View Full Version : Why would you want to be anywhere else

Got_the_Fever
21-08-2006, 10:17 AM
I got a call from a mate on Sunday asking if I wanted to spend a few hours fishing from the bank at Deep Water Bend. He arrived at my place about 3pm and we had a coffee and a chat for a while before heading off about 4.30pm. We stopped off at the bait shop to get some pillies and to my surprise they had some yabbies. I had to get some of those little gems.

We set ourselves up opposite the first green beacon just down from the boat ramp and set out to catch of feed of bream and flatties. The first cast and I get a snag. The second one I get a snag, things werent looking good. Next cast I had rigged up with a yabbie and hoped that this time I might actually keep some gear for a second cast. I finally get my first bite and next im on to something that doesnt feel to big. 1 small bream that was thrown back to go up. Just before sunset I pull in another baby bream.

The sunset was so beautiful that I didnt care if we were catching fish or not, it was just a pure pleasure to sit there and watch it. After the sun had set we didnt get another bite for 2 hours, but that was ok because the sky was so clear it was so peacful sitting under the stars.

We sat and talked the whole time and discussed where we would take my brother-in-law who is arriving from Germany on Sept 4th we our cousin. we decided we would take him a little further downstream to fish around the highway bridge. We fished until about 9pm and headed off home for a coffee and to warm up a little. We in the end had caught 3 undersize bream and sent them home to be with their mums, and had lost enough tackle to warrant another trip to the tackle shop to replace it all.

I have attached some of the pics that my mate took of the sunset which is why I named this thread what I did. It was a totally enjoyable evening and a great way to figure out how to introduce my brother-in-law to fishing in Australia.

Kel 8-)

Got_the_Fever
21-08-2006, 10:17 AM
another

Got_the_Fever
21-08-2006, 10:18 AM
another

richieboy
21-08-2006, 10:34 AM
Pristine looking afternoon my friend. Can't beat an arvo like that. Better luck next time with the fish hey. Cheers.

Rich

Bundy_Burp
21-08-2006, 10:35 AM
Great report to bad about the snags and shortage of fish I suppose thats just the way it is sometimes .
P.S. The pics look great to

Bundy 8-)

Got_the_Fever
21-08-2006, 10:47 AM
Thanks guys , We did have a fantastic view of the world. Welcome back Rich havent heard from you from a while.

Kel

Smailesy
21-08-2006, 12:29 PM
great pics

gregdeeth
21-08-2006, 01:16 PM
better than sitting infront of the tv any day of the week

Murks
21-08-2006, 05:07 PM
well done kel,, pity about the snags but hey sh#t happens

chrisfish
21-08-2006, 06:07 PM
Great pics, I reckon the pine is a lovely river, close to town but with plenty of quiet spots away from the burbs. Let's hope it stays that way in the future.

cuzzamundi
21-08-2006, 06:13 PM
bloody great pics mate! making me very homesick!!! awesome river the ole girl pine. kept me company for millions of nights when all others were snogging their girls or getting rotten at the pub! the best company one can have i reckon. roll on october when im home!!! also, the snags are always rife down there, but there can be some rippers off that bank at times. thanks for the pics.

cuzza

Got_the_Fever
21-08-2006, 06:55 PM
I had to share these pics. It is very beautiful there and im sure my bro-in-law will be blown away by the old girl. An all niter there will be just what the doctor ordered for all of us.

Hopefully we will pick up some bigguns fishing around the bridge as well. I will be taking a lot more pics while we are there again and I'll put one up just for you cuzza.

Kel

puks
21-08-2006, 07:11 PM
just had an email from that infamous broinlaw and he is really keen
send him some pictures and all his work mates are jealous as hell that he is going on holliday in 10 days :)
he sure want to get some pics with a fish and him
i was thinking a toadfish would be fun:)

GOTs mother in law orderd the first pic with him in it printed out for her to put on her desk :)

sorry for butting in
nice pics kel ;D ;D ;D ;D

cuzzamundi
21-08-2006, 07:32 PM
thanks heaps kel - greatly appreciated!!! pm me mate if you wanna know about a coupla other ripper landbased spots on the pine mate!

cuzza

R_K_HILL
21-08-2006, 09:40 PM
Nice pics Fever... All good apart from the midgies?

Got_the_Fever
23-08-2006, 05:11 PM
There were a few midgies around and a couple of mozzies, but after the sun went down and it started getting cooler they decided to go home and sit in front of the fire.

Kel

BR65
23-08-2006, 08:19 PM
Good piccys GTF. Reminds me why I love fishing, even when I dont catch a fish.

Got_the_Fever
23-08-2006, 08:23 PM
Im the same mate, when I see scenery like that then bugger the fish. It's just what the doctor ordered, and if he didnt he should have.

Kel [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

richieboy
23-08-2006, 08:29 PM
Thanx Kel. It's great to be back champ. We'll have to catch up soon for a fish together and share a beer or two. Cheers.

Rich ;)

Got_the_Fever
23-08-2006, 09:03 PM
Anytime Rich. Im always up to go fishing and having a beer afterwards just tops of a great day.

Kel

Great_White
24-08-2006, 08:14 PM
Don't worry Kel you will be into them next time ;D ;D ;D

At least you had good company for a chat while their was not much doing :) :) :) Not to mention the best view around :D :D :D

As they say beats going to work ;) ;) ;)

Peter :)

Got_the_Fever
25-08-2006, 02:46 PM
Hey Pete you where right mate. Good catch from Hayes on a real beautiful day. Would you care to bless my next trip.

Kel [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]