View Full Version : PB Bream from the Brisbane River
SimonT
24-07-2006, 12:21 PM
My Dad was in town so I thought I should take him fishing, so we went for a flick in the River yesterday morning. We fished during gentleman's hours, and didn't even leave the house until 8AM (I am usually thinking about heading home then), and I wasn't overly confident with the small tides, although I was hopeful that the overcast conditions might help. Things started off slowly on the plastics looking for squire, so I decided to work the walls with hard bodies for awhile. Anyway we found a few good sized bream in the low 30's (cm) and 3 legal flathead to 55cm. Dad also missed a really good tailor after the hooks pulled. Anyway a bit before lunch I got this 40.5cm bream on an Ecogear SX40 (colour 338). This is the best bream I have caught since moving to Brisbane 4 years ago so I was pretty happy. The old man was keen for me to knock it on the head, but there was no way that was going to happen as we already had a good feed in the esky. All fish were caught on 4 pound braid with 8lb leader.
As an aside last time I fished the River I caught a 72cm mack tuna while chasing bream along the walls. It was foul hooked and took 40mins to land. Unfortunately it had fought itself to death, and was dead 30secs after landing it.
Simon
ratherbefishin
24-07-2006, 12:34 PM
Well Done Simon,
That's a VERY nice Bream, and good on you for putting it back too!
Were you land based or in a boat?
Nice Brembo Simon,
that tops the 39cm model I picked up at the reclaimed walls recently, looks like I'll have to get back out there and have another go :)
Juzo
Floyd2006
24-07-2006, 12:54 PM
STONKER! well done mate.
Floyd
Archer
24-07-2006, 01:15 PM
Nice bream ;)
SimonT
24-07-2006, 01:16 PM
I was fishing from my boat.
Nice bream there mate. 40cm Bream don't get caught every day well done
24-07-2006, 04:20 PM
Ya got that about 7 days to early Simon!!!!! ;) Hard bodies are plastic to ;)
Are you going to have a crack at the river to mud this saturday afternoon?
SimonT
24-07-2006, 04:48 PM
If I can get permission I wouldn't mind giving it a crack. But my chances are slim unfortunately.....I looked at the weather earlier and it looks like it should be good.
I thought briefly when I got back to the ramp that it was on the weekend as there was a collection of people at the cleaning station talking and drinking beer. It was the fishing club from some pub however.
john_steward
24-07-2006, 06:58 PM
great work!
Apple
24-07-2006, 07:44 PM
Nice fish Simon >:( thanks for the invite :'( ,sounds like u had a good time.
cheers Adrian ;)
lattic
25-07-2006, 08:01 AM
Nice winter Bream, that would have put up a nice little battle.
muz
Gutsy
25-07-2006, 08:59 AM
Good fish!
aquarius
25-07-2006, 09:13 AM
Top bream Simon, Pity you didn't catch it in the RIVER TO MUD CHALLENGE.
That would have been hard to beat!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I hope you go back to the same location this coming weekend and he's still hungry...lol
Cheers Brent
Got_the_Fever
25-07-2006, 10:22 AM
Simon that is a massive bream well done. Putting her back would have been hard, but well done. Hopefully she will populate the area with a lot more bream. Good onya.
Kel [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]
slyman
25-07-2006, 01:23 PM
wow that is one fat bream, good catch and good on ya for putting her back, I'm really keen to catch them using hard bodies, what else do you use other than the ecogear?
SimonT
25-07-2006, 02:23 PM
Slyman,
I have also been using 3" drop shot minnows in standard and Gulp. Casting them really hard against the wall on a really light head (minimises snags and maximises drop time) has been working as well. It has only been the last couple of trips that I have moved away from the plastics to the hard bodies. I have really been enjoying the more active fishing style fishing the hard bodies presents (I think it is more in line with what I used to do alot of before coming to Brisbane). I haven't experimented too much with other types of hard bodies as the Ecogear's have been working a treat. Needless to say there are probably heaps of other brands that will work, and are considerably cheaper as well!! The one thing I wouldn't skimp on are the hooks though, as the bigger bream are pretty good at destroying them - Owner ST36's all the way I say.
Simon
Bundy_Burp
25-07-2006, 08:55 PM
Very nice fish simon what sort of weight did it go ?
Anyway well done
Bundy
Slient
25-07-2006, 09:25 PM
That's horse bream... :o
richos
25-07-2006, 09:35 PM
Very nice fish, Simon :)
onya mate
Dirty
25-07-2006, 11:16 PM
Chapion effort....
I wish one of its cousins felt peckish for what I had on offer!
anyway...awesome Breambo.
nice bream mate iv never been fidhing in the brisbane river im always fisihng in tally and currumbin creek and i get heapz of goode bream but not 40 my biggest is prob 38cm
cheers zach