View Full Version : hodgies pb in the bay

swano
26-07-2006, 04:06 PM
took hodgie out thismornin along redcliffe in less than ideal conditions (15kts southerly)chasing squire on light stuff .
things were slow for the first few hours with only a few keepers as well as some under size stuff and a wobbygon then the wind dropped off so we headed to spot x where i nailed my 88cm a few weeks ago . while i positioned the boat with the leccy dave already had his second cast in and the call came "yep i,m on" and the fight began with the first run seeing about 50 meters of 15lb braid dissapearing quick off the affinity4000 , after 15mins we had colour and it was the right colour ;D a few more dives for the bottom and it came head first into the waiting net .
it measured 76cm and fell to a 4" white gulp minnow , didn't weigh it but i'd guess 5-6 kg easy and to say the big fella was happy would be an understatement as he is just putting the finishing touches on an article about the bay for fishing world and needed a few more good photos to go with it .

cheers swano ;)

Archer
26-07-2006, 04:24 PM
Nice fish mate very impressive! :)

swano
26-07-2006, 04:29 PM
Nice fish mate very impressive! :)

when u take into account hodgie is six foot fourish and hands like grain shovels , yeah it is a good fish :o

26-07-2006, 04:32 PM
Great catch swano!!!

I think there have been about 4 PB's this week in reports all falling to plastics!!!! ;) All bodes well for the comp this weekend especially if the weather holds!!

Are you fishing the River to mud Swano!

swano
26-07-2006, 04:48 PM
Great catch swano!!!

I think there have been about 4 PB's this week in reports all falling to plastics!!!! ;) All bodes well for the comp this weekend especially if the weather holds!!

Are you fishing the River to mud Swano!

nah ian gunna hang round here and take a mate out on sunday for a fish , all the best to those that are gunna give it a whirl ;)

pegasus
26-07-2006, 04:51 PM
Swano,

great report and pic- beautiful fish- congrats to you both

talbots
26-07-2006, 05:00 PM
nice fish ;) ;) ;)

26-07-2006, 05:06 PM
Swano...you busted arse jelly spined fishin chippy...what are you doin' mate...while the cats away the mice do play dont they!!!! Just wait til I get back there!!!!!

I reckon I can see sweat pourin of the big fella and the huffin and puffin still going in the pic...good to see the 'blue thing' get wet among other things...well done...on the fish that is...

Braggard ;D ;D ;D

Can't wait to get back to Brisvegus and get among them again...not much fun in Cairns at the moment...blowin its head off

mickstar001
26-07-2006, 05:23 PM
Very nice fish Swano - id be ;D if i caught that ;)

26-07-2006, 06:30 PM
What an interesting looking fish for that size. Hardly any bump. Maybe it is from New Zealand and just got lost.

Redcliffe has also been producing well based on the reports lately.

I wonder if the fishing is generally better this year or if it is just that more people are posting so it gives the impression that there are more fish around. Or is it just the Ausfishers getting more serious about it, taking notes, trying new things, and generally improving skills compared to the general fisho population. Either way, great fish. That is not an area you just get lucky with. You have to put in the work and get it all right to produce results.

26-07-2006, 06:53 PM
Swano,

Hodgie gota a cracker. Bloody good spot X....I will be on the look out for a blue wheelie bin with a lecky on the front to get that spot on my gps.

Congrats

Steven

Bundy_Burp
26-07-2006, 07:34 PM
Excellent report swano and the pics are really good and thats a good size fish its great to see the SPs are working well for you .

Bundy

Ratman
26-07-2006, 08:00 PM
That a very nice squire, I'm impressed. Sorry if I missed it but what rod are you using?
thanks

flickflack
26-07-2006, 08:23 PM
Top fish mate well done

F1SH_BOY
26-07-2006, 08:50 PM
nice fish there swano

Great_White
26-07-2006, 09:37 PM
Gotta be happy with that ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

A picture is worth a thousand words, well done guys ;)

Peter :)

aquarius
26-07-2006, 09:56 PM
Another top snapper from the bay,
Congratulations mate that is an awsome speciemen you must be more than happy with a catch like that.
Cheers Brent :)

swano
27-07-2006, 06:01 AM
That a very nice squire, I'm impressed. Sorry if I missed it but what rod are you using?
thanks

ratman
hodgie used a penn pin point tournament 3-5kg , top rods with a sensitive tip for casting and heaps of grunt when it,s needed.
cheers swano :)

Slient
27-07-2006, 07:38 AM
Wow what a classic bay snapper...
Well done... 8-)

happy fishing
Silent

shut_up_and_fish
27-07-2006, 08:19 AM
top fish mate - only a matter of time now till we see them in greater numbers i reckon...........or have they always been there??? the mystery to old man snapper continues.........

ibbo
27-07-2006, 09:15 AM
Wow what a fish :)

Jeez hodgie can catch fish

Swano what size jig head was on the plastic (if you dont mind)

Got my p.b last night off wello point (56cm)but nothing like that :'(

IBBO

Tinn
27-07-2006, 03:46 PM
Top catch mate I love to see photos with happy fisherman and fish of that size bet it put up a great fight well done

swano
27-07-2006, 08:34 PM
Wow what a fish :)

Jeez hodgie can catch fish

Swano what size jig head was on the plastic (if you dont mind)

Got my p.b last night off wello point (56cm)but nothing like that :'(

IBBO

ibbo
the jig he was using was a custom thingy more designed for bream than squire , lets just say that it didn,t get used again due to its stressed configuration . ;)

T1
27-07-2006, 09:31 PM
That is one great fish guys! I definitely think the better fish come from the reefs in front of Scarborough/Redcliffe!

Top effort indeed!

Take Care T

Crisp_Bee
27-07-2006, 10:03 PM
Sensational Fish guys.
Would have been a good haul

R_K_HILL
27-07-2006, 10:15 PM
BEAUTY! WELL DONE ;)

28-07-2006, 07:15 AM
A very respectable fish there, well done!

I love the Penn reels for Bay snapper too, very good value!