View Full Version : River to Mud 80cm snapper
foggy
30-07-2006, 01:59 PM
Just a quickie as I reckon this will be fairly well covered over the next day or so. Left Pinkenba about midday and headed over to white island to register and meet up with a few guys. Headed out to western Mud in search of a prize winner. Fairly quiet until about 3pm when this beauty decided it liked japanese food. It went 80cm and 5.74kgs. Ended up with another 4 keepers around 45cm, but all in all, it was very quiet.
The plastic that did the damage was, once again, the plastics I get from Japan. I will post a photo and if anyone wants some send me a PM.
Also witnessed another boat drop a fish estimated at 10kg plus. Bad luck guys, but just goes to show, you don,t have to go far to catch a good nobby.
Good to put some faces to names and thanks to Steve and Webby for putting it all together.
Foggy
PS. Webby (Tally bait 1 / plastics 1. when's the next one) ;D
foggy
30-07-2006, 02:00 PM
Business end
foggy
30-07-2006, 02:01 PM
plastic ;)
30-07-2006, 02:24 PM
Very nice catch mate well done.
Cheers and beers
land_based
30-07-2006, 02:27 PM
Thats aweosme foggy well done
fritzy
30-07-2006, 02:31 PM
Giday foggy,
My brother Jackash and myself headed out to mud this morning, but was pretty quiet only one small squire boated. Just wondering whether you would share the gear that you are using for great fish like that. And what is the water depth that you are fishing in? Any info would be much appreciated or PM would also be great.
Cheers Fritzy
matthill80
30-07-2006, 02:51 PM
the good ole imakatsu javallon ay. heard of some fellas nailing some really big nobies in the shallows off moreton on worm hooks mate well done top fish
cheers matt
Murks
30-07-2006, 05:41 PM
Awesome fish Foggy :)
geez I just cant wait..I gotta get out to that joint they call Mud soon :)
Murks
maztez
30-07-2006, 07:18 PM
Top fish there FOGGY good on ya
cheers Terry ;) ;)
aquarius
30-07-2006, 07:29 PM
Onya Graham, You yelled out " THIS IS A COMP WINNER" and mate you were right.
I'm still waiting for my 5 kilo+ fish but its got to eventuate some day soon i hope.
Cheers Brent :)
30-07-2006, 08:43 PM
Foggy once again mate congrats on a top fish
Steven
Bundy_Burp
30-07-2006, 08:45 PM
Nice snappa foggy well done
Bundy 8-)
snapattack
31-07-2006, 08:39 AM
Bloody hell foggy. Leave some of the big ones out there for the rest of us. ;D
Congrats mate.
Check your PM,s
He He Brent - i'm hearing ya! There's one out there for each of us with our names on it! It's just a matter of time! Unfortunately, some have their names on more than just one, hey FOGGY! Well done and didn't it look awesome in the esky! Your photo above just doesn't do it justice!
Great to meet you too man!
Take Care T
31-07-2006, 12:50 PM
Well done Graham.
Good to see that one of the "elite" placcie guys came home with the bacon. I am only sorry the weather played against me, fishing mud early before the start of the comp, with the intention of heading back into Brisbane river to meet everyone....... The SW wind that blew up took care of that didn't it!! >:(
Brilliant result for difficult conditions, I salute you!!
Slient
31-07-2006, 01:25 PM
A magnificent bay snapper...
What was fish 10kg that got away?
happy fishing
Silent
Archer
31-07-2006, 04:08 PM
:o Nice fish!!!
foggy
31-07-2006, 06:23 PM
Frizty,
Gear was a 3500baitrunner with 20lb line and 24lb leader. But I usually only use a 2500stradic with 10lb line and 12lb leader. Fishing in 11-12mtrs of water.
Brent,
Mate, I have you to thank mainly for my switch to plastics. When I first joined Ausfish you kindly relied to all of my PM's with very usefull info. I have concentrated my efforts at Mud because its closer to home. I reckon you have lost your fair share of 5kg plus fish to the reef at wello. Mud is a bit more forgiving, not as much cover for the fish.
T1,
Right place right time I guess ;)
Silent,
The one that got away at the side of the boat was a big nobby snapper
Thanks guys and lets catch up soon.
Graham
AKA foggy
Smailesy
31-07-2006, 07:08 PM
great fish
Phoenix
31-07-2006, 07:52 PM
Awsome
esselte
31-07-2006, 07:54 PM
Nice fish mate ;D
flea_350
31-07-2006, 09:16 PM
Congrats mate, nice fish.
Great_White
31-07-2006, 10:27 PM
Hi foggy, thats a horse!!!!!! ;D ;D ;D
Well done in your win in the river to mud comp, I think this fish is the train a lot of people have had some encounters with on the bay.
Peter ;)
01-08-2006, 04:17 PM
Hi foggy, thats a horse!!!!!! ;D ;D ;D
Well done in your win in the river to mud comp, I think this fish is the train a lot of people have had some encounters with on the bay.
Peter ;)
I'll bet Foggy won't need to buy any Jig heads for a while, just extract the ones in this fish's mouth :)
raefpud
02-08-2006, 12:28 AM
Nice Work Foggy - Knew those lures would hit the spot, but wait until the new improved versions start hitting the water. You did very well and did us dedicated lure swimmers well - chomp on that meat drowners :) :) :)