM
I reckon it was a giant Squid mate!!!!!! ::)

You've got the Squid fever and they are out for revenge........good to catch up today mate, will have to do a couple SH nights around the lights if you know what i mean.

Cheers Barnesy.

I know exactly what you mean bro. They gotta start playing the game again. :-/

Dylan: Hard luck mate. I'm feeling for ya buddy. But you gotta earna crust mate. Be in touch. :)

Rich