View Full Version : Restock the freezer
richieboy
14-07-2006, 10:38 PM
Hey fellas. Gotta get my priorities straight again. So after chasing the lizards for the past two weeks the Mrs was screaming for Calamari.
"OK hun!" I says.
Knocked off work and headed down my local, managing to nab 5 before the 20 knot north easterlies really kicked in. Not bad an arvo although once again very hard to locate the schools and keep the jig in the zone.
Still, I saw a few sitting down deep and even managed to tempt a 30cm stonker into sucking on my jig.
At least the Mrs is happy. Hot tip fellas, "Always aim to please!"
Pics attatched. Lucky ;)
30cm tiger squid
richieboy
14-07-2006, 10:40 PM
Another of the average ones caught. Oh, I actually got inked by one of the little suckers this time. Talk about bad luck! Barnsey, I'll need to take a few more tips from ya........ ;D ;D
cobiaman
14-07-2006, 11:15 PM
well done mate :)
Dirty
15-07-2006, 12:24 AM
Hey there Rich...
I don't eat fish, I wish I had someone to show me how to catch these guys because your spot on with the whole.....calamari and chips...
Anyway solid effort...nice looking specimens.
happy chewing.
g.
White_Steenbras
15-07-2006, 02:15 AM
Thats why I wear Camo pants, squid ink is only good for Tattoo's and Camo gear, you Airforce boys should be able to get your hands on some of those.
Will see you Sunday for a Sesh if you are keen.
Cheers Barnesy
Slient
15-07-2006, 08:55 AM
That's decent Calamari... :)
Well done and hopes your mate will give you a good tip... ;)
Happy fishing
Silent
BenDover
15-07-2006, 11:26 AM
Thats awsome... Ive never seen a tiger squid before, never even knew they existed. Did you get them all during the day?
Smailesy
15-07-2006, 12:18 PM
tasty
richieboy
15-07-2006, 01:11 PM
Hey BenDover. Yeh I get them all during the day but have landed one or two at night.
My main aim for yesterday was to try and get a pic of a nice squid school so all folks could have a look at what to look for when searching for em off the rocks. However, the winds and overcast day made spotting em hard and the colouration in the water was not much help either. I'll try for a pic another day. ;)
Barnsey: yes my freind, I do have the Camo's (standard issue). However, this is work attire and I don't think my superiors would take too kindly if I came to work all Camo'd up in black. ;D ;D
I may have a couple of old pairs lying around tho. :-? Check your PM's bro.
Rich
RICH & BARNESY, count me in for a Sunday sesh boys! Mrs has stopped work to have bub so i need to keep her occupied with cooking (so she stops annoying me ;D ;D)... Funny part is that i get to cook when it comes to most seafood!!
SMS me guys with a time...
Take Care T
richieboy
15-07-2006, 07:55 PM
RICH & BARNESY, count me in for a Sunday sesh boys! Mrs has stopped work to have bub so i need to keep her occupied with cooking (so she stops annoying me ;D ;D)... Funny part is that i get to cook when it comes to most seafood!!
SMS me guys with a time...
Take Care T
Will do T! I just hope this weather is OK???? :-/ :-/. I guess the ball is in Barnsey's court. Barnsey, who's running this show. Anticipating an sms of some description soon champ.
PS: Yes, we'll bring the digi too.. ;D ;D
Rich
Craigus
15-07-2006, 10:19 PM
Great tasty catch there Rich.
Awesome looking squid! 8-)
You also seem to get a few every time you go out. keep up the good work and keep the reports coming.