Nov-rain
08-08-2006, 10:05 AM
managed to get down to the coast for a couple of hours over the weekend (05/08 Saturday morning). looked like a nice day from inside the car but as soon i got out of the car, the wind was howling for all it was worth. i thought to myself ' well, better a windy day fishing than no fishing at all!'
so dropped off the gf and drove around looking for places to throw some soft plastics. had a couple of new bags of plastics that i got on the cheap so was looking to try out something new. didn't have much luck the last time with the pumpkin seed or prawnstar.
decided to go to the spit again and stopped at maccas on the marina to have a bite. there was a wkend market going on and was bloody crowded. one particular store was selling these HUGE lamingtons and caramel slices for only 3 bucks each!! hell, they looked absolutely scrumptious! but nah, didn't wanna waste precious time on the water so scoffed down a maccas meal and continued recceing.
decided to try the area of beach beside seaworld. parked at the end of the carpark and rigged up in the car. didn't wanna try my luck with tying knots in the wind. just as i stopped the car, another fisho pulled up and got dropped off by his gf and their retriever or labrador. he went straight to the small jetty on the right hand side. there was a father and his 2 sons on the left side as well.
anyway i headed down the side of the rocks to the beach with a reddish carrot (that's the name i think) soft plastic on a 1/6 jig head. gear was a shimano baitcaster on a threadline penn powergraph with 4 lb main and 6 lb leader. was still way too windy! couldn't even get my plastic to land in the place i wanted. mostly landed like 2 -3 feet to the right of my targetted cast! the spot looked promising enough with a bit of weed and lots of oyster shells on the rocks behind me but ya, it was too windy.
tried there for a while before moving near the family as it looked like there was a channel running through from the left , creating a deep hole. greeted the father with a 'its too windy today!' and he agreed. couple of casts in and around there but still no luck too. looked over to the other fisho near the jetty and he too didn't look like he was having much luck. he gave up on the jetty and came over to my side. 'how are you,' he said. replied 'no luck, its the wind'. he set up his gear and did a little berley trail. i asked what was normally caught around here and he said 'well you would normally get a couple of flathead or whiting'.
changed to a green soft plastic to a gold chartruse but still on luck. decided to walk to the right and give the jetty a go. switched to a 2" silver power minnow but again no luck.. was thinking to myself 'its one of them days'... but i seldom have time for a fish so i was enjoying myself though.
left the jetty and decided to try the end of the spit. water looked clear and there were a couple of boats near the edges of the breakwater. it was a beautiful day and there were plenty of dogs running around on the beach on the right. decided on a spot where it looked like there was a deep dropoff from the rocks. from my vantage point, i could see some shadows swimming around and with the current looking strong and waves pushing in, i changed to a bigger jig head on the green soft plastic. cast and cast and cast .. well u get the story.. no luck and when i decided to change softie, i got snagged and lost it all. changed to another softie and first cast!..... yes u guessed it.. got snagged again and lost that too...
was about time to go anyway so picked up gf for lunch and told her 'u go do your shopping.. im gonna try another spot'. she said fine so off i went to the gold coast bridge.. its the big one outside australia fair. tried under the bridge at the pylons but again too windy. even the 2 regulars there said 'nah mate, no luck today, its the bloody wind'.
cast and walked around the bridge to the other side facing the houses but no luck. at this stage i was thinking 'well, just enjoy the weather and fresh air'...walked back to the car and tried couple of casts on the beach (hope you guys know where this is.. its the beach beside the boat ramp at the bridge) ... nothing doing so decided to try another place..
wanted to try loders creek but too far and just as i left the gold coast bridge and headed towards surfers, i saw this small creek near paradise waters... turned in and parked in front of some houses. headed to the water and holy shit.. there was this small enclave of water leading towards a small bridge. no wind and as i looked into the water.. there were heaps and heaps of oyster shells on the bottom. was thinking bream and trevally.. only had 10 mins left so did some casts but as soon i did that, a boat came motoring into that small area, did a u-turn and left. 'ah well.. prob scared all the fish away', i thought. tried the bridge but only had 2 casts before the phone rang and oh well, that's the end of the day...
long report with no fish guys... but all in all, fresh air and some sun doesn't anyone harm!
tight lines all
merv
so dropped off the gf and drove around looking for places to throw some soft plastics. had a couple of new bags of plastics that i got on the cheap so was looking to try out something new. didn't have much luck the last time with the pumpkin seed or prawnstar.
decided to go to the spit again and stopped at maccas on the marina to have a bite. there was a wkend market going on and was bloody crowded. one particular store was selling these HUGE lamingtons and caramel slices for only 3 bucks each!! hell, they looked absolutely scrumptious! but nah, didn't wanna waste precious time on the water so scoffed down a maccas meal and continued recceing.
decided to try the area of beach beside seaworld. parked at the end of the carpark and rigged up in the car. didn't wanna try my luck with tying knots in the wind. just as i stopped the car, another fisho pulled up and got dropped off by his gf and their retriever or labrador. he went straight to the small jetty on the right hand side. there was a father and his 2 sons on the left side as well.
anyway i headed down the side of the rocks to the beach with a reddish carrot (that's the name i think) soft plastic on a 1/6 jig head. gear was a shimano baitcaster on a threadline penn powergraph with 4 lb main and 6 lb leader. was still way too windy! couldn't even get my plastic to land in the place i wanted. mostly landed like 2 -3 feet to the right of my targetted cast! the spot looked promising enough with a bit of weed and lots of oyster shells on the rocks behind me but ya, it was too windy.
tried there for a while before moving near the family as it looked like there was a channel running through from the left , creating a deep hole. greeted the father with a 'its too windy today!' and he agreed. couple of casts in and around there but still no luck too. looked over to the other fisho near the jetty and he too didn't look like he was having much luck. he gave up on the jetty and came over to my side. 'how are you,' he said. replied 'no luck, its the wind'. he set up his gear and did a little berley trail. i asked what was normally caught around here and he said 'well you would normally get a couple of flathead or whiting'.
changed to a green soft plastic to a gold chartruse but still on luck. decided to walk to the right and give the jetty a go. switched to a 2" silver power minnow but again no luck.. was thinking to myself 'its one of them days'... but i seldom have time for a fish so i was enjoying myself though.
left the jetty and decided to try the end of the spit. water looked clear and there were a couple of boats near the edges of the breakwater. it was a beautiful day and there were plenty of dogs running around on the beach on the right. decided on a spot where it looked like there was a deep dropoff from the rocks. from my vantage point, i could see some shadows swimming around and with the current looking strong and waves pushing in, i changed to a bigger jig head on the green soft plastic. cast and cast and cast .. well u get the story.. no luck and when i decided to change softie, i got snagged and lost it all. changed to another softie and first cast!..... yes u guessed it.. got snagged again and lost that too...
was about time to go anyway so picked up gf for lunch and told her 'u go do your shopping.. im gonna try another spot'. she said fine so off i went to the gold coast bridge.. its the big one outside australia fair. tried under the bridge at the pylons but again too windy. even the 2 regulars there said 'nah mate, no luck today, its the bloody wind'.
cast and walked around the bridge to the other side facing the houses but no luck. at this stage i was thinking 'well, just enjoy the weather and fresh air'...walked back to the car and tried couple of casts on the beach (hope you guys know where this is.. its the beach beside the boat ramp at the bridge) ... nothing doing so decided to try another place..
wanted to try loders creek but too far and just as i left the gold coast bridge and headed towards surfers, i saw this small creek near paradise waters... turned in and parked in front of some houses. headed to the water and holy shit.. there was this small enclave of water leading towards a small bridge. no wind and as i looked into the water.. there were heaps and heaps of oyster shells on the bottom. was thinking bream and trevally.. only had 10 mins left so did some casts but as soon i did that, a boat came motoring into that small area, did a u-turn and left. 'ah well.. prob scared all the fish away', i thought. tried the bridge but only had 2 casts before the phone rang and oh well, that's the end of the day...
long report with no fish guys... but all in all, fresh air and some sun doesn't anyone harm!
tight lines all
merv