View Full Version : Whats Your PB Bream?
Petenoosa
11-08-2006, 10:42 AM
After reading the topic below with the young fella saying he caught a 2kg Bream I thought the question needs to asked...
Has anyone caught a GENUINE 2kg bream :-?.....Lets here some of the biggest.I have caught two at 42cm to the fork which in my books are monsters.One was caught in Sydney and the other along a sunshine coast beach.The biggest I have seen in a long while was the fellow who put a post in this section about Rainbow beach...He had a 1.7kg bream which measured 45cm......IT was an absolute MONSTER.... 8-)......Anyway here is a photo of a 42cm from the beach....which I guess was around 1.2kg.....
mickstar001
11-08-2006, 11:32 AM
41cm for me - off my dads jetty - was stoked!
45cm in the Noosa Rvr (off the Munna Pt Bridge) on a live herring in 1994... Allegedly! Never got close again (closest was 38cm earlier this year at the Pin on a Yabbie).
Take Care T
Steven78
11-08-2006, 12:06 PM
Mine was a 44cm caught on a mulet flesh. Wavebrake island on a out going tide.
This fish was only about 1.3kgs
The Wife is in the pic as she is better looking then me :)
Archer
11-08-2006, 12:14 PM
46cm and about 1.6Kg would love to crack a geniune 2Kg fish but its to bloody cold for that crap...I must be getting old. :-/
Canoedle
11-08-2006, 12:27 PM
Yeah, you must be m8, as soon as you said you want a bigger boat and thinking about having kids, geez, you'll be thinking about retirement soon! ;D
BrandonH
11-08-2006, 01:31 PM
Posted this thread awhile ago.. a few peoples PB in here inc my 37cm Pine Bream.. ;)
Nice fish guys!!!
http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1147751206
Brandon...
11-08-2006, 02:01 PM
my PB is 40cm but was with a mate 2 years back..landed a 42cm..it weighed 1.8kg
R_K_HILL
11-08-2006, 02:01 PM
Not my PB, but one of the better ones...
Caught at Mooloolaba Easter this year, live herring. ;)
Archer
11-08-2006, 02:22 PM
Yeah, you must be m8, as soon as you said you want a bigger boat and thinking about having kids, geez, you'll be thinking about retirement soon! ;D
Sshh you get back to work! :D
11-08-2006, 03:00 PM
41cm, but I should have sent him back to put some weight back on. Tail end of the breeding season, this boy obviously wore himself out seeing all his girlfriends!! Caught on chicken gut in the shallows the pin, night time.
Scalem,
that bad boy looks like he has done a hard days work.
My best was a big old blue nose caught in about 2 foot of water on the oyster lease at Trips up the passage. Fair dinkum, thought I had a winter jack the way this fish played up on 6lb gear. Didnt measure or weigh the old girl as I had just read about the slow growth rate of Bream, so released very carefully, but I'm guessing very close to the 2kg mark, unfortunately alledgelly
Dezzer
11-08-2006, 09:43 PM
44 cm from Redcliffe shallows. Not weighed but fed 4.
Streetkid
12-08-2006, 10:50 AM
42 cm from the surf, have caught a few in the forties but none matched this one for shear girth. None of these photos can do the fish justice.
SURF_SNIPER
12-08-2006, 02:12 PM
yep, 1.735 my heaviest to-date, very hard to go off measurments and relate them to weight as there can be a big variance
swano
12-08-2006, 06:03 PM
didnt weigh it but it went 45cm called it for a squire at first
caught at scarby on a gulp
cheers swano
Petenoosa
13-08-2006, 09:31 AM
Some nice ones there... 8-)
I reckon a 2kg bream is as rare as hens teeth these days..... ::)
stealthfish
13-08-2006, 09:31 AM
Arrived at my favourite spot on a dead quiet, misty winter morning a couple of weeks ago. Cut the electric motor and drifted slowly up to the snag, and there were four monster bream swimming in a tight circle just beneath the surface at a point where the sun had broken through the mangroves. My first cast of the day was right into the middle of them and I just about wet myself with glee when, after a little flick of my bass minnow, one of them turned to face it and wolfed it down. A surprisingly easy fight followed and I watched as my friend lifted the net around my biggest ever bream, let alone lure-caught. 45cm to fork and 1.8 kg on the dot before it was cleaned..... My friend snapped a couple of shots after I cleaned it. Made for some delicious fish and chips.
stealthfish
13-08-2006, 09:35 AM
Here's another - just doesn't do it justice! It was a beast!! I will probably never catch another like it and I've only been fishing the plastics seriously for about a year..... It was on a pearl watermelon 3 inch bass minnow in clear water, high tide on a fallen tree snag in mangroves in the north of Brisbane. Is that enough info? The spot was told to me by the guy at the local tackle store, so never underestimate local knowledge, folks.
Petenoosa
13-08-2006, 05:30 PM
Couple of snodgers there mate....High shoulders on em too... 8-)
White_Steenbras
13-08-2006, 06:31 PM
52cm's from the Hopkins River in Warnambool (Vic) on a Gary Glitter, latest big one 46cm from the CB Bridge on a 3" Gulp, no weight on either fish but would say the CB one was Fatter.
Mullet_Musketeer
17-08-2006, 03:53 PM
38cm Luggage Point just inside the Tanker Wharf - Yes you guessed - 3" Pumpkinseed Minnow Grub
fritzy
17-08-2006, 05:32 PM
Giday mullet,
mate i think if my eyes aren't playing tricks on me that what you got yourself there is a squire. Only trouble is mate, i have caught so few of em myself that i could be totally seeing things. Bet it gave you some curry landbased. Nice fish.
Cheers Fritzy
17-08-2006, 07:06 PM
I'll agree to that. Sorry mullet, I rekon that you're holding a squire mate.
My biggest bream was 44cm. Caught on the reef at green. Went pretty well too!!
gregdeeth
17-08-2006, 07:29 PM
some nice bream there
R_K_HILL
17-08-2006, 07:50 PM
Yep.. there right! Its still food though ;)
fishbrain
18-08-2006, 01:10 PM
4 yr old Rhys [fishbrain Jnr] first bream on plastic a very happy little man. cheers fishbrain
fishbrain
18-08-2006, 01:16 PM
42 cm bream caught & released Nerang river still not 2kg. fishbrain
slyman
18-08-2006, 04:16 PM
My pb bream pales beside some of those catches, a mere 29cm from under CB bridge. But talking of 2kg bream, if anyone has a copy of starlo and bushys How to catch bream on lures and flies, flick it open to page 97 and theres a shot of a bloke holding a 2.275 kg (just over 5lb) monster caught in Merimbula Lake, on the same page it also says it measured over 50cms!
snapattack
18-08-2006, 04:28 PM
I got two about three years ago of the rocks at Coffs Harbour. never weighed them but one measured 48cms and one measured 52cms. i reckon they were both over 2kgs. Could not find a open shop anywhaer to buy bait at 5am, so resorted to bread and cheese from my sandwich. Both were caught on bread.
Snap
FishyBoy
18-08-2006, 06:37 PM
The biggest bream i have caught was 34cm. I caught it near the rocks on the south side of the headlands at hasting point.
Mullet_Musketeer
20-08-2006, 08:25 AM
Just beat it - [smiley=laola.gif] this Friday with a 960 gram 38 cm model - you have probably all seen it by now in other threads but I am rather enjoying posting it.
frankj
20-08-2006, 10:24 AM
38lb, strange how they change shape when they grow bigger?
frankj
20-08-2006, 10:25 AM
Or alternatively 0.82Kg Nerang River.
Brenno
24-08-2006, 07:53 PM
broke me PB twice in 24 a few months ago with a 34 then a 38 cm bream, thought it was a cod the way it put up a fight. would love to catch something bigger.
dingodean69
25-08-2006, 10:25 PM
Gday all
I got a 1.95 kg while fishing with my pop about 20 years ago on the tuross lakes nsw i might add on a miss cast over the old fella`s line who was float fishing 4 black bream up the front of the boat :-[ only to be upgraded to a fish that went 2.98 kg cleaned !! While fishing 4 tailor at night in the surf at south west rocks nsw . A mate`s got the pic i`ll have 2 get it off him. I dont think i`ll be able 2 upgrade that one :)
Dean
eotbmg
30-08-2006, 09:33 AM
Got this Bream on my trip around O.Z in 2005. It went 49.6 cm and fought like a jewie. Dunno the weight but pretty close to 2 kg's!
eotbmg
30-08-2006, 09:34 AM
teeth and lure
MagicRik
30-08-2006, 06:48 PM
eotbmg that is one big ass scary Bream ;D
But my Bream PB looks like a snak for yours at 33cm
squidgiepalmer
30-08-2006, 07:11 PM
have seen one caught at 2.6kg or 2.4kg by Allan Patch of Goonellabah NSW around 12yrs ago caught at Broadwater Beach Far North Coast NSW the home of big bream but have not heard of one bigger since but plenty around the 2kg mark
cheers squidgie
Petenoosa
31-08-2006, 10:00 AM
Got this Bream on my trip around O.Z in 2005. It went 49.6 cm and fought like a jewie. Dunno the weight but pretty close to 2 kg's!
Yeah thats a serious bream.... :).....Looks like a black bream hey... :-?
eotbmg
31-08-2006, 05:21 PM
Yeah pistol-p its a black bream from the Hopkins river in Warnambool. Plenty of big bream there and huge Estuary perch and jewies as well