View Full Version : Baitless Fishing

02-07-2006, 05:38 PM
Had a invite from Squidgie Palmer to come down to Evans and fish his backyard.
Arrived very early Sat Morning and were on the water by 8.30.
Yes no a morcel of bait on board which was a first for me, he also broke out the Squidgies, 6-8lb braid and reels you could fit in your pocket ;D
Withdrawal signs started as we hit the water, what the hell am i doing.
Headed u p the river to all his favourite tree trunks, holes, drop offs and other spot x's.
In the first hour i must have lost 6-8 jigs, either on the banks or stuck on tree trunks, or other underwater hidden rig destroyers.
But slowly slowly started to sort of master the art of flicking jigs on rods the winds could have blown away.
Gordon scores the first for the day, a nice lizard one of our target species along with bream.
Then i finally scored a nice bream, my first on plastics, shite all that tackle lost to get my first bream.
We work the river south hitting and flicking at every object that looked fishey and ended up at the river mouth by the arvo.
Learnt all the tricks of the trade from Gary, which i believe he had learnt from Bushy and Starlo.
So couldnt have been taught by anyone with more experience.
Even learnt the superglue trick on the jigs :-?
Great day and some nice fish, and again a first for me all released, shite whats happening.
Finish the night off at the local pub, and back home this morning.
Great trip mate.
Some pics before of plastics caught fish.
regards.
PS heard it straight from the horses mouth, Squidgies and Starlo's that Gulps are really baits ???
So that will certainly stir the pot. ;D

02-07-2006, 05:40 PM
Squidgie with a nice bream

02-07-2006, 05:47 PM
Gordon with a beaut lizard a the secret ear piece ;D

02-07-2006, 06:44 PM
OMG..webby is heading towards the dark side!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Darryl
02-07-2006, 07:19 PM
Dunno what's goin on with Brian, first he wants a grey rinse Meet and Greet, and now he fishes with rubbas only.
Might be time to take the old horse out into the paddock and shoot it. ;D ;D

02-07-2006, 08:15 PM
Webby your the man,

we all know that you are going to fish the river to mud in the plastics section and were only down their refining your skills.

Plastics and Jackalls we know know will be replacing the 4/0's.

So when are you going to do a story on making up your own jig heads???? lol

Steven

richieboy
02-07-2006, 08:43 PM
Top lizard pics mate. Can never get enough of em.

Rich

matthill80
02-07-2006, 09:04 PM
lmao brian u are slowly turning.
should have whipped out the jackalls and showed em how it is done mate ;)

cheers matt

02-07-2006, 09:34 PM
Well done Brian

I think you got them all bluffed into thinking that you might change over to the dark side, but having read many years of B&B articles, I think there will never be the day you will totally stop using baits, you know too many secrets. An occasional SP trip might happen because of the convenience, and for the challenge but hey! Rack another one up for experience. :D Next it will be fly, then it will be deep water jigs (if you haven't already), it's all good fun!!

allniter
02-07-2006, 10:07 PM
geez you get around,
one weekend fishing on the dams,
the next weekend - near moreton catching snapper and cobia on livies,
the next weekend down in cockroach territory ;D
catching bream and lizards on frangers
next you'll wanna drop a hook in my fish tanks for something different again ;D

mono
03-07-2006, 01:59 PM
Webby, Webby, Webby. What the hell are you doin' mate.
I think you've had one too many rumbo's!!
From Sailfish to softies?
Come on, wake up mate!!

03-07-2006, 06:37 PM
Never a convert, too old to change, but a few trips hear and their are al l learning curvers, and great experience.
Mono, I dropped into the rig on the way down hoping to catch ya, but no no no, boat high and dry and you home in bed i supposed, wasnt game to knock on the door. ;D
Scalem mate its all good experience and you never stop learning no matter what way you attack the sea, have never said i didnt like them just havent the patience or something.
Matt, i did give the jackals a try, but lost one in the first few casts, too many hidden snags, was trying to show Squidgie how they work, but alas was a big flop, wasnt game to thrown any more.
Darren that how you become Old and Wise mate ;D
Sorry fellas The River to Mud is bait only in my boat, although Glen from springwood might have different thoughts ;D

longtail
03-07-2006, 07:16 PM
good to see you can catch fish on bait or rubbers brian :)

don't worry about the 'river-mud' mate , bait only in my boat too ;)

Jason

Commodore
03-07-2006, 09:13 PM
what's next Brian, coke with out rum? ::)
well done ;)
Chong

rakinray
04-07-2006, 08:43 PM
SHAME SHAME SHAME ! ;D

CHEERS RAY ! :)

04-07-2006, 09:25 PM
Good read, Webby. Well done! ;)

PS heard it straight from the horses mouth, Squidgies and Starlo's that Gulps are really baits ??? So that will certainly stir the pot.

That is interesting. I got a handful of free Gulps attached to a magazine recently and tied one on and played with it for about three minutes until I got bored with it. However, I left it on the little rod sitting doing nothing for the next couple of weeks and the next time that I noticed it, it was half the size that it originally was. :-?

There sure must be a lot of stuff to evaporate out of those Gulps. :-?

Given that there are so many additives in spray bottles etc that people put on plastics, they are starting to sound like bait anyway. :-/

Not sure about the pheromone sprays, though. I often wonder if the fish are not hooked in the mouth or perhaps are hooked at the other end of their body. ;D

Of course, if they are hooked in the mouth, it kinda reminds me of the story about the duck that goes into his regular chemist to buy a condom. The chemist says "That will be $1, do you want me to put it on your bill?" To which the duck takes umbrage and replies, "Just what sort of a duck do you think I am?!!!"

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D