View Full Version : Mud Island Sunday Night2 July

03-07-2006, 03:25 AM
I remember a mate once telling me how frightening his first sexual experience was. After all, it was very dark that night and he was all alone and... ;D ;D ;D

Now, that could never have been said about me. ;) As long as I can remember I have loved the dark. Give me the dead of night any time instead of the glare of the middle of the day. When I was a young technician, I always volunteered for the night shift; and when I drove a taxi for three years I always much preferred the night shifts - quieter, less traffic, cooler, longer fares, etc; when I was a student, I loved nothing better than studying well into the night when no one else was around to distract me. When I was a kid, I remember reading an adventure story where one of the characters said that in the dark most people want to stand under a light where they feel safe but in fact are sitting targets for the bad guys - much better to be in the dark, unseen and safe. :)

And so it is with fishing, I love night fishing. :) :) :) Sure, it can be disorientating at times as you stumble around twisting lines and getting hooks caught in all manner of things on the boat and sitting on your bait but I have learnt to minimise the clumsiness – I have learnt to leave the 10 1/2 foot Live Fibre bream rod at home and just use 7 1/2 ft gear; even the 8ft Live fibre stays at home these nights in preference for a 7 1/2 ft $35 rod that is just that little bit more manageable in the confines of my runabout. And I think that after a succession of various onboard lighting options on the boat, I have that settled also, choosing to use my Catseyes cap mounted LED torch in preference to the array of mini-fluoros, Everyready Dolphins etc that I have played with in the past. Sure I always take my 1 million candle power spottie but have not used it for so long that when I did plug it is earlier tonight to help me find a crab pot, I found that the plug had rusted solid. :-/

… and if you ever doubted me just look at the time that I am writing this. ;D

Fishing on the Bay at night on your own is one of life’s most surreal experiences. :) It has driven me to write poetry about he experience several times with titles like “A Night at the ‘Pin” , “The Road to the Pin”, “The Beacons of Manly” etc. Every thing about night time on the water oozes captivating magic to me – seeing the Milky Way, the reflection of the moon over the water, seeing shooting stars, the stillness, the unknown sounds, the smells, the coolness – even the beacons of the Manly leads…

Their strobic flash makes no sound at all
Each side in unison at each few seconds’ recall
In hypnotic harmony my thoughts they do haul
To a perpetual, pulsating, primeval call.
:)

So it was with my usual boyish excitement, that I set out yesterday afternoon to fish the evening and into the night at Mud Island… 8-)

I arrived in my spot and anchored at about a quarter to five and as is my habit, set out all of my knives, tackle and tools in their places around the boat just where I know they will be when I put my hand down in the dark of the night to get them. I then followed my usual practice of telephoning my wife to tell her that I was anchored in place for the night. She understands my love of the solitude of a night on the water but nonetheless worries about me (so my daughter tells me) so I always call her to know that I am settled for the night. She knows that coming back with the Port of Brisbane lights illuminating the Bay is a much safer trip than going out into the darkness with the lights behind me.

Whilst on the call, I saw a bit of surface activity nearby that that excited me. :) :) Might be tailor and on this night I was hoping to catch some tailor. I like a nice fresh feed of tailor – so juicy and tasty. “Gotta go, Love. Have to cast out a Pillie. Call you later when I am back on dry land.” :) :) :)

And so at 4.50pm I cast out my first unweighted pillie on a gang of three 4/0 Kirby hooks on my new Shimano 6500B baitrunner on 30lb Platypus Super 100 line with a 40Lb leader. Bang! A small tailor. Great! He is legal but a bit small but I shall use him for bait. :)

Next cast. Bang! A nice squire. :) Then disappointment! :( It was all over in 25 minutes. :( I had bagged out on Squire even before the sun had sunk out of view. Bugger! There goes my lovely night fishing outing. :( :( :(

Cast out a few more times hoping to catch more tailor but almost every time I caught more squire which I had to release since I had put all of my catch into iced saltwater and their swimming days were over. Caught just one more tailor good enough to be called “breakfast” before I concluded that I had better give it away and go and pick up my crab pots and go home. Best fish was 58cm – not giants but a good feed nonetheless. :) :) :)

Some nights, you can fish hard all night to catch anything and other nights, it is all over Red Rover before you even get settled…… and I was so not settled that I was still using old pillies that had been in the boat’s esky since my daytime exploratory trip around the Bay on Friday. :-? I had not even opened the fresh bait that I had just bought on the way to the ramp that afternoon. Some of those pillies were looking distinctly tired also – so much so that I had even missed a few hits when the fish just pulled the tired old pillies off the hooks cleanly. :o I took two rods - one was to carry the unweighted pillies out the back on the baitrunner to catch tailor, the other was to do some bottom bashing for snapper. Did not even get to cast out the bottom bash outfit, Did not have time.

Sigh! Ah well, maybe I can catch a nice feed of tailor next time… ;D ;D ;D

Adamy
03-07-2006, 05:30 AM
nice post...... and congrats on the bagout!! eastside of mud?? or is that a secret?

03-07-2006, 05:35 AM
nice post...... and congrats on the bagout!! eastside of mud?? or is that a secret?

Thanks. East but when I was picking up my crabpots on the south-western side of Mud, there were some big fish shapes down there on the sounder. I was tempted to cast out but decided that I had caught my share. :)

However, the time of day is more important than the location.

mju_75
03-07-2006, 06:56 AM
Hello Everyone,

was there mid arvo yesterday on the the eastern side,conditions well pretty good only got one fish but for he was a superb a PARROT about 1.5-2.0 kilos:)

Slient
03-07-2006, 07:45 AM
Nice pink bream and a chopper, you should be pleasure rather than a nothing to bring home...

Happy fishing
Silent

richieboy
03-07-2006, 08:58 AM
Great read mate. Really feeling your passion buddy. Keep the reports coming. Well done.

Rich ;)

03-07-2006, 12:51 PM
Great catch and good read charlie.

Keep up the good work

Steven

shayned
03-07-2006, 01:43 PM
Are you sure your not sick of your holiday yet?? Some nice lyrical waxing my friend and you're right the peace and quiet of night time fishing is a joy. Coming home with a nice feed is even better.

Murks
03-07-2006, 05:13 PM
Thanks for a great read....
As a total virgin to Ausfish...just having registered today and I love reading the stories.
My experience has all been up in Townsville and now I am back in Brissy I have bought a boat and have , it got to be said, had a lot of time on the water but not a lot of fish in my boat...Frustrating to say the least...I am learning fast that the fishing here in SEQ is far apart from the in FNQ.
I really have enjoyed my first few reads here and look forward to finding a few "secret" spots of my own to post and advise anout...I can tell ya when I find one , everyone will know.
I love fishing, my biggest problem , hard to believ is finding people to go fishing with.
Anyway, thanks again
Murks

chief
03-07-2006, 05:43 PM
Great post charlie, your a dam keen fisherman and a very humble man, Its always a pleasure to read your reports. Thanks mate.

allniter
03-07-2006, 06:02 PM
Ahhh yes.... as i saw another report by charleville,
before opening the post,
i got up,
made a cuppa,
and returned to my chair and made myself as comfy as possible -
because i knew this would be quite a long { but worthwhile read } ;D
good onya Brucey - good catch mate.
ever thought about writing an article for B & B mate ?
Webby, line him up for half a page will ya ? ;)
good to see you didn't raid any of my secret spots from the other night
::) ::) ::) ;D ;D ;D :P :P :P
regards darren

03-07-2006, 06:54 PM
bruce old mate i think menopause has set in, your turning into a right royal commedian and fisho, mate all those trips and that learning curve has finally started to pay dividends.
Your spot on about knowing when to fish, not just turning up and throwing some dammn bait over and hoping some dumb fish will take it, it knowing when to throw that bait over.
Yep cannot beat those brilliant nights on the water, i somethime want to stay out their forever and not come home.
Maybe if i drink too much rum one night it ma y happen ;D, then Darren would be happy ;D
Mate with your expertise now you have to come to the River to Mud, we may need some experience to show whats the best.

longtail
03-07-2006, 07:09 PM
Bloody nice catch there Bruce ;)

i've never caught a legal fish at mud , perhaps i might need to follow you around come the 'river-mud' ;) :-X

Jason

Great_White
03-07-2006, 08:05 PM
What a lovely catch, well done ;)

I got up at 5.00 am with Janine and was fishing around Mud By 6.30 am.

Unfortunately no success this time for our first trip on the bay fishing squire, but your post gives us hope of getting onto a couple of keepers in the weeks to come.

May need to get up enough experience around Mud during the day then try for a night assault..

Thanks for giving me renewed hope once again.

P.S any tips are welcomed.

Thanks Peter.

straddie
03-07-2006, 08:15 PM
Heya Charleville

I'm nocturnal and love the night as well, the half light periods and into the dark just wake you up and the ears start listening hard and looking for little tell tale glints really get the senses working.

I have to agree with what the others have said great read all of your reports whether you catch none or bag out. Whenever I see one of yours or Cheechs posts I like to save it for last because it leaves me with a big grin on my face.

rando
03-07-2006, 08:22 PM
Bruce I am reminded by your wonderful story of another.
I was reading an account of an around the world yachtsman who described being becalmed on a totally glassy sea at the new moon with the milky way being reflected on the surface of the water. He described the sensation as being adrift in outerspace. No horizon and starlight in three dimensions. Wow,, there, is an eerie image.

03-07-2006, 10:49 PM
Yep cannot beat those brilliant nights on the water, i somethime want to stay out their forever and not come home.

I often tell my wife the same thing when I come home. Some of those nights, when the winds drop and the seas flatten to plate glass are fantastic! Add the smells drifting across the sea - wood shavings, barbecues, wood fires - and the experience is obscenely beautiful.

Mate with your expertise now you have to come to the River to Mud, we may need some experience to show whats the best.

I shall think about it. Have never seen myself good enough to be in any sort of comp, even one as benign as this one.

Are you sure your not sick of your holiday yet??

Do I sound like it? ;D ;D ;D Hardly! ;D ;D ;D Just think of it, the only routine in my life is that the rubbish bin has to be put out on Tuesday nights. ;D ;D ;D

Thanks for giving me renewed hope once again.

P.S any tips are welcomed.

I listen intently to the advice of the real masters - Webby, Nugget, etc and then spend a lot of time on the water trying to emulate their experience. I read every word about fishing that I can. At the end of the day though, I am a boofhead beginner and am improving simply because I am spending a lot of time on the water and noticing when and where to be, based on the fishless trips as well as the bountiful ones. It is hard to beat Mud at sunset and Green at sunrise in my experience.

Thanks to everyone for your kind words. There a lot of people on this site whose talents and personal values are manifested in their posts and who I admire immensely. Getting some nice feedback on my style of writing posts where I take a bit more space than simply a sentence saying that I went to Mud and bagged out in 25 minutes is greatly appreciated. :)

aquarius
03-07-2006, 11:14 PM
Nice read Charlie,
Mate if you want to keep from bagging out in 25 minutes you will have to put in a 60 litre saltwater tank and keep throwing the small ones as they get bigger ;D.
Cheers Brent

04-07-2006, 08:02 AM
Nice read Charlie,
Mate if you want to keep from bagging out in 25 minutes you will have to put in a 60 litre saltwater tank and keep throwing the small ones as they get bigger ;D.
Cheers Brent

That's what I did Yesterday!! Caught a very colourful Wrasse and put him in my salwater 60 Litre tank! ( To help him overcome his injuries from a hook down his mouth, of course!!)

04-07-2006, 08:10 AM
Hey Bruce!!

I thought of a perfect solution that will help you tremendously next time you go out.

THE BENEFITS
**Will double your catch.
**Will lessen the expense of going.
**Less preparation involved in getting ready for the trip.
**Reduces frustration of having to go home early

The final point - you get to share with someone who appreciates the stars and perfumes wafting across the water... TAKE ME!!

I promise not to take a rod and reel with me. I will only be there to double your bag limit ;)

I think that's a good deal, I'm sure that's an attractive offer :o LOL

04-07-2006, 08:12 AM
Mate if you want to keep from bagging out in 25 minutes you will have to put in a 60 litre saltwater tank and keep throwing the small ones as they get bigger

That's what I did Yesterday!! Caught a very colourful Wrasse and put him in my salwater 60 Litre tank!

Hmmm. I have an 88 litre esky but even f I just filled that with water, it still does not look big enough to support a bunch of squire swimming about. Would they just sit there? How do they turn around? :-/

You did prompt me to think about turning some of that spare roll of chook wire in the shed into a keeper cage to hang over the side of the boat though. Nah - too clumsy an arrangement, I reckon. :-/

04-07-2006, 08:17 AM
I thought of a perfect solution that will help you tremendously next time you go out.

Hehehe! ;D Brian - believe me the secret is the time of day - sunset is the way to go - although Solwata did well at sunrise in his report.

...and, oh yes, I use bait.

I know that those plastic things do work but I have not developed my nervous twitch well enough to be competent with them yet. Maybe that is it - perhaps all of the good SP experts suffer nervous twitches??? ;D ;D ;D

noodlemantra
04-07-2006, 09:37 AM
Nice read mate.

i love the nights too, i bank it, light a fire, drink some piss and fish all night long. gotta watch for the crocs though.

T1
04-07-2006, 11:54 AM
Again Mr Charleville! This is becoming an all too familiar habit - albeit one to be very proud of though! I second SCALEM - if you're ever in need of company (and i love a chinwag) or just require a humble deckie/netter, then i am a more than willing participant!

I too love the night stuff but have the utmost respect for the bay/ocean and hence don't traverse the waters alone past the river... If you're ever interested, PM me and i'll forward my details - oh, and i live at Manly!

Take Care T

Tinn
04-07-2006, 01:40 PM
Good work charleville seems like you are in trouble :-/ if you are bagging out in 25min best fix for that is to take 2 people that can't fish so then you can catch 15 squire ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

I know of one person who can't catch a fish at the moment ::) ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

06-07-2006, 04:14 PM
I'm dreading the day that your long service leave is over, Bruce mate. You truly and exactly conjure up the beauty of a fishing exped.....I'm beginning to wonder if I nead to turn out at all when I can simply just sit back and share your experiences via your writings.

Thanks for sharing mate

kev..........who just loves the night.