View Full Version : Jack trolling by-catch

Creek_Vermin
01-09-2006, 04:59 PM
Spring is here so I went for a jack fish this arv with my good mate dougy. Wind was up from the S/E in between rain squalls and if it wasn't for an esky full of cold treats the arvo would v been spent at the pub. Water temp was only just above 20 degs and hopes were low but it was better than being indoors. Had a few throws with placs with no luck and decided to have a troll. After half a dozen runs the sounder showed a dense ball of bait complete with arches. Before my lure hit the rise I was loaded up with what I thought was a respectable cod round 45-50cm. Gave it heaps and towed it out of trubs and up pops a nice jewie. Dougy did his best to knock it off at the net but couldnt miss and a 77cm lump of silver was in the boat. The fight was pretty ordinary on the jack gear but it's always good to see a nice fish in the boat. A couple of small cod to dougy (one being the fattest greediest lump of crap you've ever seen) and another dirty stinken cattie to me topped off a mixed session that showed no sign of red! Cheers

Creek_Vermin
01-09-2006, 05:00 PM
Close up

Creek_Vermin
01-09-2006, 05:01 PM
Another

Creek_Vermin
01-09-2006, 05:02 PM
Dougys lard arse cod with a bite mark in the side

logan_whiting
01-09-2006, 05:04 PM
where did u get them ? looks a bit like the logan

richieboy
01-09-2006, 05:09 PM
Nice pics. Great looking fish. Same as logan whiting, where did you get the big girl?

Rich

chicken
01-09-2006, 05:12 PM
Nice fish keith. Were the cold treats chocolates and pepsi ::)

Creek_Vermin
01-09-2006, 05:16 PM
Love those pepsis chicken

Got it in pumicestone passage.

chicken
01-09-2006, 05:18 PM
Yeah they'd be the yellow canned pepsi right?

jackash
01-09-2006, 05:27 PM
AWesome jewwie. Great fish on a hardody.
Jackash

BassCowboy
01-09-2006, 05:38 PM
Keith

I might even give you that one

Cowboy

01-09-2006, 06:06 PM
Well done. Some nice fillets for dinner tonight I guess. ;) Here I am thawing some crumbed steaks out in the microwave. Would rather have the Jew :-/
Nice report.

mitch_05
01-09-2006, 07:30 PM
never seen a cod quite like that before :-?

maxwellson
01-09-2006, 09:49 PM
great pics mate !!! i got a cod the same in the sandon system a few months ago on a gulp...congrats

cheers Maxi

pic is on disc somewhere, post soon

Franco
02-09-2006, 12:14 AM
Nice report mate hope my jack bycatch ends up like that this year!! I'd prefer that to a jack in the esky anyway!

Fisher4life
02-09-2006, 12:17 AM
not a bad by catch at all. i'm sure you weren't too dissapointed to land that jewie

TIM-DONSELAAR
02-09-2006, 12:28 AM
great jewie mate...Well Done [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

cheers tim :)

gogecko
02-09-2006, 04:58 AM
Yes, I was thinking the same thing, spring is sprung, jack season is here early this year.

A mate of mine saw a 45cm jack caught last sat LB Nth Gold Coast. Yesterday I saw the biggest jack Ive ever seen in the local fish shop - 7.6kg caught by a pro off 9 mile reef Tweed Heads :o a bloody monster!

Nice bycatch, Id take that any day. Well done.

02-09-2006, 05:25 AM
CV

Since it was bycatch I recon you should not claim it as a real capture ;D

Looks nothing like your intended target ;D

Smailesy
02-09-2006, 12:51 PM
great fish mate

shayned
02-09-2006, 03:25 PM
cv strikes again, nice result, wouldn't have got that at the pub!!!!! ;)

land_based
02-09-2006, 04:12 PM
Nice one cv, great lookin jewie.

Canoedle
02-09-2006, 04:14 PM
Nice little Jewie mate, that is one fat cod too.

gregdeeth
02-09-2006, 05:33 PM
ah jack season, cant wait. great jew

Gladdy
07-09-2006, 02:25 PM
G'day CV nice jewie bit better than the ones you get in the pine shame you didn't get any jacks. They should come onto the chew soon with the weather heating up. You should post the jack of Straddie77 that he caught that's one impressive fish.