View Full Version : Winter Jacks (goldcoast)

Matthias
17-07-2006, 03:28 PM
Last night I decided to go for a bit of a fish and flick Sp's on the start of the run-in. I arrived at my first destination and threw a softie into the eddy at the base of a bridge pylon. Within seconds I was on. I pulled the fish up and was impressed by the red colours. He was only small and I took a few pics and threw him back. I fished for another 30min and picked up 2 pan sized flatties and then had to leave to pick my mate up.

After having dinner and sitting round bored I decided to get the start of the run-out. I went to a different spot and flicked sp's around. I caught another 3 flatties and 5 small gt's before I noticed a school of strange looking fish swimming around. They were chasing small prawns near the surface. I flicked my sp into the school but they would not repond and soon disappeared. They kept popping up and disappering for 15min untill I noticed they were very jack looking. I kept throwing my sp at them getting very frustrated as they weren't interested. I tried every retieve I could think of.

I threw once more and my sp landed about 20m away. As i was retrieving the school matierialised out of nowwhere and I tried another tactic. As my sp rounded past the school one followed slowly. All of a sudden the whole school rushed, shouldering each other to get at my sp. It was heart in mouth watching 6 jacks take off after my lure. :o I finally hooked up and landed a nice little jack. I took a photo and a nice guy on a bike took some more for me.

After another hour I had caught another 2 trevs, a few bream, and too many pike so I went to bed.

Matthias
17-07-2006, 03:29 PM

Matthias
17-07-2006, 03:29 PM

Matthias
17-07-2006, 03:30 PM

Matthias
17-07-2006, 03:30 PM

Matthias
17-07-2006, 03:31 PM

F1SH_BOY
17-07-2006, 03:31 PM
nice fish there

Craigus
17-07-2006, 03:55 PM
Great catch there mate.
Sounds like a very good session including the elusive jacks.
That spot may be great in summer if it is like this in winter.
Seeing a few jacks going after your SP must be awesome, heart stopping stuff.

Craigus
17-07-2006, 04:18 PM
Forgot to ask which SP you got the jacks on?

aussiefool
17-07-2006, 04:42 PM
well done mate top way to spend the evening [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

manangatang
17-07-2006, 05:28 PM
well done matthias ,how pretty are those jacks colors,cheers.

john_steward
17-07-2006, 05:28 PM
nice fish, a school of jacks after your plastic, how good is that! unreal story and shots

land_based
17-07-2006, 05:47 PM
nice one Matthias, awesome shot of the flattie mate.

Matthias
17-07-2006, 06:57 PM
Hey Crumbo I was using berkley micros in pumpkinseed and Manns 3"grubs in whiskey on 2g squdgie heads.

Pete.

richieboy
17-07-2006, 08:08 PM
Nice piccies there mate. Top effort onWinter jacks and on plakky's to boot. Nicely doen.
Rich ;)

gutzy
17-07-2006, 08:12 PM
love to know what suburb in Gold Coast ::) ::) ::) ::) ::)

ibbo
17-07-2006, 09:03 PM
Nice arvo out matthias - exciting stuff with the jacks

top pic of the flatty :)

IBBO

Creek_Vermin
18-07-2006, 05:10 AM
Nice work mate. I've had a couple of goes at awinter jack with poor results apart from cod trevally and flatties. Every time I go a stinkin cold southerly comes through after a few nice warm days up around the mid twentys. Don't think the boss would understand if I went fishin everytime the weather suited. Top effort and good pics too.

brooksey
18-07-2006, 07:27 AM
hey mate, what part of gold coast did all this happen, i still yet to catch a mangrove jack

Murks
18-07-2006, 08:44 AM
Great effort Pete..you gotta be happy with the result...better than sitting home in front of the box..
Murks

shayned
18-07-2006, 09:44 AM
what a great session on sp's and at night as well by the look.

Matthias
18-07-2006, 10:07 AM
Sorry guys can't give up my spot. :-X Most bridges on the GC will hold some jacks. My tip would be to fish at night.
Can't wait till summer, might have to upgrade from 6lb leader though.

Pete.

shayned
18-07-2006, 10:28 AM
As an sp novice I'm trying to soak up as much info as possible, can you at least share why you chose those particular sps to use?

stack
18-07-2006, 11:33 AM
One word
IMPRESSIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :o

Stack

Slient
18-07-2006, 01:18 PM
Great pic especailly at close range...
Well done... 8-)

Happy fishing
Silent

Matthias
18-07-2006, 07:27 PM
Shayned mate I was using them because I got 2 packs for $5 at #########. ;D ;D
The jacks were feeding on small prawns though, and the small size of the sp whould have prob matched the hatch.

Pete.

Smailesy
18-07-2006, 08:15 PM
great pics m8 love the jack

Samand
18-07-2006, 08:22 PM
great catch and good photography mate!

Samand

Floyd2006
18-07-2006, 09:45 PM
Top pics mate, top catch too.

Floyd

shayned
19-07-2006, 11:47 AM
Pete,
Just sitting here laughing, thats got to be the most honest answer I've ever gotten on fishing technique. Do you reckon colour came into it or just size?