View Full Version : Green 26/07/2006

26-07-2006, 10:34 AM
Well it was a cruisy morning on the water as it was. A sou wester about 5kts blowing and stayed consistent throughout the morning. I launched at manly and took my little sister and our japanese exchange student out for a fish. Interesting time. It was about 3:40am when we launched and headed out to green. Water temperature was 16 degreese and clear as. My target thismorning was to land a few snapper and use only soft plastics. I had a bit of a play with the squid jigs before dawn but then turned focus onto the 4'' pearl watermelon powerbaits which did the trick. Was using a 1/6 TT jighead and 14lb flurocarbon trace, 10lb fireline. Managed to pick up my first snapper on soft plastics and it was respectable at 45cm. I was pretty happy after an interesting fight and thinking I had been bricked when he came up out of the snags for a few more runs and into the net. Had some dolphins come close to the boat as did the turtles which both the girls enjoyed. Landed 3 tailor on he floater rig between the 31 and 40cm marks and also 3 undersize squire and a grinner on the plastic. All in all a good morning and back at the ramp just after 8am.

Got_the_Fever
26-07-2006, 10:50 AM
What a great session dave. I bet your exchange student was blown away with the dolphins and turtles. Hope that you have many more like it. It is a great ad for oz when ppl from overseas get to see what a beautiful place this is.

Kel [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

Tinn
26-07-2006, 11:26 AM
Sounds like you had a great time. Hope the weather is the same for me tonight

26-07-2006, 01:04 PM
Yeah, I bet the other students will be hearing all about it today. Thanx kel and tinn aswell, as i have been reading your reports along with TI's and putting that info into practice.

chief
26-07-2006, 01:40 PM
Isn;t it great to take people who haven't had that much time on the water and just get a buzz from them enjoying themselves good on ya mate and some fish as well .

26-07-2006, 07:01 PM
Nice work Dave...still dont know how you got tomorrows report up today but.

Steven

26-07-2006, 07:13 PM

Steven

Steven you beat me to it! ;D ;D ;D ;D It would be handy to be able to write tomorrows report today though, you would know if it was worth going,and to upgrade line when you were about to get bricked!! ;)

Bundy_Burp
26-07-2006, 07:24 PM
Great work Dave nothing like some free advertising for OZ I'm sure the exchange student will remember the fishing trip and talk about it for many years to come .
And congats on your first snapper on SPs

Bundy

26-07-2006, 07:29 PM

Steven

Steven you beat me to it! ;D ;D ;D ;D It would be handy to be able to write tomorrows report today though, you would know if it was worth going, and to upgrade line when you were about to get bricked!! ;)

Haha thanx boys, the editing has been completed. Although, it would be handy hey. One day someone will work out a way where we can forcast the results of a trip... but I suppose that would take all the fun out of the process.
Bundy - thanks and you're right, we live in THE best country on earth and first hand experiance is hte best advertising for such a place. This exchange student is a little trooper when I think about it, It was her first time on a boat and handled it like a champ.

Great_White
26-07-2006, 09:07 PM
Dave sounds like you had a good time of it, a bit of sight seeing and fishing :) doesn't get much better than that ;D

Peter. ;)

beefaman
27-07-2006, 12:46 PM
There has been heaps of dolphins and turtles about lately. For some reason I like it when they are around, we always seem to do alright :D
When you hook up though, the fish seem to fight a bit harder when the dolphins come in for a look :o

27-07-2006, 01:54 PM
Nice going Dave, and good to leave a lasting impression on our overseas visitors..........what a wonderful country this is.