View Full Version : Jim's PB Mud Snapper 27th Aug

aquarius
27-08-2006, 07:36 PM
Howdy Folks, Well after Steve's nice snapper catch yesterday Jim, Steve and myself thought we better try again for another.
We left Manly ramp this morning at 9am and headed towards Mud via the back of green and st helena.
The s/e made conditions rough as we rounded south of mud but as we got closer to our spot x the seas calmed.
With the plastics soaking we did several drifts and only scored a few squire to 35cms so back they went as we were after the big one today.
High tide arrived and still nothing in the esky :o
Steve kept saying they will come on the chew during the run out.
2 ginners and Jim lost a good fish when his leader broke.
More leaders tied and more drifts then Jim had a nudge on his baby bass zoom.
Jim always has a perch on the bow so he was casting ahead of the drift so that nudge started to pull some line off the 2500 stradic and them "OH NO ITS GOT OFF".
"wait a minute its coming towards the boat at speed"
Jim reeled in the slack line but the fish thought its time to head towards the back of the boat and beyond.
The reel screamed for a few mad runs and then a great amount of weight came on.
Steve called it for a big snapper and Jim and i were thinking 60cms.
Ten minutes later and a nice big 5.1 kilo snapper (76cms) was gaffed by yours truely and hauled aboard to cheers and hand shakes all round.
Back to back snapper two days running what more could you ask for.
Whats amazing about this great catch is that Jim was using 10lb braid with a 10 lb leader and a 2/0 1/8th LIGHT WIRE HOOK.
Just like Steves fish yesterday the hook was in the corner of the mouth.
The hook broke as it was being removed.
Jim has had a slow snapper season until today.
Congratulations mate now i really have some work to do to catch up lol ;D
3-30pm we called it a day and back home and washed up by 6pm.
Great day out with my best mates and another 5kilo+ club member.

Cheers Brent :)

aquarius
27-08-2006, 07:37 PM
another

aquarius
27-08-2006, 07:39 PM
and another

Dezzer
27-08-2006, 07:53 PM
Excellent going fellas, some quality fish coming from over there. The usual plastic Brent?

Six more days before hitch break, bring it on!!

Steven78
27-08-2006, 07:54 PM
What a monster :) Its good to see Jim that happy after the last few months. Brent you forgot about that bet we had about a big Snapper $10 just kidding. There are some big ones still around. That fish got revenge on me as my finger is still saw and still is oozing.
Here is to next weekend :)

Why-ting
27-08-2006, 08:00 PM
Nice fish for the bay well done.

aquarius
27-08-2006, 08:09 PM
Gidday Dezzer, yes mate the old 4" zoom baby bass does it again.
Look out Redcliffe snapper dezzer is coming to get you !!

Steve' sorry mate no change today will you take an IOU till next weekend?

Cheers Brent

27-08-2006, 08:27 PM
Hooray. I felt the excitement sitting here in front of my computer. Well done. That will be me one day. ;)

hicksy
27-08-2006, 08:37 PM
I keep telling myself one day i will catch one like that.
One day ::) ::) ::) ::)

27-08-2006, 09:00 PM
Nice, nice fish! Well done!! :) :)

Well it must be time that us bait guys went and did our bit for the team. Cannot let you plastics guys have all the fun. ;) Let's see, sunset is at 5.32pm tomorrow and there is a change of tide at 5.57pm. Let me at 'em! ;D

Congratulations on a great fish! :) :) :)

Pitsta
27-08-2006, 09:28 PM
YOU BLOKES ARE GOOD .
WELL DONE ......! ;)

MARK

shabss
27-08-2006, 09:44 PM
we all wish

I keep telling myself one day i will catch one like that.
One day ::) ::) ::) ::)

27-08-2006, 09:46 PM
Well done Jim/Brent.

The warm weather is getting a little more exciting. Truth be known I have been looking forward to spring, as November is when I caught my PB at mud last year. Maybe there's more to come guys, I think it will only get better.... zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ ;) ;) ;) :o :o :o :o

foggy
27-08-2006, 09:52 PM
Brent,

Mate its about time you got a 5kg plus model isn't it. ;) You keep getting your deckies and students the big ones. It will come mate, and it will probably blow us all out of the water. Good work Jim.

Might have to head out there tomorrow arvo for a look see with the new plastics. These new 110mm Javallons really look the goods and the colors are to die for. Look out snapper here I come. ;)

Foggy

28-08-2006, 08:24 AM
Great result, particularly with that size leader. Conditions look pretty good as well.

We went out on Saturday but it was pretty slow going and too rough on the east so fished west. We tried that plastic stuff, but it still hasn't done it for me (just 1 that went 45cm). But did manage a good fish on bait that went 62cm.

One of the problems I think I have with plastics is that I never know if I am anywhere near the bottom, even with 1/2 ounce jigheads. Maybe I need to do more casting forward? rather than just lift drop on the drift.

Smailesy
28-08-2006, 08:33 AM
:o great fish

28-08-2006, 07:37 PM
One of the problems I think I have with plastics is that I never know if I am anywhere near the bottom, even with 1/2 ounce jigheads. Maybe I need to do more casting forward? rather than just lift drop on the drift.

Hey Cheech,

I hope I am not hijacking before Brent or Jim have a chance to reply, but you have really answered your own question, you are 100% correct. Once your placcie has drifted to the back of the boat, wind it in and cast ahead again, about 2 o'clock would be my favourite angle to the boat. Another great help is a sea anchor which will help you get down to the bottom with half the weight.

28-08-2006, 08:57 PM
Thanks Scalem.

Yes was not sure about hijacking myself, but it seems crazy to have to put up a new thread rather than tacking on to an existing thread with either questions, advice or adding sub reports for the same location.

Great_White
28-08-2006, 09:15 PM
What a lovely snappa, well done guys ;)

Can I ask what sort of depth you were fishing to catch that monster :o :o :o

Peter :)

aquarius
28-08-2006, 10:37 PM
Sorry for the late reply cheech but Scalem is correct...... Cast ahead of your drift and when the jighead is vertical beside the boat repeat the proccess until your arms fall off or a snapper comes along. ;D
That plastic has to look natural floating down the water column and the slower the better hence the light jigheads.

Peter it was in the deeper water between 8 and 11 metres.

Cheers Brent

T1
29-08-2006, 02:22 PM
;D Yes, Yes & Yes!!! Brent, how could you let your students outdo your PB?!?!

CHEECH, Craig, i can't believe what i'm hearing! You're asking for advice on Placcies :-/?! You're actually considering crossing over??

Well Done Jim!!!

Take Care T

29-08-2006, 07:37 PM
Nice work Jim

congrats

Steven

Adamy
30-08-2006, 10:59 PM
Just my 2 cents Cheech - but my favorite "technique" (Foggy taught me this one) is to have a big placcy out the back - just drifting along while you're "working" the other - more often than not my sleeper will catch the fish and the working one gets zip.

But then again - what would I know - I'm yet to crack 48cms

richieboy
30-08-2006, 11:41 PM
Nice fish and thoruoghly well done on the light line. Everyone seems to be pulling em on the light line lately. What's going on??? I've been gone too long! :-? :-? :-?

Rich