View Full Version : HOT SP & SNAPPER PB - WELLO PT 25/07

T1
25-07-2006, 05:17 PM
Hi All

After copping an absolute drenching on Saturday for very little return, and then spending the weekend reading BEEFAMAN & AQUARIUS' great reports on their success in the usual haunts, i was unwilling to wait until Wed nights session with resident TINN. So, the call was made to IBBO for an SP only session at Wello this morning. When my lovely very pregnant wife (4weeks to go :-X) kicked me at 2am this morning in the hope i'd stop snoring as i was keeping her awake, my attention quickly focused on the sound of rain pelting down outside! Great i thought, another drenching awaits! By the time IBBO arrived at 5.30am, it was stars galore. Super! What a great start!

We left Wello boat ramp circa 6ish and as i didn't have a sounder following its drenching on Saturday, i decided that our best bet would be to drift around the grounds where we anchor for our evening 'bait & burley' sessions. 1st cast, just flicked the bail-arm overand slam! A 34cm Squire back on its way. IBBO, same! My 3rd Cast and whack - Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzz. Meanwhile, IBBO is into his 3rd Squire, again around the 34cm mark. Few minutes later and i finally get it to the boat and into the net a PB Snapper of 58cm :D! Woohoo! For the next 30mins, non-stop action as cast, bang, cast, bang. Not long and i have another in the esky at 43cm. Things slowed a bit but not before IBBO scored his 1st into the Esky at 40cm. By 8am, i had added another at 44cm - but not before a bit of outwitting! When my SP got slammed, he took a bit of line and was putting a bit of a show on (they go hard these Squire!). All the while IBBO is waiting patiently with the net when all of a sudden the run stops - the Squire had wedged himself into the reef! So, IBBO goes back to re-rig while i stood there and thought, bugger you, i've got all the time in the world Mr Squire! So, i let some line out as we drifted towards where he was lodged and within minutes, zzzzzzz as he shot back out! This time, no such escape option given and into the waiting hands of IBBO!

Things went very quiet until 10ish when we decided we'd motor over to Green and have a few drifts - again, a bit of guesswork as we didn't have a sounder. Well it must have been my day because 1st cast and whack! Another at 34cm and released! In the next 15 mins it was a fish a cast as i added another 2 to the esky at 40cm and IBBO chipped in with a 39cm specimen! Then the heavens opened up for the next hour with very little hits during this time! As soon as the rain cleared, on again and another for me into the esky at 36cm with IBBO adding a well deserved final fish at 40cm! The bycatch included a couple of choppers and pike, which will be used for tomorrows festivities with TINN and IBBO.

All in all, we must have returned over 30 Squire with at least 20 between 33 & 35cm. Choice colours by a country mile for the day was anything in Watermelon (Gulps & Powerbaits) although my PB was on a 3" Pumpkinseed Gulp Minnow.

A top day and my best SP session ever! Poor ole IBBO went through about 1/2 a dozen jigheads but has earned the nickname 'safehands' for his superb netting skills! Well Done IBBO and i hope we combine again successfully tomorrow night!

Take Care T

T1
25-07-2006, 05:18 PM
The total take home catch...

T1
25-07-2006, 05:19 PM
And another for TINN (with AUSFISH stickers) - definitely no curse now mate!!! You'll want me to touch and bless your boat....

shadow
25-07-2006, 05:38 PM
Great stuff

25-07-2006, 06:16 PM
I have never fished Wello, but have seen a lot of great reports come out of there. Don't those 58 models complain a lot on light gear! Well done guys. Makes me think about dragging out my 30 packets of Berkley powerbaits that are gathering dust. But only for a minute. All that casting winding jiggling is too much like hard work.

thepartyisover
25-07-2006, 06:17 PM
Nice work on the PB, some of them I would have put back in the drink for another day.

sealife
25-07-2006, 06:23 PM
Great fishing. Well done. I'm jealous and can feel the nightmares about not being able to get a fish in until friday starting already.

sealife

Great_White
25-07-2006, 06:33 PM
T1, what a great post ;) congrats on your PB.

Might have to get some pointers from the new snapper / squire king ;D ;D ;D

I can't seem to catch a cold these days let alone my first squire ;) Any way its time on the water and I know it will happen soon for me. :D

Best of luck for the Wed session, hope you get heaps again.

"T1 the human the human sounder" I think you also have a fish finder built in as well so does that make you a combo? ;D ;D ;D ;D

Take care Peter ;)

ibbo
25-07-2006, 06:36 PM
Yes T1 it was a great outing mate [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

I thought we were going to bag out very early after landing 6 fish in first seven casts. The move to green was a masterstroke and still cannot believe the sesh we had with NO sounder (who needs one ;)). Will be purchasing some jigheads in the not too distant future and upgrading leader instantly so as not to donate so much lead to moreton bay :'(

Like you said T1 Watermelon went off its head today, definately the fave at the momento.

Lets hope wednesday night is as much fun and a lot drier [smiley=vrolijk_1.gif]

Well done on the P.B mate [smiley=tekst-toppie.gif]

IBBO

Deiter
25-07-2006, 08:07 PM
gday T, gotta say, you have done bloody well there.

almost makes me want to buy some plastics myself. almost.
I picked up a few gooduns there myself a week or two ago (on bait :)) for a two hour session, great fun. :D

and i love your reports, local and detailed, without too much detail. ;)

Oh, and to thepartisover, give it a rest m8. seriously. I realise you have good intentions and all, but really, there is no need. :-?

once again, well done "Mr T" and Ibbo ;)
Damo

longtail
25-07-2006, 08:13 PM
nice catch there mate :D

geez those squire go hard on light gear don't they ;)

good report and great catch 8-)

Jason.

Bundy_Burp
25-07-2006, 08:20 PM
A good read and an excellent result good on ya guys

Steven78
25-07-2006, 08:24 PM
Well done T1. Good to see that Wellow fired up for you today

I hope to cya this weekend at the comp to get a few hints from ya :)

T1
25-07-2006, 08:35 PM
CHEECH - Craig, Wello is a fantastic spot and very close to home. Have been to Mud a few times and yet to score anything reasonable other than freight train bust offs. You do well there and i envy you in that regard!

T.P.I.O. - Do you have an identity crisis coz i thought i saw you as 'SnapperSnitch' not too long ago!?!? Anyway, Party/Snapper, it's good that you would have left some for another day but IBBO and i were hungry today...

SEALIFE - i get the shakes too...

GREAT WHITE - Pete, it is time on the water - it really just comes down to that. As you may notice, we do spend a fair amount of time out there and i guess occassionally your bound to score! Don't worry, i've had my fair share of droughts too...

DAMO - Thanks!!

STEVEN78 - as if i NEED to give YOU tips???!!! hmmm, maybe i can give you a list of questions on Saturday....

And to everyone else, thanks for your comments! Appreciate the time taken!

Take Care T

25-07-2006, 08:37 PM
T congrats on the PB mate

Steven

Tinn
25-07-2006, 09:05 PM
T1 mate I am going to have to agree with the Party Is Over what are you doing keeping legal size fish mate what were you thinking. You could have released those for me to catch tomorrow night. I can only see one keeper in those photos ;D ;D ;D ;D

Well done guys keep the photos coming good to see the curse has broken you have done well. I might have to get a job like you T1.

BR65
25-07-2006, 09:50 PM
Great fishing, well done!
Lord help us when the time comes when you cant take a feed of legal size fish home.
I fish both the shallows with plastics for squire and off shore for the knobbies, and enjoy both equally (actually I probably enjoy the shallows more because its a hell of a lot cheaper on fuel in the tinny than it is in the Signature) and its all relative.
In my eyes a nice squire pulled out of 12 foot of water on light gear is just as good, if not better, than a 8kg knobby pulled out of 60 meters on 40 pound line.
Great report
Regads
Brian

sotally_tober
25-07-2006, 10:06 PM
cool fish mate well done looking at those rainclouds in the backgroun no wonder you got saturated man, best time to be on the water no other fools silly enough as ourselves to go out , But when ya Keen ya keen
Cheers wes ;D

aquarius
25-07-2006, 10:26 PM
Congratulations on the PB T1, you put in the hours and now Wello has given you a share of those squire on offer.
Some days they are jumping into the boat and other days its as quiet as a mouse.
Were there many boats out today?
Was the water clear or murky?
Don't know what it is about the colour GREEN but those fish sure get excited when they see a greenish plastic...lol
Good luck with the next trip.
I LOVE THAT ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!
Cheers Brent :)

Dirty
25-07-2006, 11:09 PM
Chapion effort man!

You sure do hit the water regulary.... do you work?

Anyway champ, hats off to you...especially withthe soft planstics and the spot oh... and the you beaut snappies!!!

keep it up and good luck tommorow night!

George.

Commodore
25-07-2006, 11:25 PM
ummmm, more zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz from the shallows in the bay, well done boys, nice feed you got ;) will be looking forward to this weekend ;)

26-07-2006, 07:09 AM
Congrats on your PB T1.

You are enjoying your placcie experience that much I reckon your heart might skip a beat if I tell you this... THERE'S MORE FISH WAITING FOR YOU!!!

How was that? Got the boat back on the car yet? ;D ;D

T1
26-07-2006, 08:30 AM
TINN - what WAS i thinking?

BR65 - Brian, it is great fun and to be completely honest, id' sooner put the bigger fish back than the pan sized ones as they are much nicer on the palette! It's a bit like sheep - would you prefer a 5yr old bit of mutton or a 6month lamb. Mmm MMm i know which one is tastier!

S_T - Wes, yes but that's not the silliest thing done trying to catch a fish over the years... Ahhh, those were the days!

AQUARIUS - Brent, the water was extremely clear with few boats out. I recall reading someones post on your thread on the weekend saying he found the watermelon colours worked best in clearer water - i'd have to agree...

BB - George, yes i work (sort of) - i am self employed however i am so 'super-efficient' that i can escape just about anytime for a fish... ;) My wife keeps saying i should get a real job, but it would never pay as well!!!!

CHONG - looking forward to meeting the famous 'duo'!!

SCALEM - yes, boat in the background in pic 3 (with AUSFISH stickers proudly displayed)...

Take Care All!

PS TINN, feel free to anchor right next to me tonight ole son! I'll try and rub some Mullay MoJo on you and Manhuuallo.... 8-)

Got_the_Fever
26-07-2006, 11:01 AM
Hey T
You are the champ. Well done mate. Congrats on the PB and as I told you before the curse has been lifted. I am shocked however that Tinn finally admitted it. [smiley=tekst-toppie.gif]

Kel [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

Tinn
26-07-2006, 11:15 AM
Good to see you are silver member now T1 about time. I hope the curse never returns and you flood us with all the pics but as long as I am in them too not just your ugly mug ;D ;D ;D

mickstar001
26-07-2006, 12:20 PM
Nice work T1, have only been into the plastics now for a month or so (probably 3 outings) and loving it. Been to mostly Peel - yet to get one of those 58cm models - and cant wait. Best be off to Wello Pt and Green and attack some of those squire too - great pics ;)

shayned
26-07-2006, 12:21 PM
Great effort T, and all without a sounder to see the bottom with. Imagine how good you'd go with a blindfold on as well. 8-)

chief
26-07-2006, 01:49 PM
great session there t1 sounds like a ball. some nice fish as well mate. Congrads on your p.b. and gee mate only 4 weeks to go and then it won't just be your reel screaming. ;D

pegasus
26-07-2006, 03:03 PM
T1,

congratulations on the fish and pb m8- top read - great report- yep an I am jealous :)

lew

Slient
26-07-2006, 03:20 PM
T1,

Congrat's on your PB and I believe you'll break another PB very soon

Happy fishing
Silent