View Full Version : Very wet Thursday at the Pin.

hateworkin
31-08-2006, 05:00 PM
Looked at the BOM Radar this morning and thought the rain would clear by the time i got to the ramp at Cabbage Tree.

Headed to get some bait and threw a line in at the same time.... A 35cm Bream hit the little yabbie straight away and i thought this was going to be a good day as the rain should clear and i would have the Pin and all those fish all to myself.

Threw back out and in the next hour I reeled in 4 legal Flathead and 3 Bream and the largest Whiting that i have ever caught @ 42cm and a couple of Rays.

Got absolutely soaked in the little tinnie, but by far was one of the better days that i have had at the Pin. I really don't mind getting wet when the I'am catching fish.

John :)

Pistol_P
31-08-2006, 05:14 PM
get one of those binimi tops. and keep on fishing

hateworkin
31-08-2006, 05:27 PM
Yeah hasn't rained for so long that i thought i would never need one.
Good to keep the sun off in summer i guess. I will have to look into getting one made.

J

31-08-2006, 06:34 PM
Oh you poor thing you.. out there fishing in the wet while I was out there working in the wet. ;D My heart bleeds. Lol Well done, admire someone as mad as I am to go out fishing in weather like this and you caught fish...BONUS!

31-08-2006, 07:07 PM
Well done,

I reckon the fish are smarter than we think - well sort of. I bet they were thinking "what sort of idiot would try come out and try catch us in this sort of weather" ::) ::)

Not meaning to insult you but I guess you were still the smarter species, and dedicated to boot!!

Good fishing!

RobGoesFish
31-08-2006, 08:56 PM
Thats what you get for being dedicated!!!

Nice one!

Got_the_Fever
01-09-2006, 03:11 AM
Until you can get a canopy why not get some good wet weather gear, always comes in handy. With any luck you might need it a lot more. Good days fishing mate.

Kel

hateworkin
01-09-2006, 06:11 AM
No insult taken, normally i would not go out, but I own a small business and work heaps of hours and only get every second thursday off :'(......

So when i have the day off i really don't care what the weather is doing.. I'am going fishing... It is the only time i can really relax and forget about business.

The only thing i forgot to mention on the first post was the biggest Flathead that i have ever seen. I battled with it for about 15 mins on 8lb line and it finally won, about 1 mtr from the boat. After seeing that ol girl i really didn't care what the weather threw at me.

I put all the fish back and just kept one good size whiting for dinner last night and it was yummy.

Rain hail or shine i will be out there again in a fortnight. People i know always have an excuse... The tides are wrong.. its too cold.... its too hot.... the moons wrong...... I say Who Cares just get out there and give it a good go ....

01-09-2006, 08:04 AM
That's the attitude John [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
What's your boat look like in case I see you in the rain??
It's great going fishing with no yuppies or jet skis. Just you, the water some fish and the midgies. What more can you ask for.
Well done on the fish as well.
Cheers Scott

mickstar001
01-09-2006, 12:03 PM
Am with you hateworkin, went to peel in terrible conditions (wind n waves) and produced a few squire - do the hard yards and it pays off ;). Well done.

hateworkin
01-09-2006, 04:19 PM
Hey Scott,

Old 12 ft tinnie, grey motor and bow rails and a guy with a really big smile on his face. No matter how bad your day is you have to be smiling if your on the water.

I generally stick to the little passages and creeks, don't like the crowded places too much... You have guys in big boat and no consideration for others. Hence one of the main reasons why i only ever venture out on a Thursday.
I have found some great little spots where i always seem to catch a few legal fish without the endless stream of boats that seem to head to the Pin. Each time i have gone to the pin i never seem to see too many people actually catching much, and I never seem to be able to catch anything ??????? .

Hope you all have a great weekend. Happy Fishing if your lucky enough to get out there.