View Full Version : 5.5kg (?) Tailor - Teewah (photos)
Slider
26-08-2006, 10:46 AM
Had a bit of a sleep in this morning but thought we'd go for a cruise down the beach to see what was happening. Ran in to a regular here in Col Payne between Teewah and the 3rd cut and stopped for a chat. While we were talking his rod baited with half a salted pilchard started bucking and the alvey was in steady reverse mode. Col sprinted(?) down the beach and grabbed it and came up solid on what he stated was a shovelly. Then the so called shovelly leapt out of the glassy water to quickly dispel that theory. 10 minutes later I was priveledged to be able to help Col loft the tailor out of the last little shore break on to the dry sand. And what a damn good tailor it was too. I'm still waiting for a call from him with an official weight which will be ascertained at the ferry where with any luck he can beat the heaviest tailor on the board for some prize money as did surf sniper with his whiting a couple of weeks ago.
Very good work Col and congratulations. Make sure you get me an email address so I can send the photos.
Lindsay
Slider
26-08-2006, 10:49 AM
Almost claimed it as my own for a minute
Slider
26-08-2006, 10:52 AM
Col playing his tailor
Slider
26-08-2006, 11:00 AM
another
jimmybob
26-08-2006, 11:04 AM
hell yer!
Slider
26-08-2006, 11:04 AM
1 more
Lone_Wolf
26-08-2006, 11:12 AM
You've turned into a roving reporter Linds! Great fish Col.
cuzzamundi
26-08-2006, 11:18 AM
that is an absolute ripper col!!! unreal. woulda been great to bleed slowly and whack on a shark rig!! awesome stuff sir.
cuzza
fish2eat
26-08-2006, 11:27 AM
Holy mutant tailor batman......er Lindsay
what a return for half a pilchard, what an awesome fish.....gotta get out there.
straddie
26-08-2006, 12:29 PM
The alvey reel strikes again ;D and on a pilly too.
That's the sign of a man that knows his stuff, at no time did the cig get dropped from his mouth during the fight ;D Nice solid greenback.
masterdusky
26-08-2006, 12:51 PM
DAMN!!! one awesome tailor that, gotto ask Lindsey, is the surf always that flat up there..?? Everytime I see a pic of that area u fish its always soooooo flat :D:D
Bundy_Burp
26-08-2006, 12:59 PM
Thats a hell of a good sized talor all I can say is bl@@dy awesome .
Bundy 8-)
Smailesy
26-08-2006, 01:25 PM
great fish. Keith will not be happy if you try to take his money.
chicken
26-08-2006, 01:38 PM
Great fish I live at cotton tree and had the car packed at11 oclock I decided last night i was going this arvo so i hope i can get stuck into a few as well another one of those suckers would be a nice sight.
shabss
26-08-2006, 01:55 PM
awesome
biggets tailor ive seen caught off the becah
Slider
26-08-2006, 02:16 PM
Official weight is 5.319kg. Not enough unfortunately to beat the 5.85kg job on the ferry board but Col is still a happy camper.
We spun some lures after seeing Cols effort and saw a fair bit of activity with a school of tailor coming on the boil just out of range but only a couple of bumps on the slugs. Things are improving fast now and there are dart to be seen in the waves again and there are heaps of flathead in the shallow gutters. Better make hay before the weed arrives as have heard that it is getting bad north of Waddy.
Lindsay
Slider
26-08-2006, 02:20 PM
Alan, it is particularly calm at the moment as you can see in the photo but Teewah Beach is an exposed beach that collects any swell that's on.
Was spectacular down there this morning - so calm and no breeze - could see anything that moved.
masterdusky
26-08-2006, 03:16 PM
Just adding Teewah to the to do list now :D:D;)
Gorilla_in_Manila
26-08-2006, 04:05 PM
A good old fashioned 10+ pounder... um ... er ....over 11 actually. :o
Great tailor, congrats col. Pity about missing out on the board, but still a great fish. Not too many in the over 10lb tailor club.
Midmorning too; who'da thunkit. ;)
Actually, seen a fellow up at fraser a few years back that caught an 8 or 9 lb'er at 11am. Thought it was a bit arsey at the time, but have since heard the occasional reports of others. Good stuff!
Thanks for taking the time to put up the report and pics Linds.
Jeff
F1SH_BOY
26-08-2006, 04:06 PM
wow awesome yeh its well over 5 kg as my one went around 5-6 kilo and mine looks tiny compared to yours:
straddie
26-08-2006, 06:56 PM
Heya F1SH_BOY
That's a very nice tailor you have there, that looks in the 60-65cm range which would make it about 2.5kg assuming you aren't over 2 metres tall. Whoever weighed it for you probably said it weighed 5 or 6 pound and you thought kilos.
26-08-2006, 07:43 PM
Col thats a cracker of a Tailor
Congrats
Steven
Got_the_Fever
26-08-2006, 08:01 PM
That is one animal tailor. I have never come close to catching one that size. Great job.
Kel
hicksy
26-08-2006, 08:33 PM
Well done excellent fish
jackash
27-08-2006, 12:06 AM
Awesome fish! Hoepfully get into a few like that at fraser in september.... or jsut one would do me fine. Any idea on the length? Cant wait to here what the weight was.
Jackash
jackash
27-08-2006, 12:07 AM
5.319kg - sorry didnt get to the 2nd page! Awesome fish
Great_White
27-08-2006, 09:46 AM
Nothing wrong with that, goes to show you don't need a boat to get into the big ones ;D ;D ;D
Peter :)
Jim_Byrne
27-08-2006, 12:39 PM
Thats a horse!
Thanks for the report Lindsay.
Slider
27-08-2006, 04:26 PM
Bad news guys - the water changed colour here today from blue to green. This usually indicates that the hincksia is not far away and it is being caught on lines every now and then. For it to have arrived now with still fairly mild temps then with a warm spring and hot summer ... The sea on the horizon has also changed colour and has taken on a slightly brown tinge. I'm only slightly totally devastated that it has arrived so soon when the fish still haven't returned in full numbers since the netting.
I don't carry any weight with the weather gods but if anybody feels that they may have an influence, could you please ask for south easters and rain.
Lindsay
ele-phrez
27-08-2006, 05:36 PM
holly S#@t that is big.
SURF_SNIPER
27-08-2006, 05:58 PM
ran down the beach on friday linds to chat with a few blokes on the beach who i knew were down the fishing, was very quite up the northern end with very clear water. masso's looked good thou and there were plenty of good formationns. didnt hear of any great reports thou.
beautifull fish when there at that size. i think enkleman caught that tailor of 5.85 late last year during one of our club comps, or caught one just under thatweight which just couldn't go the distance on the ferry.
Drew
NeilD
27-08-2006, 06:51 PM
It breaks my heart to see him score something like that during bankers hours on a bit of Pilly :'(
All the hours up to my gonads all night with my fresh slabs out there and I can't break the 10 lb mark :-/
Great fish
jackash
27-08-2006, 07:59 PM
Slider,
Weed doesnt sound too good mate. Im heading up to Fraser at the end of Seppy, but sounds like its going to be like the last 5 years... whether u can get the fish in before your runners clog up with weed and u cant wind anymore. What causes it and what should we be hoping for if we want some clear gutters when we get up there?
Jackash
chicken
28-08-2006, 04:59 PM
I headed up sat arvo and fished saturday night about2kms south of the cherry got 2 that went approx 2kgs but about 1 hr apart and only about half a dozen touches in about 5 hrs of fishing.
richieboy
28-08-2006, 06:41 PM
Biggest Tailor I've seen mate. Pass on our congrats!!
Richy
young_mind
28-08-2006, 08:53 PM
:o OH WOW !! THAT GOLD [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]surf look great too ;)
lukesnapper
29-08-2006, 10:16 AM
biggest tailor ive seen..... well done col!
Crisp_Bee
29-08-2006, 08:11 PM
Wow what a horse.!
Great to see good Tailor still about.