View Full Version : Pine Flatties On The Move
Creek_Vermin
30-06-2006, 04:59 PM
Ducked down to the pine to chase a few with my bro this arv. On arrival the tide was a bit high to chase some breambos at my fave spot so we went after a couple of brown fish. It didnt take too long for the first to hit the deck which also proved to be the biggest fish of the day. Over the next hour we only landed half a dozen but the quality made up for the numbers. All of the fish hit our plastics softly but took off like speed freaks once they felt the hook dig in. You've gotta love winter lizards. In a couple of weeks the size and numbers should be in full swing. Can't wait! Cheers....
chief
30-06-2006, 05:25 PM
mate , that picture tells the story great afternoon on the water with a few good fish and the one your holding there looks fantastic. You captured the moment with the rest of the world passing by. Good on ya
Canoedle
30-06-2006, 05:35 PM
Nice flattie m8, what rubber you got on there?
land_based
30-06-2006, 05:51 PM
Great lizard CV, not a bad land-based spot in the background either ;)
robersl
30-06-2006, 05:54 PM
well done
Craigus
30-06-2006, 05:59 PM
Great flatty mate.
Looks like you could not have asked for better weather too.
Creek_Vermin
30-06-2006, 06:07 PM
Canoedle
The plastic is a bargain bin special mate. Works a treat though
Nice spotting rob. It's a top spot land based.
Craigus
Yeah mate catching fish while the wind gusts to 5 kts is a real pain in the arse.
john_steward
30-06-2006, 06:10 PM
great fish and great pic makes you want to be out on the water :)
Zulu_1
30-06-2006, 06:42 PM
Top fish mate ;D
dan88
30-06-2006, 08:02 PM
hey mate top effort. did you get my pm? well if you didnt i was basically wondering how to get to that spot or thereabouts land based. Would someone be kind enough to let me no because i am treking up that way tomorrow avy??
daniel
Jack_Hunter
30-06-2006, 10:32 PM
Nice photo mate. Lizards are a great fish to catch, despite them being very ugly.
candogu
01-07-2006, 12:16 AM
hey mate top effort. did you get my pm? well if you didnt i was basically wondering how to get to that spot or thereabouts land based. Would someone be kind enough to let me no because i am treking up that way tomorrow avy??
daniel
Go over the pine river on the highway (heading north),, turn off at the next exit,, left at T (Dollyrocks road) go just past the servo turn left and then the first left again and thet should get you there if they haven't close that road off.. Or have a look in the ubd at Murrumba Downs... hope this is some help too you ;)
MidgieFood
02-07-2006, 07:49 AM
Gotta love winter.
You can fish spots like that without dinguses in ski boats turning the water to surf.
Nice fish, might have to get down there my self this arvy I think.
cuzzamundi
03-07-2006, 01:15 AM
great session mate. awesome river that girl. great spot where you took the photo too! some great cod there in may this year.
cuzzza
shayned
04-07-2006, 10:36 AM
Last nights effort from the pine and finally on soft plastics as well. Six casts in total for two fish. Stuck the report on my sp winge.
04-07-2006, 11:15 AM
Wow! Great lizards! :)
slyman
08-07-2006, 11:17 AM
yeah you can still get to the river from there, you can drive to within 75-100 meteres of the river then its a short walk through a park to the bank. I was there on thursday before work, but didn't get anything. I was hoping for something like creek vermins catch! ah well.
dan88
08-07-2006, 11:54 AM
ahh, dont worry bout it slyman, ive bin there 3 times and the first i didnt get a touch but the second two have been productive. Who is going down that way the sarfternoon?? I'll be there anyway probably about 2.30 onwards and im a youngish looking bloke if you want to say gday.
daniel
Creek_Vermin
08-07-2006, 12:26 PM
Weathers tops for it today dan. Went down y day arv but only got a couple. One fish went 60 which is nice but overall it was very quiet. That big run in doesn't seem as productive as the smaller tides. Good luck mate. Off to Hayes tomorrow. Will post a report when I finish. Cheers
slyman
10-07-2006, 05:38 PM
Hey dan sorry i missed your post, been a little busy over the last week. I completely mistimed my trip there, the water level was pretty low, an old car was nearly completely exposed down there, but i thought with all those trees fallen over that would provide heaps of structure for the fish, but alas!! I lost two lures that day, my little honeypot prawnstar and one of my Storm twitching nippers. Toadies made mince meat of some of my plastics too ;D Might go back there on thursday morning before I start work at midday.
shayned
10-07-2006, 05:51 PM
Where is the car? I've never seen a bloody car there :o :o, Ive got to start remembering to put these 8-) on. Seriously, up or down stream from the 3 big trees lying parrallel to the bank.?
slyman
10-07-2006, 06:13 PM
Ok, if you drive down the street that goes to the left off the roundabout at the beginning of the estate, drive all the way to the end and walk down thru acacia park i think it is, down to the little gravelly breach, the car I saw was within 100 meters downstream of this. It must have been there for ages because I was wondering how it got there myself. The river bank is lined with some very large trees, the only paths are walking tracks, and it looks like its been pushed down the bank because its facing out into the river, perpendicular to and only maybe 5 meters out from the bank. I didn't think that it could have been washed down there. In relation to the big fallen trees, I couldn't say where, sorry shayned.
dan88
10-07-2006, 06:24 PM
yer i have seen it...are you sure its a car? i cant really tell what it is. Shayned from where i saw you that time walk about 100m as slyman said and it is there. Almost fully submerged at high tide tho you can't see it from the gravel area.
Cheers daniel
slyman
10-07-2006, 06:32 PM
Aye, when I saw it, it was nearly all exposed, very beaten and rusted but the wheel rims and gearbox lying beside it made it obvious what it was. I wonder if anyone has made contact with boat or prop?
Creek_Vermin
11-07-2006, 05:29 AM
Made plenty of contact on good bream and flatties around it. Also a couple of small cod. None legal yet. Still waiting for the red man to make an appearance though
shayned
11-07-2006, 12:03 PM
Dan88 check your pm's.
You guys give me the $hit$.... Fair dinkum.. I have tried Flick baits, fresh bait, a massive variety of good quality plastics, and you guys chuck in a "Bargain basement" rubber and come up with a horse...
I think I'll just take up knitting :(
Gigantor
12-07-2006, 01:48 PM
Went out around midday on Saturday and walked the sand banks at "Sandersons" down near the old Hornibrook Bridge and flicked SP's for about 1.5 hours. Had the last of the run-out tide. Was using a 6-inch paddle tail shad (pink back and glitter belly) on my baitcaster + 6 foot graphite rod. Mainly chasing the lizards. First catch was a 62cm lizard on about the 10th cast 100m meters east of the red marker. Second catch was a slightly smaller 50cm lizard about 300 metres west of the red channel marker. Both fish were solid condition and were released.
Called it quits when the tide went slack. Attached is a pic of the Sandersons area. The Sanderson family used to have a kiosk near Brighton Park car park - hence the name.
Will be heading out in the kayak on Saturday morning down Deep Water Bend way with a mate to see if we can entice some larger lizards in the deeper drop-offs with SP's. If any other kayak fishos are interested in joining us, drop me a PM.
Giagntor