13-07-2006, 05:43 PM
hey guys, caught this fella near isle of capri bridge from my pontoon
YOU HAVE A PONTOON - YOU LUCKY PR#@K
NICE BREAMBO BY THE WAY
CHEERS
IBBO
markpierce
13-07-2006, 09:19 PM
Nice one Brooksey - could need a new battery though!
Hornblower
13-07-2006, 09:33 PM
Great catch. Give us the sordid details though! Remember we are fisherpeople so we love the fishing stories ;)
Commodore
13-07-2006, 09:36 PM
good size fish, any details as per hornblower ;)
brooksey
13-07-2006, 09:42 PM
hey guys, i was stoked with it, i caught some smaller bream before hand,
i normally fish with bread or prawns,
unweighted prawn, just hook on line, as easy as that, first decent fish since living on the gold coast, put up a good fight, i knew i had connected with something decent as soon as i hooked it....
Commodore
13-07-2006, 10:11 PM
fishing light is the way to go, well done ;)
13-07-2006, 11:33 PM
Well done! Nice fish. :)
marlinqld
14-07-2006, 05:11 AM
Nice phone.................. oh yeah, the fish aint bad either LOL ;D ;D
brooksey
14-07-2006, 07:08 AM
im going back out this afternoon afterwork... bread is best way to burley up, butterbream go crazy but the bigger bream just seem to push them out of the way.....
have fun
You have 10 missed calls on that phone. Better hand that fishing rod over to me and go and answer it. ::)
Far_Canal
14-07-2006, 09:57 AM
we have some monster bream under our pontoon aswell, they are smart bastards tho, easiest way to catch them is bread on a hook
Smailesy
14-07-2006, 10:18 AM
half your luck to walk out the back and catch fish like that
Slient
14-07-2006, 10:21 AM
NIce bream ang nice Nokia 1100 built with flash touch... ;)
Happy fishing
Silent
borisdog
14-07-2006, 10:41 AM
Just out of curiousity, what's a "good" sized bream around SEQ. Are they Black Bream or Yellowfin or what? I ask cos I've been getting heaps of Pikey's up here in Townsville lately. I've never really rated them but some of the fish I've got recently have gone very well and I'm slowly beginning to understand why they're such a big thing to you southern located fishos. Best one in last month 39cm, heaps at 34 - 37. They go better than a jack of the same length at this time of the year, poor jacks don't really like the cold.
Murks
14-07-2006, 11:21 AM
nice one brooksey
keep up the good work :D
hey Borrisdog
I reckon over 35cm is nice, 40+ would be rated as "good", or 1kg +
Juzo
slyman
14-07-2006, 03:23 PM
Nice fish brooksey. Would love to score a 35cm plus model, best i can manage is around the 30cm mark.
Petenoosa
14-07-2006, 04:23 PM
Nice bream mate... :)....fat too!
Dirty
15-07-2006, 12:38 AM
Hey there Brooksey,
Your a lucky man,
It would be a dream of mine to live on the water.... I'd always have a line in the water... casting it from my bedroom window!! HAHAHA
Ever thought about feeding the locals and fattening them up for the kill....eventually ...and of course if your gonna stay there for a long while?
g.
brooksey
15-07-2006, 08:17 AM
i go down most afternoons, feeding themup,
bloody butter bream are a pain though
Have you tried surface lures at night brooksey for trevs/ bream ?
IBBO
brooksey
16-07-2006, 06:42 AM
Have you tried surface lures at night brooksey for trevs/ bream ?
IBBO
nah mate, i have never had luck with any lures,
caught one flat head near convention centre once, thats it
FisherFreak
16-07-2006, 05:10 PM
Yeah being from Townsville i always thought they were black bream.. My biggest went 45cm in the haughton near doboi creek at cungulla.. I have now moved to Brisbane so its a whole new ball park.. Alot of hit and miss but oh well we will get there.......
thepartyisover
16-07-2006, 07:50 PM
Nice bream mate!!
brooksey
18-07-2006, 07:36 AM
easy way to do it, take loaf bread down where you go, they will all surface to feed, now send you hook with a piece of bread and bang your on, its simple
if that doesnt work and nice fresh prawn does the job