View Full Version : Mud Island Thursday evening 17 August 2006

18-08-2006, 02:27 AM
As I was cruising through the calm water on the leeward side of St Helena tonight on the way home from Mud Island to Manly at around 8.30pm, I started to think about my old friend George Wardle. (real name) :-/

George was a bloke with a personality that took some getting used to but once you got used to it, you just had to love the guy. :) We worked together off and on for about five or six years in the 1970’s – Gosh! - that was 30+ years ago! :-? Years later he left Brissy to work in Canberra for ASIO or someone very similar. Gasp!! :-? :-? :-?

Anyway, George came to the big smoke from Innisfail and could be described as being a naïve country bumpkin of the first order. ;D He used to do really stupid things – like the time that he bought a brand new car and rubbed the entire surface over with engine oil to make it glisten in the sun – the only problem is that on his first outing in the car after doing that he drove through a dust storm. ;D ;D ;D

Then there was the day that with another mate we were driving along a six lane road with George at the wheel following a heavily laden truck that was doing all of 20 kph in a 60 k zone. :-? The lanes to our left and to our right were both empty but for some strange reason, George just had to follow that bloody truck for about five km in the same bloody lane!!! >:( >:( >:( It drove me and our other mate mad at the time. ;D ;D ;D

He also lived with bad luck. :'( He had just signed a contract for his very first house when he moved to Brisbane in his early thirties when on the very next day, announcements were published in the Courier Mail that a new road was to be built and lo and behold, George’s new house was to be resumed and demolished for the new road. :'( :'( :'(

He also had a funny way with words. He spoke in a flat slow monotone that had me often yawning when he just said “Good morning.” ;D ;D I don’t think that I was alone in that regard. ;D

Then there was his sense of humour. ;D ;D ;D Dry as… ;D ;D ;D He used to tell the most awful old clichéd jokes. :-/ You know - like the old one about the Scotsman wearing a kilt and being asked, “What is worn under your kilt?” To which the Scotsman replies, “Nothing is worn under there. It is all in perfect working order!” ;D ;D I must have heard that joke from George’s mouth fifty-eight bloody times!!! ;D ;D ;D

I was pondering that old joke of George’s tonight when I was thinking about equipment failure. :-/

Regular readers of my report may recall that over time I have paid the price of a lot of terrific fish lost in a lot of my fishing exploits because of equipment failure. :( (...and some of you older blokes will know how annoying equipment failure can be. ;) ) Unlike George’s old joke, however, none of this equipment was worn – but it failed anyway – and little by little, I have been solving the cause of each of these failures. :(

Like the el cheapo Chinese bait-runner reel that I bought at the ‘Tackle and Tinnie’ show this year. It served me really well for two months and then failed catastrophically. >:( I solved that by buying a new Shimano 6500 bait-runner a week or two later. 8-)

Then there were my failures with knots. :( I used to go to a lot of trouble pre-rigging my lines at home with leaders and swivels etc using locked half blood knots only to have the knots fail time after time when assailed by a freight train out in the Bay. >:( I took Webby’s and Cheech’s advice, per these pages, to do away with the swivels (well sort of – sometimes I affix one directly to ganged hooks). ;) As well, I have started using the Palomar knot instead of the locked half blood knot because I read that the International Game Fishing Association (whoever they are) claim that the Palomar knot is the strongest fishing knot available (and also, it is easy to tie at night in the dark.) I have not had a knot fail since using the Palomar knot and I have certainly given them some tough tests including tonight, as you will see. :) :)

I also lost a lot of bigger fish using hooks that were too small for my style of fishing. >:( Webby always advises to use nothing bigger that a 2/0 in the Bay but on other advice per this site, I went up in size, sometimes to 7/0 and have not looked back since that time. :) :)

My latest catastrophe though relates to hook strength, specifically in relation to ganged hooks. >:( >:(

I had two hook failures tonight that annoyed the hell out of me. >:( I was able to rescue the first situation and in fact I was lucky in that I did not lose the substantial fish that I had on at the time. 8-)

In that case the third hook in a gang of four Mustad 4/0 hooks broke at the eye whilst in the fish. :-[

In the second case, the hook straightened a little under pressure from a whopper of a fish that I lost at the side of the boat. :( I have to admit partial fault in relation to the latter incident - I had just had a massive fight with what was obviously a ripper of a fish and being on my own on a dark night, I could not see any colour in the water and assumed that it was too early to get the landing net in the water so I kept winding away with a lot of strain on the line when it went “Snap!” and the fish spat out the hooks. :(

The tragedy was that when that happened, I only then discovered that I had only about 1.5m of line out. That is, the fish was right beside the boat and I was really trying to lift it out of the water without realising it. :( The hook straightened enough for the fish to fall off and I started swearing very loudly and very profusely. ;D

Pictures of both of these hook failures are shown below.

As I thought about George on the way home, I also pondered the problem with the hooks and concluded that ganged hooks, by design, will always be weaker than some of the premium high strength hooks such as the Mustad “Penetrators”. That is, the steel used in a hook that has to have its eye squeezed closed with a pair of pliers has to be quite malleable by design. Thus it becomes obvious that that steel is always likely to bend and distort in ways that high tensile strength hooks won’t. Likewise, it is probably not possible to gang high tensile strength hooks. :-/

So what is the answer? My guess is that the answer for baits like whole pilchards is to snood a couple of high tensile hooks together and to forget about ganged hooks. I would really appreciate some expert opinion about this problem, please. :-/

Unfortunately, hook failure was not the only equipment failure tonight… (to be continued…)

18-08-2006, 02:29 AM
(…continuing…) Another area of failure tonight was in relation to my esky. :(

Last Christmas, I bought myself a new 88 litre IceMate Esky. 8-)

The reason for buying this esky was that I had become disappointed that longer fish such as big flathead and spotted mackeral would not fit comfortably into my old esky and I had to bend them to get them inside with the result being that when I took photographs of the fish after getting home, often the fish were all curved up and did not hang straight. :( So I specifically bought a longer Icemate esky so that would not be a problem.. :(

Well, whadyaknow! It has let me down sadly tonight as the following picture shows. It just ain’t long enough! (…to be continued…) ;D ;D ;D

18-08-2006, 02:32 AM
(….continuing...) Nonetheless, despite these disappointments with my equipment, the night was not a total failure as the next picture shows. ;D ;D ;D

The big fish was caught on a 1/8 jig head with a Gulp minnow in pumpkin seed colour with a pink bodice and a blue pleated skirt with a white frilled edging - nah , I can’t say that! ;D ;D ;D All fish were caught on pilchards with the unweighted rig as shown above on a 30lb mono line on a 6500 baitrunner. :)

High tide was at 4.30pm. The big bloke was caught at 5.15pm. I had the whole area to myself! :) :) :) One boat arrived and anchored about 150m north of me at 5.20pm and left at 5.45pm leaving me in peaceful bliss on my own. :) :) :) Lumpy 15 knot conditions were experienced until about 6.30pm.

Now to all of you who say that your screen saver activates when you are reading my reports, and to all of you who find the need to make a mug of coffee and settle into a comfy chair before you start reading my post, it was worth it this time wasn’t it???

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

tunaman
18-08-2006, 02:47 AM
Good catch. Its good to see you have the time for people, even if their a bit slow. all the best.

signed tunaman 8-)

18-08-2006, 02:51 AM
I should add a postscript by saying that Mud was alive with snapper/squire tonight. I kept fishing a little time after bagging out but after throwing back a couple of nice fish because I had already obtained my bag limit, I gave it away for fear of catching something that I did not really want to throw back.

Fish arches were showing at all depths of water. :)

tunaman
18-08-2006, 03:22 AM
You get that,

signed tunaman :)

Got_the_Fever
18-08-2006, 05:06 AM
Charlie as always a fantastic post. I used to buy Mustard Oshannasey 1/0s and they where the best hooks I have ever used. Yesterday while at the tackle shop I got myself some mustard salt water 1/0s, ref 4200d. They are the biggest waste of time. I ganged them and every one of them while using them straightened on a fairly light snag. I dont know if they still make the oshannaseys but if I can find them I will be buying as many of them as I can. I still have some that are still in perfect nick after 10 years of sitting in my tackle box.

As for you fish, very well done. One day I will get out there to try for something bigger than flatties and bream. I always enjoy your posts.

Kel

LUMOX
18-08-2006, 06:44 AM
roughly where abouts and how deep? if you dont mind me asking. good read and great catch. i might need to up size my esky also and hope the fish get bigger. am preatty new to the bay with only 1 leagal squire so far. plenty of undersized fish though. thinking of heading out tonite. pm me if you like would really apreciate a little help with rough locals and depth. cheers

solwota
18-08-2006, 07:04 AM
You are the Man charlie......bloody nice jew

richard

18-08-2006, 07:24 AM
Great mission.

I am suss on gang hooks as well. Not that I use them very often, but have been thinking of snodding my floaters.

No offecnce, but I skipped every second paragraph. Only way I could get through the whole thread before your next report!

shabss
18-08-2006, 08:06 AM
great report charle
we were also out there ourselves (adamy and myself)
left whyte is. boat ramp at 6.30 slow drive to mud by about 7.15
left there with 4 squire (3 by adamy and one by myself)
watch ou for the report and pics

T1
18-08-2006, 08:56 AM
The humble Pillie! Nice work Bruce...

Take Care T

PS: I'm with Cheech, i skipped the 1st 6 para's I think... :P

shayned
18-08-2006, 09:23 AM
I reckon you must start writing these reports while you're in between bites, 'nother good report mate, you must be pleased withthe jewie.

Herm
18-08-2006, 09:51 AM
Good morning Charleville! :)

Great report and an even better catch! :D

Pete starts holidays at lunchtime today - and even before reading report, I doubt very much that he was going to be spending alot of time at home. Probably just enough to pick up more food and bait - actually he would more than likely ask me to deliver to the ramp! ;) this so after reading this report I doubt he will now even be home this afternoon!

Look forward to reading your next report!

:)Janine

PS and if you see a strange looking man in a 475 Stessco with "On Strike" on the side "trying" to follow you out to your spot - tell him to come home! ;)

Got_the_Fever
18-08-2006, 10:30 AM
hey janine
if pete takes off for too long you can always come over here and we take you fishing
or hubby hunting whatever the case might be ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;)

kel and anya

puks
18-08-2006, 10:33 AM
charlie
did you leave some smilies for the rest of us ;D

loved the report and i read all of it (female couriosity i guess)
but fantastic read and great catch keep em coming
and you will be happy as KEL ;) 8-)

regards anya

Murks
18-08-2006, 11:10 AM
charle, waht a great report, I have been studying all morning as I about to get ready and leave for Mud this pm. My head is thumping and my veins are pulsing in anticipation of a great outing

Adamy
18-08-2006, 12:29 PM
(….continuing...)

The big fish was caught on a 1/8 jig head with a Gulp minnow in pumpkin seed colour with a pink bodice and a blue pleated skirt with a white frilled edging - nah , I can’t say that! ;D ;D ;D

Now theres a Gee up for the Placcie boys (i.e ... me) ;D ;D

No offecnce, but I skipped every second paragraph. Only way I could get through the whole thread before your next report!

;D ;D ;D Just keeping it real hey Craig?!!

Nice work Bruce.... wish we had have persisted and made it out to you... not that many fish sounding on the western side... managed a small feed nonetheless.... Thought I saw a boat heading off in Manly direction about 9.30 -10pm - something like that - might have been you.

2iar
18-08-2006, 01:48 PM
It was just a matter of time mate.

Well done, and now the precedent's been set...

[smiley=thumbsup.gif]

(Continued) Good luck,

chief
18-08-2006, 03:23 PM
great fish charlie,and a great report ,thanks for the laugh mate.

Slient
18-08-2006, 03:41 PM
Hail the king of Mud...
Well done...

Happy fishing
Silent

NeilD
18-08-2006, 05:30 PM
Great catch [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

If you want to make gangs use something like 7766's not the bodgy 4200's or 4202's.

Fisher4life
18-08-2006, 11:28 PM
:)it's good to see that once again, all the time and effort you put into fishing mud, you have come up trumps, it's just a shame about the tackle failure, however at least your leaving SOME of the bigger ones out there for the rest of us to have a go at ;)

Fisher4life
18-08-2006, 11:28 PM
Charlieville, i had a similar problem to you with my esky....

I had to downgrade the size of my esky to a smaller 68ltr because it was getting dissapointing never being able to fill the big esky ;D ;D ;D ;D

Top catch there mate!!

foggy
18-08-2006, 11:40 PM
Good work Charlieville. It was about this time last year when the big jew stared to show up around Mud. Love reading your reports. keep up the good work.

Foggy

JayT
19-08-2006, 01:40 AM
Hey charlie,
Well done mate :)
Awsome read, mud is an awsome place hey,
Dead set every time I have been there lately I have had very similiar experiences, only to lose some really good fish beside the boat, BUSTED off for some reason or another, and on the odd occasion in my opion have LOST one of those DREAM fish :'(
Mate a BIG mud snap is the talk of the town but the JEWIE is the TOAST ;D ;D
Unreal
Cheers Jay

Kayak1
19-08-2006, 02:25 AM
Charlie,
I've used a two hook rig to take jack with live or dead poddy mullet. Can't see why you couldn't adapt it for three or four in a gang. I use hooks with turned down eye...thread one on your leader before tying the last one to the end of the leader....wrap a couple of turns of fine copper wire firmly around the shank of the loose hook (or hooks)...adjust the distance between hooks to suit the bait. Only downside is when a big fish takes the top hook it slides down to the bottom hook. Not a problem though as you can quickly readjust and keep using.

Steve.

JayT
19-08-2006, 02:31 AM
Also GO the BAITRUNNER,
Have two myself, the all time GREAT ALL-ROUNDER,
The best value, robust, universal reel on the market,
I use them for everything :)
Would be good to post some pics of the true diversity of the BTR's,
We are starting to experiment with them on quite long rods 9,10ft for bottom fishin out on the reefs, the 15-24kg spin L/F rods are beasts with 6500, 15kg mono ;)

19-08-2006, 06:25 AM
Nice Nice Nice

19-08-2006, 07:43 AM
Great read and awesome catch mate. Just for the record, for the gang that I use, it's 4/0 gamagatsu gangsters. Not a failure yet. As for your 6500 baitrunner... don't you just love them??? Congrats on the jew and bag out.

19-08-2006, 12:48 PM
Hail the king of Mud...

Nah - Webby is the King of Mud - although he had better watch his crown after that maiden performance by lunatic today. ;D ;D ;D

I can be something else - not the Jack of Mud, I don't think that I will ever be jack of Mud. How about the Joker of Mud? ;D ;D ;D

Thanks for the advice re hooks from Got_the_Fever, Horse, Kayak1 and Blackened. You have given me other options that I did not know of. Many thanks. ;)

Gee - I would not have bothered reading that much! ;D ;D ;D

Normally, I look at the pictures first in any report before I read anything so i assume that other people, especially those having a quick peek before work or similar will do the same. ;)

Many thanks to all of you folks for the nice comments. :)

Those of you who have asked questions will have received a pm with some answers.

Best wishes....

19-08-2006, 07:48 PM
Well don Charlie me boy, just read your long winded life history report ;D
Just back from 5 great days on fraser, learning to beach fish again, bloodly hard work, compared to dropping a line over the gunnel ;D
Congrats on the Jewie mate, you have just racked up a first, and joined one of the elite clubs, as there's not too many who have had success with these night stalkers.
As for the squireies well the bay seems to be ful of them at present, mainly i reckon to the regrowth of coral around the island.
Its taken a long time for it to come back to what it was in yester years, but it has attracted a lot more bait in close and the rewards are now showing with squire by the bucket loads being caught.
Maybe if we wish hard enough the Kingies might return the same.
Anyway mate welcome to the jewies club,