View Full Version : More Bream from Tiger Mullet !!

craigie
10-07-2006, 08:19 PM
Pulled a new crew together for an overnighter to Tiger Mullet Channel down the Pin.

With "The ZipZip Man" and "The Big Ezzy" onboard, it was fun and games and plenty of Black Rats for this session on the humble Bream.

Stocked with an esky full of bait, including Mullet Fillets, Multiple bags of Mullet Gut, Pillies and the ever reliable (and versatile) Chicken Breast we were set for the long haul.

The fish were very finicky and required plenty of paitence before they would take the hook. Gut hooked fish were very rare which is unusual this time of year ??
Pulled a dozen keepers out of the shallows prior to high tide. We then moved to a deep edge running close to the mud Bank where we stayed anchored for the rest of the trip.

At no stage did the fish go ballistic, it was more a steady accumilation to stitch up a good feed for all concerned.
Around 2.00am when things had chilled offf to freezing point and my crew had curled up for the night, the fish started to feed a bit more freely. I had a line out during my cat naps and only checked it every half hour or so. Each time I wound in it would come up solid with a respectable Bream, well and truely gut hooked !! This continued through till 6.00am and Daybreak.

Best fish for the night came during these wee hours and measured 34cm (pic to come)

Bring back warmer Summer nights !!

Craigie.

craigie
10-07-2006, 08:21 PM
"The Zip Zip Man" and "The Big Ezzy" proudly displaying the nights catch while performing the Bundy salute !!

craigie
10-07-2006, 08:25 PM
Brad rugged up to the hilt in multiple layers of everything. Note the Collingwood socks covering his hands.
The raincoat gives the whole get-up a real seafaring feel to it !!

Twas a very cold night indeed !!!

craigie
10-07-2006, 08:27 PM
34cm Catch of the night coming over the gunnel around 2.30 am, "Turkey Slapping" the outboard on the way past !!

Murks
10-07-2006, 09:03 PM
Gday Craigie,
Great catch ya got there.
I was out there too but my deckie was a softie and had to be home before 7pm >:(.. looks as though I missed out on a great albeit cold night [smiley=bigcry.gif]...well done boys.
Murks

10-07-2006, 09:27 PM
well done craigie..I had trouble even finding somewhere to anchor in Tiger Mullet...did not catch anything but I sure as hell was not cold....gotta love the doona on a winters night.

logan_whiting
10-07-2006, 09:33 PM
nice bream from tiger mullet there i tryed there i the daylight hours last weekend and could only pick up little flaties good feed

Braddles
10-07-2006, 10:42 PM
Lovely catch there fellas - I love the all nighters, but my friends are all too soft.

Did you find a bait that you mentioned performed considerably better than any of the others listed - or was it all pretty much equal?

Thanks for any tips / help.

Brad :-)

Spectre
11-07-2006, 11:57 AM
Craigie & Zip Zap Man & Big Ezzy

A couple of new nick names there Craigie....sounds like a good story there somewhere... :o ;D ;D ;D

Well done lads......a well desrved feed of breambos given the chilly conditions.

Hope the 'Bundy Bear' helped & did the trick to ward off the chills ......!!!!

Phil

alvey_fisher_v17c
11-07-2006, 01:03 PM
That`s a good haul of bream there mate. It`s good to see the pin`s starting to fire well. good on ya mate. :)

JB
11-07-2006, 04:09 PM
Another good catch there Cragie, LMAO at the turkey slappin...

Smailesy
11-07-2006, 04:23 PM
good stuff

Zulu_1
11-07-2006, 06:25 PM
Top work there are bream everywhere :D ;)

Eddy1
11-07-2006, 06:43 PM
Craige....Well done mate....reminds me of the good old days, back in the 70's when you could go to the pin any time in winter and catch a bundle ;D ;D.
I took Helen down there a few weeks ago and only caught males to 28cm...most were undersized but there was plenty of em...mullet flesh did the job then.
Have you always had the 115 Merc? all the best....ed

Commodore
11-07-2006, 08:13 PM
Nice haul Craigie and crew :), good to have those black rats on the cool nights ;)
Chong

11-07-2006, 08:34 PM
Craigie, you sure seem to have TM sussed. Is an annual event reading your bream trips from the pin.

11-07-2006, 09:32 PM
That's not cold you big sook - there's snow half way down Mt Wellington today - AND IT'S THICK !!!!!

What are you a man or a mouse !!

richieboy
11-07-2006, 09:38 PM
Top fish mate. Nice pic of the turkey slapper. Stonker!

Rich