View Full Version : Curtain Kings
Creek_Vermin
23-08-2006, 05:17 PM
Went over to curtain on sunday morn in sloppy conditions for the first time. Plan was to berley up and see what followed while dropping some baits on the bottom. Within 45 mins(and 2 cans) we had 2 nice kingies in the trail. Over the next hour we hooked five but only landed 1. It was the first trip out in the bay in my bros galeforce so we learned a few things and it wasn't a complete waste of time. Conditions were great for the ride home. Cheers.
chicken
23-08-2006, 05:22 PM
Nice fish keith but 2 cans in 45 mins are you slowing up?
Creek_Vermin
23-08-2006, 05:25 PM
Yeah it was a bit bumpy mate and the 30 the night before didn't help
chicken
23-08-2006, 05:30 PM
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
elephrez1
23-08-2006, 05:34 PM
GREAT WORK
shabss
23-08-2006, 05:35 PM
thats some good king there
where is curtain
Creek_Vermin
23-08-2006, 05:40 PM
curtain artificial is on the inside of moreton island just north of the tangalooma wrecks. first time we have been there and wont be the last
Adamy
23-08-2006, 05:52 PM
It was the first trip out in the bay in my bros galeforce so we learned a few things and it wasn't a complete waste of time. Conditions were great for the ride home. Cheers.
Not a complete waste of time??... a kingie like that would have kept me smiling for a year!! :D Good on yas!!
23-08-2006, 06:45 PM
I'm with Adamy. To date I have not landed a kingy let alone a monster like that. Well done. Was far from a waste of time that's for sure. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
ON-THE-CHEW
23-08-2006, 06:46 PM
What gear where you using to get that one in, theres a lot of structure down there that the kingies would love.
ON-THE-CHEW
23-08-2006, 07:11 PM
Nice nice fish. ;)
What sort of boat - Galeforce but how long etc, please?
Congrats on the fish. :)
Smailesy
23-08-2006, 07:36 PM
nice fish Keith next time invite the cowboy he is dying to get out there mate did angry man catch anything
Creek_Vermin
23-08-2006, 07:38 PM
On the chew- was just using an okuma baitrunner with 25lb mono. the first one we hooked smashed me when i tried to lock up but let the 2nd one run a bit. As my name suggests i'm used to creek fishing for flatties and jacks and only use braid so the mono felt like absolute crap but i set the rig up for floatlining and unfortunately braid sinks
Charlie- G'day champ. My bros got a 4.8 galeforce with a 90 e-tech. Top boat and doubles up well in the river. We're planning some offshore trips and are confident it will go well.
23-08-2006, 07:44 PM
Nice one mate. You did well to pull it out of there on that tackle. I've had a copuple of small uns on float tackle fished half depth, but whenever I've fished down they've bricked me.
Hornblower
23-08-2006, 07:45 PM
Good fish mate, gotta be happy with that ;) ;)
Creek_Vermin
23-08-2006, 07:51 PM
Smailesy- No the angry man dipped out this time. Must of used up all his luck at turkey. (lucky bastard) The only time he got angry was when we made him stop at the bottle-o to get another box. Too nice a day to get angry mate. Cheers
23-08-2006, 08:01 PM
CV thats is a cracker of a kingy mate
Steven
longtail
23-08-2006, 08:03 PM
nice kingie mate , top spot there at curtain
Jason.
lattic
23-08-2006, 08:06 PM
Gotta be happy with that virgin run. Nice kingie.
muz
shabss
23-08-2006, 08:45 PM
did you weigh it
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
23-08-2006, 09:01 PM
That's a great Kingie CV! Nice looking day too by the look of the pic.
White_Steenbras
23-08-2006, 09:48 PM
Lovely King there mate, bet he was worth hooking and landing.
Cheers Barnesy ;)
novice23
24-08-2006, 12:10 AM
Great fish mate!
I'm yet to make the trip to curtain, but i am always hearing reports of large cobia that frequent there. That's the first i've heard of kingies. Good to see them showing up in the bay.
A quick and probably dumb question... does the reef break or chop right up? I have seen it quite a few times from the beach whilst camping on the island and there always seems to be alot of white water around and no boats on it?
Creek_Vermin
24-08-2006, 04:39 AM
chubby-12kg
novice-the waves definitely weren't breaking when we were there but the weather was good. Maybe on a bad day in close might get a bit messy. we were after cobia as we also heard reports around there but we never saw one. Hopefully next time
marlinqld
24-08-2006, 05:44 AM
Can,t complain about a kingie like that................. i could catch one like that each trip out and still be smiling ;D
gregdeeth
24-08-2006, 08:22 AM
great kingy, havent heard many reports from that bay area, always good to hear about somewhere different.
slymo
24-08-2006, 09:08 AM
That is a nice fish. Well done. :) :) I have been diving there a few times and always thought I would like to fish it as well.
Novice, I think it would be unlikely for waves to break over Curtain. From memory all the wrecks are in 20 to 30 metres of water and don’t come anywhere near the surface. I could be wrong.
Slime
shabss
24-08-2006, 10:23 AM
have you eaten it yet
was it tasty
haven't tasted a kingie yet
[quote author=Creek Vermin link=1156317434/15#23 date=1156358399]chubby-12kg
Creek_Vermin
24-08-2006, 01:33 PM
chewed real well mate. A lot better than I thought
24-08-2006, 03:26 PM
Great fish mate!
I'm yet to make the trip to curtain, but i am always hearing reports of large cobia that frequent there. That's the first i've heard of kingies. Good to see them showing up in the bay.
A quick and probably dumb question... does the reef break or chop right up? I have seen it quite a few times from the beach whilst camping on the island and there always seems to be alot of white water around and no boats on it?
Mate, the white water is probably when there's a king tide. There's a helluva tide race there and she does lump up over the shallow bits when it's wind against tide.
Rainbowrunner
25-08-2006, 04:06 PM
top fish mate,
We went there last year chasing cobia but all we could get was kingies like that. ;) Were you using livies?
The tide does roar through there tho and we found small tides and at the ebb was the only way to go.
we were only landing 1 in 10 at the most before they would do us in the wrecks. They do chew well too, better than cobes i reckon.
Jiggit
25-08-2006, 04:22 PM
great hood mate, do u know if they travel further south in the bay..
LedZeppy
24-02-2007, 01:02 PM
I can't see the photos, only people going "Nice Fish" hehe.. I'm missing out!!!
cuzzamundi
24-02-2007, 03:51 PM
great effort on the kingies mate! just wondering, does curtin reef go right up to cowan point?
cuzza