View Full Version : Morning at Redcliffe Reefs
Dezzer
05-09-2006, 02:56 PM
Had a good 2 hour session this morning on the shallow reefs in the Redcliffe area. Fished with Dad from 7 to 9 in fairly ordinary conditions with about 15 to 20 knots blowing from the SE. Resulted in 6 keeper squire and a nice estuary cod. Good 2 hour session and it looks like the squire may have moved back in although smaller than earlier in the year.
Cheers, Derek
squire
Dezzer
05-09-2006, 02:57 PM
cod
Dezzer
05-09-2006, 02:57 PM
the catch
F1SH_BOY
05-09-2006, 02:58 PM
awesome! ;D
mikedel
05-09-2006, 03:01 PM
Nice catch Derek, great cod. Were they all on sp`s?
Dezzer
05-09-2006, 03:03 PM
Yeah, haven't had smelly hands for about 1 1/2 years.
Smailesy
05-09-2006, 03:25 PM
good stuff mate well done good feed there
esselte
05-09-2006, 03:33 PM
Great catch there mate. Might have to get down that way some time soon ;D
05-09-2006, 06:01 PM
Yeah you did good there that's for sure. Been a while since I have caught a legal cod. Can't remember what they taste like but I do remember that I liked it. May have to venture out and catch me one to break the boredom of catching Snapper. ;D ;D
logan_whiting
05-09-2006, 06:19 PM
great catch !!!!
05-09-2006, 06:39 PM
Good feed there mate
Hsvjones
05-09-2006, 07:47 PM
Nice catch in not the best conditions.
Hsvjones
serene_lady
05-09-2006, 09:05 PM
Derek. What type of s/p did the cod fall for. Very good catch, well done. Bob.
05-09-2006, 09:31 PM
Gday Derek! Looks like you've had all your shavers confiscated up at the mines!!! ;D ;D ;D
Looks like your favourite placcy is still working for you.
Am also glad to hear they're coming back in. It seems that they moved away for a little while.
foggy
05-09-2006, 10:10 PM
Good feed there again mate. There have been a few good fish out that way lately. Might skip Mud this w/e and have a look out your way.
Foggy
aquarius
05-09-2006, 10:59 PM
Nice catch there Derek especially the cod.........a few good feeds at your house over the next few days.
I bet your glad to be back home and out in the bay again.
I reckon the quality will improve into the summer months and more variety like mackerel and grassies should keep us busy.
Cheers Brent
Bundy_Burp
05-09-2006, 11:45 PM
Well done on the fish looks like you got a good feed .
Bundy 8-)
Nice catch dude!
Just where are these Redcliffe reefs every body talks about?
Ash
06-09-2006, 09:47 AM
Nice catch dude!
Just where are these Redcliffe reefs every body talks about?
Ash
I'm gonna go Redcliffe for 200 thanks Mike ;D ;D ;D (Sorry mate - Couldn't help it)
Actually, they are at Scarborough point on the north east corner of the Redcliffe peninsula. However, there are reef systems the whole way down that peninsula, and all of them produce fish. They even wrap around in towards the Hornibrook Bridge.
Look on Google Earth and you will see them.
truck_hunter
06-09-2006, 01:16 PM
Good feed there mate cosidering the conditions well done [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
snapperm8
06-09-2006, 02:50 PM
yup deffintly looks like a nice feed for a few 8-) [smiley=tekst-toppie.gif]
cuzzamundi
06-09-2006, 04:08 PM
top catches there mate. love the cod. there are some big ones around those reefs. well done.
cuzza
chief
06-09-2006, 05:52 PM
great feed , and a nice cod well done
NeilD
06-09-2006, 08:39 PM
Nice effort to pull the Cod on placky gear
neilspeil
07-09-2006, 08:13 AM
nice !!!!!!!
Got_the_Fever
08-09-2006, 12:30 PM
Wow what a great catch. I am definately going to have to take my bro-in-law from germany there during this month. He will be the envy of everyone back over there if we can catch him one.
Kel
gunna
08-09-2006, 01:12 PM
Great catch. What weight braid are you using to pull a cod that size ??
MidgieFood
08-09-2006, 02:57 PM
Geez 15-20 doesnt look to bad there.
Wind and tide in the same direction eh?
Nice fish Dezzer you seem to always do well.
Skill mate.
chicken
08-09-2006, 04:53 PM
Good stuff enjoy the chew
Dezzer
08-09-2006, 09:44 PM
Midgiefood, one good thing about that area is that there is always somewhere thats protected by the reef. 15 - 20 was being conservative.