View Full Version : Mud Island 90cm Squire PB 26/08/2006

Steven78
26-08-2006, 09:07 PM
The morning started off to a bad start with the boat I was going to go on was not going anywhere I was the decky and now became the captain. The idea was the take the larger boat due to the forecast. So with my 4.2m boat we headed to Whyte Is ramp. Once we got there Nugget was on the radio and the weather report was not that bad so off to mud we go. With Nuggets prediction of a 100% peak at 1:30pm we thought things would be hot but I was wrong. Only small squire made it to the boat in the morning. So we decided to have a bit of explore of Mud Island. We got back to our spot X at about 1pm and things started to go off four legal fish with the biggest been 45cm. Dale my decky got a PB of 44cm he was very happy about that and got straight on the phone to his wife " Fish for Dinner" With a fish a cast I did not think things could get better. THEN ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ ZZZZZZZZ Yellow backing ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ Stop regained about 200m of line then with small ZZZZZZZ and allot of weight. I did not keep track of the time because I was thinking would that knot hold? Would that jig pull? Would I run out of line? All of these things going around my head I was becoming a nervous wreck.
I got the fish finally to the side of the boat it was nearly dead on arrival and so was my arm. I grabed the net and picked it up first time I did not want to miss as I miss the last time. I was over the moon as this beat my PB by 29cm.
The weapon was ¼ Jig Babybass a 16lbs leader and main line and a 2500 sized reel

The Squire went 90cm 7.165 KG can I call this a Snapper?

Duncan posts those pics?

I would like to thank my wife for putting up with not having the lawn cut dog bathed and me not been home on most Saturdays and Sunday and for allowing me to get the boat

I would like to thank Brent and Jim for putting up with and for passing there wisdom on to me.
Thanks Duncan Fishhead for supplying me with top quality equipment and advice.

Steven78
26-08-2006, 09:07 PM
Another Pic

aquarius
26-08-2006, 09:13 PM
Congratulations Mate that snapper is truly awesome..........with a catch like that i would be over the moon to. :)
Lucky you hooked up in the corner of the mouth.
Now tomorrow you have to sit back and let us have a shot at the big one..lol ;D
Cheers Brent

ON-THE-CHEW
26-08-2006, 09:44 PM
Nice fish steve, Im the guy who was in at Duncan's the same time you where bragging. Very envious, most people would be happy with one that size out side let alone in the bay. One day I will get one that big and I will be bragging to everyone who will stand still long enough for me to tell.

ON-THE-CHEW

Dirty
26-08-2006, 10:10 PM
MONSTER!!!!

Well done... something I will only be dreaming about....

Tio top effort!

g.

Steven78
26-08-2006, 10:11 PM
Thanks ONTHECHEW.... As Duncan said it will happen very soon...

Mate! i am still on a high :)

Murks
26-08-2006, 10:18 PM
awesome mate nothing else needs to be said ;)
Congrats on your PB

foggy
26-08-2006, 10:25 PM
Bout bloody time. You spend enough time out there, but it looks like the long hours have finally paid off.

Welcome to the "5kg plus club" ;)

Well done steven. Nice fish

Steven78
26-08-2006, 10:26 PM
Foggy Thats what i wanted to hear !!!!!!!!
You butey

fishin_till_late
26-08-2006, 10:34 PM
Good Work Mate!!!!!!!!
That truely is an excellent fish.
No doubt you'll be chewin on snapper for a while.

cheers jono

Green
26-08-2006, 10:41 PM
Pearler of a fish Steven, good to see fish like that in the Bay.

shabss
26-08-2006, 10:58 PM
truly awesome
has to be a snapper

Adamy
27-08-2006, 12:03 AM
Wot a MONSTER!!! excellent work on a 2500 size reel!!... You didnt check him for extra jigheads did you?? I lost a steam train last week... might have been a mate of his ;)

Fisher4life
27-08-2006, 12:43 AM
Snodger of a fish mate!! :o

Congratulations

27-08-2006, 12:45 AM
Maaaate! What a fish! Congratulations! :) :) :) :) :)

I listened to Nugget's podcast yesterday where he suggested that people try Peel Island also and don't worry about going where everone else is going. By that I suspect that he means Mud which has been getting a caning from anglers lately. However, Mud is firing just so well, it is hard to bother trying elsewhere at the moment. Unless of course, you are one of the Wello mob. :)

Nonetheless, I have printed and laminated maps and Google Earth pix of Peel to explore that area but Mud is just so great at the moment so it will be a great temptation to keep fishing there for a few weeks yet.

..and your effort today is partially to blame for that! ;)

A fantastic effort. You will be talking about that for months! :)

Well done!!! :) :) :)

Great_White
27-08-2006, 12:54 AM
What a catch, well done ;) ;) ;)

This P.B will take some beating ;D ;D ;D

I bet you still have a smile on your face :) :) :)

Peter :D

Got_the_Fever
27-08-2006, 05:33 AM
Steve that is a beautiful fish. Very well done. I can see it already wrapped in alfoil and baking on the bbq. Congrats on your pb mate.

Kel

27-08-2006, 06:18 AM
Steven,

You deserve every bit of credit coming to ya mate, well done. ;D ;D

This sounds like the north, and the pursuit of that magic meter size barra, but we are talking Snapper in the Bay :-/ :-/ :-/ Most would not have believed you could pull something this size out of shallow water, and it truely requires a lot of skill and patience.

You da man! ;D ;D

Duncs
27-08-2006, 06:32 AM
Steven,
Here are the pics I took at the shop
Well done, it's a great fish mate
One goal achieved, now bring on the Longtails!

Duncan

Bundy_Burp
27-08-2006, 06:33 AM
Congrats on the snapper lets hope there are few more like that one out there .

Bundy 8-)

Duncs
27-08-2006, 06:33 AM
and another

27-08-2006, 06:46 AM
I'll bet one of these photos would take pride of place as your Avitar mate ::) ::) How much do you love your boat?? ;D ;D

swano
27-08-2006, 06:51 AM
ahh nuggets predictions ;) produce another 5kg plus fish.
great report and top piccies
cheers swano

solwota
27-08-2006, 06:59 AM
bloody nice fish!!!!! That's my holy grail at the moment, a 90cm+ squire. By the way i'm sure you could call that one a snapper!!!

richard

27-08-2006, 07:34 AM
Steven

Well done mate...a bloody top effort and well and truely due with the time you put in out ther

The only problem now is the missus wants the lawn mowed, the dog washed.. ;D ;D

Congrats again mate

Steven

Steven78
27-08-2006, 07:49 AM
Thanks for all of the support, Could not sleep last night knowning that i am going out again.
I hope that i did not get to excited and piss to many people off.

Scelam I love the Wife more but the boat come a very close second.

Duncan what can i say THANKS. BTW LT's are next.

Charville that prodiction kept me going as i was going to go home around 12pm. I think now it has some merit MOON phase.
Out going tide always seems to work well at mud for me at this time.

I think a real with a very smoth drag is very important and heavy wire jigs as well. Because once i got the fish into the boat it bit down hard on the jig and snaped it.

NeilD
27-08-2006, 08:03 AM
That is one very impressive Bay Snapper. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

great work [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

straddie
27-08-2006, 08:10 AM
Sorry mate everything under 7.2 kg is a squire ;D hehehe

Nice snapper, they are just so much more fun when they are taken in shallow water when they get up around that size. congrats.

Sea-Dog
27-08-2006, 08:27 AM
Steven

The only problem now is the missus wants the lawn mowed, the dog washed.. ;D ;D................

Congrats again mate

Steven

Just don't get the two jobs confused - It could end up in a wet lawn and an expensive vet bill. ::)

hicksy
27-08-2006, 08:41 AM
Awesome, well done mate.

chief
27-08-2006, 10:32 AM
great fish mate, well deserved. I would to have been there and seen your face as you realised that fish was secure in the net. Well done

27-08-2006, 10:40 AM
The story of how you caught such a record breaking fish will be handed down for the next couple of generations I am sure. Most keen fishermen and women will never see something like that come to the surface. Lucky you and top effort.

27-08-2006, 10:46 AM
Well done on a well deserved fish Steven. You have been putting in the hours and now you have your reward! A very nice "Squire" indeed. Goes to show mate you dont need to spend a million bucks on boats and fuel and travel 100's of kilometers to catch quality fish. What is required is skill patience and determination, something you have demonstrated in your new PB "Squire" ;D ;D
Congratulations on a top effort.

Cheers and Beers

ratherbefishin
27-08-2006, 11:20 AM
Well Done Steven,
That's a fish to be proud of in any man's language!
And there's no doubt that you can call that one a snapper, its got the size and the knob!
Mud has just been firing lately.

They say PBs are there to be broken, but I reckon you'll be taking a while before you break that one (at least inside the bay)

Congrats

P.S. All those raving Greenies who want to close 50% of the bay because "it's overfished" -> Here's evidence that a decent scientific study and some management effort (ie changing the size limit and bag limit) can acheive excellent results.
Closures are just a Cop Out for those who cant be bothered managing!
Manage the bay for all to enjoy!

Craigus
27-08-2006, 11:52 AM
What a ripper of a fish mate. :o Bet that you will remember this one for a while.
You hear of people breaking PB's by a few cm, but by 29cm wow :o
Congrats

DaneCross
27-08-2006, 01:50 PM
Congrats Steven. Great fish. A lot of time and effort went into that one, well deserved [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Lager
27-08-2006, 03:35 PM
Awesome fish Steven. Just goes to show that great fishing can be had by those who are willing to put in the time and effort.

Pitsta
27-08-2006, 06:28 PM
TOP FISH MATE .....!
BUT IN MY OPINION MUD ISLANDS NOT 4 BEGINNERS
ALL THE TIMES I'VE FISHED IT. 5 times.
I'VE ONLY CAUGHT BAIT ......! :'(

WELL DONE

MARK..! ;)

heathrow69
27-08-2006, 06:39 PM
Congrats on a great fish ;) it is good to know that there are good knobby's in the bay. Wish i did not sell my boat!!!!! >:( Anyway well done on a great fish 8-)

Dezzer
27-08-2006, 06:45 PM
Going on the generally accepted 60cm snapper rule that one's a snapper and 1/3. Well done

mickstar001
27-08-2006, 06:50 PM
Cant say much better than what others have said buddy - congratulations on your snapper, will be dreaming about one of those when i rest my head tonight!!

Commodore
27-08-2006, 10:07 PM
Love it ;D ;D ;D :o 8-) great to see the quality still coming from the bay, well done, its a real buzzz when they come on board ;)
Chong

JB
28-08-2006, 08:14 AM
Great fishing Steven , its just a sensational feeling when you boat a fish like that on light gear. Every second of the fight your thinking "dont bust me off u mongrel... dont bust me off" haha (well i do anyways) . Good on ya, hopefully that wont be your last 7kg fish from mud.

Jas

Steven78
28-08-2006, 05:53 PM
We will see what happends this weekend JB, But it will be Brent's turn ;D

lukesnapper
29-08-2006, 10:29 AM
congratulations mate! one day i hope to bring home a catch like that from the bay!
top effort on such lite gear 2!

T1
29-08-2006, 02:24 PM
;D It's all been said Steven! Superb effort and well done! ;D

Certainly keen to get out now that bub is here... Where's that forecast for Saturday?

Take Care T

tangles21
29-08-2006, 07:27 PM
Con grats on an awsome fish.Mate that thing would eat squire for breakfast.Are you going to keep the jaws,they would make an awesome trophy sitting on your bar or wall.

cheers leigh

richieboy
30-08-2006, 11:50 PM
By the looks in your pics you are a very happy man, as would I be if I'd landed a stonker that big!! Congrats and enjoy the accolades.

Rich ;)