View Full Version : A good plan
longtail
22-07-2006, 10:50 AM
G'day all , was feeling a little unwell thurs nite ;) so decision was made to head down the coast and have a crack at some bream. left the grand around 11am pumped some yabbies then went up to visit a mate while waiting for the tide to change.
at the bottom of the tide we made our way up the Nerang river to one of Clem's favourite whiting spots, spemt about 4 hours there with one bream ( 29cm) and one whiting to show for it. mate then took us up to his Tailor spot to fish dusk , we got no tailor but Clem and his mate got 5 good ones.
7pm call was made to head over to the bream spot and settle in for the night , first baits in and it's on straight away there was fish coming over the side one after the other . between us ended up with 30 bream , 1 whiting , and 1 trevally . the whiting and trev were taken on yabbies and all the bream were taken on beef and chicken strips.
pulled the pin just before low tide and was back at the ramp by 1am , home at 2am.
pic below
Jason
Dezzer
22-07-2006, 10:59 AM
Well done Jason. Were the bream just not interested in the yabbies or had you run out by then? Seems that strips of chicken and other assorted animal flesh is the choice bream bait nowadays.
If previous bream capture posts are anything to go by expect some interesting replies :).
Darryl
22-07-2006, 11:25 AM
Good feed there Jason, funny how the beef and chicken strips are prefered by the bream over the Yabbies.
Darryl.
jimmybob
22-07-2006, 01:00 PM
need some beef? ;D ;D ;D
shayned
22-07-2006, 02:04 PM
Jeez, Jimmybob, you get serious with your bait collecting. ;D ;D
longtail
22-07-2006, 02:58 PM
Were the bream just not interested in the yabbies or had you run out by then?
Dezzer - bream were not interested in anything but the marinated beef and chook strips. released the unused yabbies at the ramp prior to leaving.
If previous bream capture posts are anything to go by expect some interesting replies
yeah your probably right , sad thing is the knockers prob don't know me (and the fact that i hardly ever bring fish home ::))
but 15 fish for a family of 5 is only a couple nights feed.
darryl- yeah thanks mate , 'bout time i brought home a feed for the whole family. (i'm sick of missing out ;))
Jason.
fishingnottake
22-07-2006, 03:54 PM
well done mate, nice haul, what marinade were you using? i'm not asking for a secret recipe, just a genral direction to head in.
ash
richieboy
22-07-2006, 05:26 PM
Nice catch mate. Fair few there. Considering you don't get many we"ll go ezy on ya then. ;D ;D ;D ;D
Kidding Longtail, nice haul champ! Now you gotta fillet em.............. :P
Rich
serene_lady
22-07-2006, 09:21 PM
Gees, wouldnt it be easer to dig a few yabbies or buy some bait rather than chase a cow around a paddock and stab it to death just to get some bream bait. Bob. :-/ :-/ :-/
longtail
22-07-2006, 09:28 PM
Gees, wouldnt it be easer to dig a few yabbies or buy some bait rather than chase a cow around a paddock and stab it to death just to get some bream bait. Bob. :-/ :-/ :-/
err..... i usually just go to the butcher ;) ;)
might i add , cheaper by the kilo than pillies or prawns too 8-)
Jason.
longtail
22-07-2006, 09:30 PM
well done mate, nice haul, what marinade were you using? i'm not asking for a secret recipe, just a genral direction to head in.
ash
ash- the mix i used is readily available from most tackle shops , it is sold as burley but makes an effective marinade.
Jason.
Bundy_Burp
22-07-2006, 10:25 PM
Considering you werent feeling too well I think you put in a good effort but if thats what you can do when your crook I hate to think what you might haul in when your well again .
What out moby dick .
Brejen
22-07-2006, 10:36 PM
Good onya Jas, mate great to see you got into some.
MMMMMMM marinated chicken hey, only problem with that is, if I use that and dont get any fish then family has nothing to eat ;D.
Again mate top stuff......
Ohhhh and forgot, how you feeling now mate; all better ;D
Great_White
23-07-2006, 03:32 AM
Jason good to see you got over the XXXX flu ;D ;D ;D
Nice catch of bream, I am finding that bream in Caloundra are also going off yabbies in favour of chicken & chicken gut.
Well done again and I am sure you will only get positive feed back on your post or we will have to send the boys around ;)
Peter.
Sea-Dog
23-07-2006, 06:59 AM
Hey jimmybob,
You should practise catch and release with a big breeder like that.
Maybe just take a small fillet for bait and let her go. ::)
Got_the_Fever
23-07-2006, 07:50 AM
Good catch Jason. I gave my dad some chicken strips and garlic a while ago for him to try at the pin. He is impressed, he rang me up and asked me how to make it because he caught more bream on the chicken than on the prawns he usually takes. For an 80yo he is still willing to learn and he even takes some advice from me now and then.
Kel [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]
aussiefool
23-07-2006, 08:03 AM
Well done M8 great catch between the lot of ya's ..... beef and chicken mmmmmmm got me thinking funny that is what we used for bait 30 odd yrs ago as kids when we had no pocket money left for bait or make up flour and water dough with cotton wool in it. some times the simple things are still the best
Aussiefool
longtail
23-07-2006, 08:11 AM
thanks for support guys , it's been a long time between drinks for us ::)
had some last night for dinner , yum , it's not often i get to eat fish as i usually only catch 1 or 2 and that is normally just enough for the wife and kids to get a taste.
a couple nights of fish mmmm ;)
i've been told , 'if ya can do that once ya can do it again' ::) ;D
Jason
ps - and i'm feeling much better now thanks to those that asked ;) ;) ::)
skippa
23-07-2006, 09:59 AM
I'm Glad ur feeling better now Jase.
It's a bit rough when you get seasick before you go fishing .... ::)
But I like the way you decided to get over the sickness tho, well done too. ;)
Tony 8-)
Good work LONGIE! We set out in hope of a bream feed yesterday and all we got was 'rainbite'...
Might have to trip down the coast for the bream this year i think...
Take Care T
Murks
23-07-2006, 04:14 PM
Nice catch Jason...
Have been considering trying some new baits myself but havent had the chance to wet them yet...will do next venture...
23-07-2006, 04:20 PM
good catch Jason.
Peter..chook gut has been the optimum bait at Caloundra for at least 30 years I know of.
longtail
24-07-2006, 08:12 PM
thanks guys
Greg - i used breast fillet cut into strips and then soaked in my marinade overnight ;)
tony- it was just what i needed to recover ::) :-X
Jason.
Dirty
25-07-2006, 11:23 PM
WOW.... thats another great catch... the bream are on the chew this winter!!!
Anyway great effort ..great catch and gret report!
Keep it up champ!